We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with character”
Review of Geiser Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Geiser Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I spent just one night here, driving from Portland to Cincinnati, so didn't have much time to enjoy it. But my room was very nice, quiet, relaxing. This hotel is a real antidote to the dull corporate places I typically stay in, and I always believe it's important to support such hotels. This one is very nice and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photolandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was a beautiful hotel with excellent service. I can't imagine a better hotel in this city. You could probably find a cheaper room in a chain hotel off the freeway, but the bit of extra money is worth it for the great room and experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Though the restaurant was slow getting the food out that night, they had no problem delivering it to our room when our infant daughter and two other kids got restless. Once it arrived, it was delicious (get the house sausage).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Great rooms, wonderful staff, great food and a nice bar. Couldn't say more. We were fully impressed. Dog friendly with our 50 pound dog. They even offered dog bowls when we checked in. Right On Main St. And across from a nice park with a river to play in. Do yourself a favor and spend some time here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank 4jsor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have stopped here many times for lunch or dinner but this time we stayed 1 night! Wonderful. Beautiful. A step back in time. Fantastic steak dinner and history lesson in the dining room. Loved the small library. The staff is wildly kind and knowledgeable about the area. Will definitely stay again. Thank You!

Room Tip: We had a corner room which offered views of surrounding areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Olykiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I made a reservation at the Geiser Grand and almost immediately received a phone call asking if we wanted to "upgrade" to a street view for $20. Not seeing the benefit we declined. We attempted to check in around 3 pm but were told rooms weren't available, unless, of course, we wanted to upgrade for $20, then the room was available. When we came back after 4 to check in, you guessed in..want to upgrade? While waiting my husband wandered over near the dining area only to be chastised by a young woman for him being in the area...I had to tell her we were guests. All this really did affect my stay and not in a good way. The hotel could be so delightful...it is somewhat (only somewhat) reminiscent of the Palace Hotel in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank qsmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were recently touriny the northeast of oregon withour dear friends. We had heardabout the Grand but had never been in the area before. We arrived to the charming old place at happy hpur, and spent a couple hours over drinks, munchies, and conversation . The bar staff were superb, the amenities were historical and awesome! The place teemed with historical charm. Dinner was a delight. Prime rib cooked exactly correct, vegetables done perfectly, and delicious fresh bread, served by expert waiters. Anyone whocomes to Baker City must visit this venue. My only regret wasthat we didnt plan to spend a couple nights there. Next trip, I cant wait todo it all over again, and STAY THERE!!

Room Tip: There areno bad rooms, or anything else there!! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed one night while on a biking trip around Eastern Oregon. We had a gorgeous room with comfortable and beautiful furniture and bedding. The hotel was lovingly restored to perfection, and we particularly enjoyed the stained glass ceiling in the dining room and the old photos and explanations downstairs. It was easy to walk around downtown from the hotel. While the hotel was not able to provide storage for our car for the 6 days we were out cycling, they did refer us to a local garage that could do that for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyMarkontandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baker City hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Sunridge Inn
Best Western Sunridge Inn
#1 of 10 in Baker City
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bridge Street Inn
The Bridge Street Inn
#4 of 10 in Baker City
190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Always Welcome Inn
Always Welcome Inn
#8 of 10 in Baker City
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eldorado Inn
Eldorado Inn
#5 of 10 in Baker City
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Baker City
Rodeway Inn Baker City
#6 of 10 in Baker City
129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Baker City
Super 8 Baker City
#3 of 10 in Baker City
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geiser Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geiser Grand Hotel

Address: 1996 Main St, Baker City, OR 97814-3350
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Price Range: £121 - £868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geiser Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Geiser Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiser Grand Baker City
Hotel Geiser Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing