We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Geiser Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Geiser Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our second time staying at the Geiser, but first time taking the tour, on Saturday afternoon. Loved the stories about the extensive remodel. We took my 86 year old father in law with us, and ended up needing medical assistance with a call to 911. The staff was quick, professional, compassionate - even at 6 am on a Sunday morning! Thank you again, Kyle. Restaurant was fabulous - grilled salmon and clam chowder the best. Rooms are a good size, with very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1999Alaska57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    155
    52
    42
    84
See reviews for
148
400
27
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We are on another road trip and decided we weren't tired enough to stop in Boise as planned and drove on to Baker City. While I'm sure the Hampton Inn in Boise was probably just fine, The Grand Geiser, well, it is for sure much grander. The front staff was great. Quirky is my favorite style and it fit them perfectly. The room was beautiful as is the rest of the hotel. The restoration is to be appreciated. It is done very well. We didn't eat in, so can't say how the food is. We enjoyed the fitness center in the basement as well as the story of the renovation and history of the building. We had no problem with the hot water...it came on fast and fine. We didn't meet any ghosts...maybe next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Interesting place with a lot of history. Beautiful building makes you feel special while visiting. Carpet floors are pretty dingy and hold some funk. Not a good place for those with sensitive sense of smell. Cool rooms with high ceilings, tall windows and 2 TVs. Hood dining experience there too. Worth it if passing thru!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmett, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Beautiful building but with problems in operations. Food priced for better quality that it is. Dog barking added to the dining ambiance. Problems with getting hot water. But the clencher was that they could not restore their overcharge. Told us that a mistake was made and that we were charged for an extra room night. That they could not put the monies back into my debit account; but rather that they would submit the paperwork to the office AFTER we checked out (two days later) and that they would send us a check. This is no reflection on the staff, who were fine, but is poor business in any context. We will be leaving with the Geiser owing us money and they tell us they will eventually send us a check. Will not be staying here again. Will inform others of this business.

Room Tip: West side allows for listening to the band at the bar across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmore, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Geiser Grand on a whim a couple of weeks ago heading out on a road trip. It is a magnificently restored 1800's hotel, in a historic area. We liked it so much we came back on our way back home. Our room was roomy, comfortable, & possibly haunted! (Some local history here). I had quite possibly the best rib-eye steak dinner ever (the Eagle Cap steak), with a "wild mushroom port wine demi-glaze", and an incredible Whiskey Bread Pudding for dessert. Jonathan at the front desk & Curtis on the wait staff were awesome. Overall a "grand" experience!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Staff was courteous and helpful. The Hotel was Beautiful inside and out. We stayed in room 202 the Cupula room. This room exceeded our expectations it was well appointed and elegant. We particularly liked the Cupula and the crystal chandeliers. We ate in the Hotel Restaurant, the food was excellent. Our waiter Curt made the experience even more pleasurable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobDC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We went to Baker City for a girl's weekend. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and elegant. Pluses of the hotel are: The tour of the hotel was well worth it. It's very central and has a lot of pluses. The gentleman behind the desk was planning on creating some "driving the area" packages. This sounded like a great idea as it would provide maps, lookout ideas, picnic ideas,etc. Most of the food was good. The rooms are large and comfortable. It is clean. If the shops in town were open, it would have a great shopping area around it. The only thing to detract from the beauty was the service.

Right off the bat, we've stayed in places all around the world and have never been charged "one night's room" prior to arriving. That seemed a bit much.
Most of the food was amazing, the Benedict dish was superb but the "chicken" fettuccine was horrible (didn't have any chicken or flavor...asked for more chicken, as there were only two very small chunks in it, and the server brought out some greasy, overcooked meat we think was chicken). We tried to have dinner in the pub one evening but it was extremely full. The server did try to sit us in the dining room, very nice girl with blonde hair, and told us to sit wherever we'd like. One of the other servers tried, pretty much demanded, to seat us in the corner, even though there was no one else there. I let her know that we wouldn't sit there and that a table with a view of the beautiful ceiling, one seat over and not just the wall was better, would be better. She was very "put off" by that and expressed her displeasure at it every time she passed our table.
For being a small town, the front desk crew seemed to be very snooty. We tried to shop on Saturday and found nearly everything closed in town. It was quite amusing. I wanted to go to a coffee shop to do some work, so I asked the gentleman if there was anything open. He said a shop down the street "may be open." With our history of everything being closed, I asked him if he wouldn't mind calling to see if they were open. He, too, seemed very put off.
Since nothing was open in town, we thought we'd take a drive out to see the scenery. We were coming back about 8:30, so I called to see if the dining room was still open and they said it was. He asked if we wanted to make a reservation and I asked if we needed one since we were on our way, literally ten minutes out. He said they "usually don't close until at least ten" so I told him we were a few minutes out and would be right there. We arrived in under ten minutes to find out that they had closed the kitchen. Seriously? We begged them to open, as there was nothing else open in town and there were several other guests of the hotel also wanting to eat. They reluctantly did.
The morning we left, we tried to have breakfast but the had closed the restaurant for "set-up" for lunch, even though they had a very full hotel,. At this point, we just said goodbye and left...with a bad taste in our mouth.
One last negative, the housekeeping staff left our door to our room wide open. They weren't anywhere to be found on the floor. They had been gone for quite awhile...
Would I stay here again? It's a toss up. Sad to say that the only reason I wouldn't is the service was quite poor.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, street view, and two beds. It was great! The stairs, though quite steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jensons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baker City hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sunridge Inn
BEST WESTERN Sunridge Inn
#1 of 10 in Baker City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bridge Street Inn
Bridge Street Inn
#4 of 10 in Baker City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eldorado Inn
Eldorado Inn
#5 of 10 in Baker City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Always Welcome Inn
Always Welcome Inn
#8 of 10 in Baker City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Baker City
Rodeway Inn Baker City
#6 of 10 in Baker City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Baker City
Super 8 Baker City
#3 of 10 in Baker City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geiser Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geiser Grand Hotel

Property: Geiser Grand Hotel
Address: 1996 Main Street, Baker City, OR 97814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geiser Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geiser Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiser Grand Baker City
Hotel Geiser Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing