We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of history”

Sumpter Valley Railway
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Baker City
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Baker City Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A piece of history”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I am one who loves to learn about history and this is neat! The Sumpter Valley Train was used in the late 1800's to transport Lumber and eventually used for passenger and freight transporting as well. Baker City was booming because of the lumber industry. This train was what kept the city alive, unlike all the nearby ghost towns that surround. Now the original track is about 5 miles long and used mainly as passenger transportation with a steam locomotive. For one who loves history and viewing beautiful scenic views this is a fun experience. The ride is a bit long, about an hour. The last time I went, I made a days worth of education and experience out of it. I took my daughter on the ride which all children love, then we stopped by the Sumpter Gold Dredge and finished off in Baker City at the Sumpter Junction Restaurant. Which is also neat with a small locomotive circling the whole restaurant. It was a great day of learning and bonding.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what a ride”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

was quite enjoyable until the train had to build up enough steam to get started again (which happened twice) make sure you notice all of the piles and piles of rocks from the dredge,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tamijensen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice spot to stop”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Although the park itself was closed, we were still able to walk around and look at the engines, read a bit of history and my girls enjoyed the mini playground near the parking area, which I thought was a great addition for families with younger kids.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank slynn_lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice ride”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Took the kids and had a great time learning a bit of history and going to the Sumpter dredge. There is a small souvenir shop in the Sumpter depot and food in town. Military discount.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank plnfxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming and Fun”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

It's a six mile trip from the station at McEwen to the town of Sumpter. The old steam engine is fantastic!! One of the cars has been fully restored to it's original splendor and it's beautiful. The attraction is run by volunteers who have great passion for the railway and it's history and they are happy to share it with you. The town of Sumpter is rich in gold mining history and the people are welcoming. I would recommend this to anyone. The kids that were on the train the day my husband and I visited seemed to love it. I would do this again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank janih701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumpter Valley Railway also viewed

 

Been to Sumpter Valley Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing