We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every time has been great.”
Review of Oregon Trail Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baker City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oregon Trail Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Every time has been great.”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a few years ago on a trip to Hells Canyon. We loved it! Everything was great. We have stayed here a few more times when passing through. Always good. The staff have been very helpful each time. Daughter loves the pool. The restaurant has been reliably good. They are biker & pet friendly. We would have stayed here again for the HCMR but they were full up by the time I started looking. :(

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valkraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    31
    15
    4
    9
See reviews for
27
29
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had reservations set in February 2013. Confirmed in May. When we tried to check in all of our rooms had been changed with out our knowledge and the promised free breakfasts taken away. The owner of the hotel convienately left town the morning of check in. Won't ever try to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ckstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our women's motorcycle group booked rooms 6 months ago....confirmed reservations May 6th...received room assignments and thought everything was in place for 6/7-9, 2013. There were 27 ladies and 10 guests arriving. When our group arrived from Boise, were informed rooms were "given away" and alternate rooms (upstairs, even though some requested ground) were available....NOT GOING TO HAPPEN. We looked across the street at the Bridge Street Inn and most cancelled Oregon Trail and went across the street. And, furthermore, no manager was to be available all weekend. No "free breakfast coupons" were available 6/7-6/14 (printed on sheet of paper on counter). The pool was full of "squatter children" and very small. Never, never stay here...poor customer service!!!! Pass the word to friends and family..don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wogie, Owner at Oregon Trail Motel, responded to this review, 15 April 2017
You guys were quoted a special price which did not include breakfast. The pool had a Mother and 3 children who were staying here for a period of time, surely not squatters, who had every right to use the pool. The managers live on property and were here, but the owner was out of town. Word has it from other gals in your group, they had a good time and apologized for the way you acted and rushed off to the internet to air your laundry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Have stayed here annually for the last 10 years. No more. With new ownership it has gone downhill. Checked in at 4pm and given room 144. After unloading the car found that the bathroom sink was stopped up and wouldn't drain. No maintenance available so was given another room. Loaded the car and was unloading again when was told that was wrong room and we couldn't have it. Reloaded the car and was given a room across the lot. Unloaded car again, then found there was no TV remote. None available in the office and no maintenance.
Was not about to move again. Put up with it. Room reeked of smoke since smoking area was right outside door. A small herd of cats lived outside the door. Clothes still smell of smoke.
There are better places to stay in town. Restaurant is okay.

Room Tip: Go across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My family always stays here. As far as cleanliness goes, it's better than most ( and I own a cleaning business). The rooms are quiet and cozy. The coffee, pool , staff and other guests are always friendly and helpful. The rooms may be a bit dated, but everything else makes up for that. We love the free breakfasts and they even watched my dog while we went out for a bit. So I didn't have to leave her in the room alone. We love walking along the Powder River in all weather and enjoy looking at the beautiful homes and enjoy the park along the way. Everyone always says "hi", even the teenagers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The supposed retro ambiance of this place is best portrayed by the pervasive reek of cigarette smoke that permeates every last inch of the property, even in the so-called nonsmoking rooms. Don't plan on sleeping well at night, either, if nocturnal screechings of prowling felines directly outside your room is something that will interfere with your sleep. The only thing worse than that is the shrieking of the housekeeper first thing in the morning while she's banging on your door.

Not sure who the guy at the front desk in the early mornings is -- supposedly the owner, but it's hard to imagine a business owner sending such a nasty vibe to customers. Whoever he is, he clearly values his cigarettes over everything else.

The restaurant staff is great, but that's probably because jobs are tough to come by in Baker City. The food is so-so -- American Diner classic.

I'd advise giving this place a pass and staying somewhere else, but definitely eat in the restaurant. Inexpensive lodging options are easy to find in Baker City

Room Tip: If you want to find a good room, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Talkeetna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Hey I stayed here a while back and was so impressed I had to write this review
First off, ask for room 141 it overlooks a creek out back
Secondly the owners, and staff were the best
My car was squealing like a stuck pig and the owners brother just happened to be there
liked to work on cars for fun and fixed it! (this was exceptional I know) but this is seriously the kind of people you get at this motel. They have great prices, clean quiet rooms, if your in the area, definitely stop here!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 141 it has a creek out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baker City hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sunridge Inn
Best Western Sunridge Inn
#1 of 10 in Baker City
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bridge Street Inn
The Bridge Street Inn
#4 of 10 in Baker City
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Geiser Grand Hotel
Geiser Grand Hotel
#2 of 10 in Baker City
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Always Welcome Inn
Always Welcome Inn
#7 of 10 in Baker City
63 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eldorado Inn
Eldorado Inn
#5 of 10 in Baker City
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Baker City
Rodeway Inn Baker City
#6 of 10 in Baker City
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oregon Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Trail Motel

Property: Oregon Trail Motel
Address: 211 Bridge St, Baker City, OR 97814-3916
Region: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Oregon Trail Hotel Baker City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing