We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Geiser Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Geiser Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Certificate of Excellence
Emmett, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There are better!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Beautiful building but with problems in operations. Food priced for better quality that it is. Dog barking added to the dining ambiance. Problems with getting hot water. But the clencher was that they could not restore their overcharge. Told us that a mistake was made and that we were charged for an extra room night. That they could not put the monies back into my debit account; but rather that they would submit the paperwork to the office AFTER we checked out (two days later) and that they would send us a check. This is no reflection on the staff, who were fine, but is poor business in any context. We will be leaving with the Geiser owing us money and they tell us they will eventually send us a check. Will not be staying here again. Will inform others of this business.

Room Tip: West side allows for listening to the band at the bar across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    152
    52
    42
    83
See reviews for
145
398
26
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenmore, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Geiser Grand on a whim a couple of weeks ago heading out on a road trip. It is a magnificently restored 1800's hotel, in a historic area. We liked it so much we came back on our way back home. Our room was roomy, comfortable, & possibly haunted! (Some local history here). I had quite possibly the best rib-eye steak dinner ever (the Eagle Cap steak), with a "wild mushroom port wine demi-glaze", and an incredible Whiskey Bread Pudding for dessert. Jonathan at the front desk & Curtis on the wait staff were awesome. Overall a "grand" experience!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Staff was courteous and helpful. The Hotel was Beautiful inside and out. We stayed in room 202 the Cupula room. This room exceeded our expectations it was well appointed and elegant. We particularly liked the Cupula and the crystal chandeliers. We ate in the Hotel Restaurant, the food was excellent. Our waiter Curt made the experience even more pleasurable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobDC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We went to Baker City for a girl's weekend. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and elegant. Pluses of the hotel are: The tour of the hotel was well worth it. It's very central and has a lot of pluses. The gentleman behind the desk was planning on creating some "driving the area" packages. This sounded like a great idea as it would provide maps, lookout ideas, picnic ideas,etc. Most of the food was good. The rooms are large and comfortable. It is clean. If the shops in town were open, it would have a great shopping area around it. The only thing to detract from the beauty was the service.

Right off the bat, we've stayed in places all around the world and have never been charged "one night's room" prior to arriving. That seemed a bit much.
Most of the food was amazing, the Benedict dish was superb but the "chicken" fettuccine was horrible (didn't have any chicken or flavor...asked for more chicken, as there were only two very small chunks in it, and the server brought out some greasy, overcooked meat we think was chicken). We tried to have dinner in the pub one evening but it was extremely full. The server did try to sit us in the dining room, very nice girl with blonde hair, and told us to sit wherever we'd like. One of the other servers tried, pretty much demanded, to seat us in the corner, even though there was no one else there. I let her know that we wouldn't sit there and that a table with a view of the beautiful ceiling, one seat over and not just the wall was better, would be better. She was very "put off" by that and expressed her displeasure at it every time she passed our table.
For being a small town, the front desk crew seemed to be very snooty. We tried to shop on Saturday and found nearly everything closed in town. It was quite amusing. I wanted to go to a coffee shop to do some work, so I asked the gentleman if there was anything open. He said a shop down the street "may be open." With our history of everything being closed, I asked him if he wouldn't mind calling to see if they were open. He, too, seemed very put off.
Since nothing was open in town, we thought we'd take a drive out to see the scenery. We were coming back about 8:30, so I called to see if the dining room was still open and they said it was. He asked if we wanted to make a reservation and I asked if we needed one since we were on our way, literally ten minutes out. He said they "usually don't close until at least ten" so I told him we were a few minutes out and would be right there. We arrived in under ten minutes to find out that they had closed the kitchen. Seriously? We begged them to open, as there was nothing else open in town and there were several other guests of the hotel also wanting to eat. They reluctantly did.
The morning we left, we tried to have breakfast but the had closed the restaurant for "set-up" for lunch, even though they had a very full hotel,. At this point, we just said goodbye and left...with a bad taste in our mouth.
One last negative, the housekeeping staff left our door to our room wide open. They weren't anywhere to be found on the floor. They had been gone for quite awhile...
Would I stay here again? It's a toss up. Sad to say that the only reason I wouldn't is the service was quite poor.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, street view, and two beds. It was great! The stairs, though quite steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jensons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prineville, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We loved our stay at the Geiser Grand Hotel in Baker, Oregon this May!
Beautiful room and building. Be sure to take the hotel tour, very interesting. Great food too!
Jonathon at the registration desk made our stay especially fun, thanks for the good conversation and all the info Jonathon! It was truly Grand!

Pam and John Seybert
Oregon City

Room Tip: Third floor facing main street best views of the beautiful Elkhorn mountains! Ask hotel when reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mickamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I don’t know where to begin. Our organization rented the entire facility for a three-day training event. It became obvious from the get-go that the hotel was ill prepared for an event of our size. We would venture to say that current hotel management and staff has never had an event of our size in the Geiser Grand and it showed.

Although highly touted by management our participants were not impressed with the food. Food for our breaks and lunch the first day were served late (even though our contract listed specific times). On the last day, they ran out of food for our luncheon leaving some of our participants seeking lunch down the street. Beverage service was a joke. Coffee pots were usually empty, and the water had melon floating in it leaving it murky, bad tasking, and visually unappealing. Need a cup or glass? Good luck finding one.

Our meeting rooms were not re-set for the next day’s training (leaving dirty dishes, etc. on the tables); garbage cans were non-existent. We had every guest room booked, and some rooms were not serviced each day. Hotel reservations were a fiasco. The hotel insisted on serving as the clearinghouse for hotel reservation for our event. Upon making a reservation, the first night’s stay was charged to the caller’s credit card (sometimes without forewarning) and a Geiser Grand reservation number assigned. Four days before the event participants were contacted by email and notified they’d be staying at another local hotel. This went over like a lead balloon.

While in the lobby we could hear training instructions being given to a new front desk employee. Wow …. what an eye opener. Now we know the hotel’s philosophy, and it is quite unnerving and not above-board.

The hotel is beautiful, but beauty is only skin deep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The renovated Geiser Grand is very nice and historically accurate. It is not a big property so in some cities it would be considered a boutique hotel. That said--the very spacious bathroom could use additional amenities such as more hooks,another towel bar, and a longer shelf (or set of shelves) for toiletry kits. None of these suggestions would detract from the historical accuracy.

Wi-fi service was ridiculously slow!

The restaurant food was very oridinary. The hotel should be able to attract better creativity. I will return to Baker City, but I won't waste my money on the food at the Geiser Grand because the little local restaurants serve better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXSW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baker City hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Sunridge Inn
Best Western Sunridge Inn
#1 of 10 in Baker City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bridge Street Inn
Bridge Street Inn
#4 of 10 in Baker City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eldorado Inn
Eldorado Inn
#5 of 10 in Baker City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Always Welcome Inn
Always Welcome Inn
#8 of 10 in Baker City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Baker City
Rodeway Inn Baker City
#6 of 10 in Baker City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Baker City
Super 8 Baker City
#3 of 10 in Baker City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geiser Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geiser Grand Hotel

Property: Geiser Grand Hotel
Address: 1996 Main Street, Baker City, OR 97814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geiser Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Geiser Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiser Grand Baker City
Hotel Geiser Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing