We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute! Great Value for the price.”
Review of Oregon Trail Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baker City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oregon Trail Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute! Great Value for the price.”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed at the Oregon Trail Motel after running through Hells Canyon. What a cute place! CLEAN, nice pool, friendly staff! Don't miss this place on the way through Baker City. We got in late and there is not much available in the way of food... which surprised me for the size of the city. The motel is with in walking distance to main street downtown. Good location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGGannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    31
    15
    4
    9
See reviews for
27
29
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This place is a great value, was pet friendly and I love the restaurant next door. Unfortunately, it was a rough night sleep due to huge pillows that made your neck sore in the morning. I'll stay here again, but will bring my own pillow next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Very nice people but the room smelled. After the rip out the carpeting and reprint the units this will be passable. If this helps please click the helpful button. Thanks.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank travelregent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veneta, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our stay at the Oregon Trail Motel was very nice, but would have been nicer in the summer time; it was very windy that weekend. ;0{ The whole town was very friendly, The staff at the Oregon Trail Motel is family ran was pleasant and accommodating. The rooms were clean offered extra towels, beds were comfortable (foam mattresses). The rooms had base broad heaters which heated up the room comfortably. ;0} The historic down town is walking distance and had a lot of cute shops. The creek that runs behind the Oregon Trail motel was a soothing sound to hear, when we opened our windows. The paved pathway that ran along the side of the creek went to the park which my 5 year old son enjoyed very much. The motel offered a lot of extras which included an iron, ironing board, a laundry room. My favorite was the coffee room that had extra thermoses to fill and take to your room available all day. The restaurant next door had good quality food, gracious employees and sensible prices. The restaurant was very stuffy, they had bad ventilation. There were three adults and a child stayed the last weekend, March 29 thru April 2, 2012. ;0}

Room Tip: Go and see hells canyon Hells Canyon is a 10-mile (16 km) wide canyon located along the border of ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMveneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Baker City is a cute town and the story that this motel was bult for the cast and crew of the 60's movie, Paint Your Wagon is fun. There's a public path along the creek that runs behing the motel that's an enjoyable walk. The room was clean, and the bed comfortable. Heat worked fine. There's a breakfast voucher, but it only covered a choice of oatmeal or biscuits and gravy or $1.00 off most other breakfast choices. Great food though. That was the best oatmeal I've ever had.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The Oregon trail motel was clean, for sure. Bedding was clean. The matress was a memory foam atop a frame with a single ply wood. Mostly but not completely Overnight check of the matresses showed no invasive species such as bed bugs or spiders, however, the room was very cold. We could not get the heat adjusted to a comfortable level, and the curtains did not close /overlap enough that excellent privacy was received, but still, sufficient.

I called 5 minutes before the office closed to inquire about my dog who would have otherwise had to stay with a relative. The night staff waited an extra thirty minutes for me to arrive back, and only charged me an additional five dollars for the convenience of my best friend to be able to stay in a clean room out of the elements with us. They did not appear to be 'put out' in the least, though they did appear tired, and ready to go home.

Breakfast was free at the Greasy Spoon Oregon trail resturaunt, complimentary to our stay. The resturaunt, though staffed with the kindest of people, was heavily laden with the thick air of greasy, poor ventilation. After about fifteen minutes, we found breathing was becoming labourous due to the grease/poor air quality... but the food was awesome.

We may stay there again when we return, but would like to see that these small things in the rooms are addressed, as well as better air quality in the resturaunt.

four out of five stars.

Room Tip: Ask for the exact type of room you want, they will do their best to accomodate you. Pet friendly roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaccusDjembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We spent the night here in August 2011, after researching hotels for our road trip. If you like vintage 1960's, in quaint old mining towns, then you might give this a try. Hotel sits beside the Powder River, which I could listen to if I opened the bathroom window. The staff is friendly, helpful and the coffee is brewing in the little room next to the lobby. The kids were having fun in the pool, and the restaurant next door has some of the best breakfasts, with attentive, friendly staff and lots of locals. In our room, the beds were very comfortable, and we had a little fridge, table/chairs, plenty of space to lounge around in, and internet service. If you prefer the newest, luxury hotels with the latest modern amenities, then go to the chains on the main highway. Things are a bit rickety here. I recommend you have a sense of adventure to choose this hotel. There are people that seemingly live there at weekly rates, but they were fine.

Room Tip: View of hotel from Powder River
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flowin-n-Going
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baker City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bridge Street Inn
The Bridge Street Inn
#5 of 10 in Baker City
181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sunridge Inn
Best Western Sunridge Inn
#1 of 10 in Baker City
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Geiser Grand Hotel
Geiser Grand Hotel
#2 of 10 in Baker City
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Always Welcome Inn
Always Welcome Inn
#7 of 10 in Baker City
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eldorado Inn
Eldorado Inn
#6 of 10 in Baker City
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Baker City
Rodeway Inn Baker City
#4 of 10 in Baker City
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oregon Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Trail Motel

Property: Oregon Trail Motel
Address: 211 Bridge St, Baker City, OR 97814-3916
Region: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Oregon Trail Hotel Baker City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing