We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome History Presented Perfectly!”

Baker Heritage Museum
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Baker City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the former Natatorium, 33,000 sq ft of permanent and changing exhibits tell the stories of the real people and businesses that developed the region following the discovery of gold in the mountains nearby the Oregon Trail. Home to the world renowned Cavin Warfel Rock Collection, one of the largest in the western US.
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome History Presented Perfectly!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This was such an incredible find! It was charming from the outside, and truly a first class museum throughout. The tour guide was amazingly knowledgeable and the entire staff was so overwhelmingly kind and generous that they even stayed open late for us by more than an hour! It was truly a great find the whole family, parents as well as a 7, 11, and a 16 year old, enjoyed and we all learned something new that will forever stay with us because of the way it was displayed and presented. The rock collection they have is especially amazing and not to be missed! Just amazing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Marti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisse10, Manager at Baker Heritage Museum, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
All of us at the museum enjoy sharing the story of our local history. Thank you for your visit, and for taking the time to write this review. We deeply appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    27
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
portland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“so much to see would have taken days-great”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Almost being close enough to touch the history of my state.
the replicas of drs. offices,mining equipment,old vehicles-so
much. The building was a natatorium at one time. Great gift
shop.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisse10, Manager at Baker Heritage Museum, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us. We have a great story to tell, and are glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not your normal local museum”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We were really impressed with this museum given its size and location. There is a display for everyone's taste. The dioramas/exhibition layouts are some of the best I have seen. The rock collection was impressive, and would have been impressive in any large city museum. Plan 1-2 hours depending on how much you like to read the information on each display.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TiffanySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisse10, Manager at Baker Heritage Museum, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for your visit Tiffany, and for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall City, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“History of My Town”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This building contains the history of my town. Always love bringing out of town friends here to give them a feel for who we are and why Baker is here. Growing up my favorite exhibit was the black light rock room, and even now, the rock collection is definitely one of the highlights for me.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker City, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This museum is packed”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

A very dedicated staff will relate the history of the region. There is such
variety from costumes, mining artifacts, gems, furniture, pioneer tools,
and more. This was once the site of a pioneer swimming pool and
ballroom. Very diverse.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Marvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisse10, Manager at Baker Heritage Museum, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for your visit and review! We change the exhibits every year, so please come back to see "Baker Bands and High Society" this year in our Central Gallery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baker Heritage Museum also viewed

 

Been to Baker Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing