We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Linda S.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn Baker City
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Clatskanie, OR, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Linda S.”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This place is an older property but our room was good, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The managers were nice and accommodating giving us an excellent selection to eat, explained some of the sites to see if we had time. We would come back for sure. We had a nice selection for our Continental breakfast our only complaint would be the rude guest that insisted on talking loudly on her cell phone while people were trying to eat and have our own conversations. People need to have lessons on cell phone use there is a place and time to use them and in a small area where other people don't want to know what is going on is not the place.
I am glad we stayed here and will recommend this place to others

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    34
    16
    16
    7
See reviews for
27
26
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel while we were in town for 2 nights for a wedding. This is an older property but the rooms were very clean and completely adequate for us. The location is great and we were able to explore historic Baker City on foot. The property is owned by a charming young couple who are working on renovating it. They were extremely warm, friendly and helpful and we will definitely stay there again if in the area.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Motownbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I'm glad we arrived quite late, so we didn't have to endure any longer than necessary--I only wish we'd brought sleeping pills to help dull the disturbing experience.

- First of all, the place was very unclean. Including the walls, carpet and bed. But the first thing that hits you when entering is the foul and indescribably acrid stench.
- The bathroom has to be one of the worst I've seen; complete with creaky/sticky floors, that had random holes in it. Not to mention the disgustingly old toilet seat.
- The fridge had a bunch of rust inside...perhaps we should have just put our provisions in the freezing cold pool. Which by the way, is outside. So unless you're preparing for a polar bear plunge--the pool is not applicable, outside of summer.
- Their WIFI barely had signal, and our cell phone reception was even worse. So forget calling for help, if Bubba decides to join you for the night.
- Breakfast is quite revolting, unless you're okay with consuming objects that are shaped like food and consist of chemicals and air.

In conclusion, I'm sure it was JUST this room that had all the issues. However, they also tried to con us out of an extra $10, on top of their standard $10 corporate pet policy, for one, small pet...anyway, there a much cheaper places, closer to the highway.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Hill_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroweLLC, Owner at Knights Inn Baker City, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for our motel. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Most of the guests we have understand that this motel and town are older, and that renovations are ongoing.

We maintain our facilities to the best of our ability. Yes, our carpeting is old, however, it is steam cleaned regularly. Our linens are changed after each guest, and our cleaning staff has a fairly extensive check list. It is unfortunate, but quite common that buildings constructed in the 60's may have a creak in the bathroom floor. As to the pool. If you look on our website, we are listed as having a "seasonal outdoor pool". If it is cold outside, as it has been here (getting into the 30's since late August), there is a good chance that the pool may also be cold. Baker City is serviced only by DSL internet, sometimes there is very little signal. We broadcast it as best we can, but when there is no signal, there is no signal, and unless you are on Verizon, you will not receive much if any cell phone signal as Verizon is the only carrier that covers our small town. Our breakfast is a simple continental breakfast. We do not offer fresh cooked eggs and pancakes. We do offer quality muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, juice and several other options. Seeing as this is a complimentary offering we feel it to be quite extensive, and a fair value given the cost of your nights stay.

I am not sure how we tried to con you out of money. We are very up front about our prices and fees. Perhaps you were unaware of the Oregon Lodging Tax of 8%, which can often catch travelers by surprise. We always strive to provide a clean comfortable room, while being among the most economic options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Very pleasant and helpfull staff. Continental breakfast was a joke. The room was so dusty you could write your name. Linens were clean. For the money and not staying for very long it was ok. Quiet neighborhood however the security lights shown into the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MackayTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Best Place Yet ! I am travelling NW USA for a few weeks & this stay was the most pleasant so far. New owners for an older building along historic Oregon Trail. Obvious updates have been made and are ongoing. Certainly the most helpful & personable management I've experienced so far & this was my 9th stay for this trip. I look forward to another visit in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We reserved two rooms off the recomendations from trip advisor. We called the main booking number through Wyndham and was quoted $74 dollars for one of the rooms and told them we had 2 dogs. I asked the reservation employee if that inncluded taxes and the pets. She said that price included everything except taxes. When we got there, we were charged an extra $20 for the dogs, even thought the reservation confirmation they sent me said price doesn't include taxes.

The room we were given also had bloody buggers on the wall and blood on the bathroom floor. They moved us to a different room. We stilled ended up paying the full $100 for the room. The overall condition of the room was fine.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly, don't call the reservation line as you will not get an accurate room qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanab, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Really old motel. Dirty rooms and linens, and the manager must not care. The breakfast was a joke. The good reviews must be from ringers. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhead3855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroweLLC, Owner at Knights Inn Baker City, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear redhead3855,

We appreciate your taking the time to leave us a review here on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time here in Baker City. We are a very old hotel, and do not pretend to be otherwise. Our rooms are old, but we take pride in the cleanliness of our establishment. Our linens are laundered after each guest, and our rooms thoroughly cleaned. Unfortunately, despite our best efforts some things are missed by our cleaning staff from time to time. If that was the case in your room, you have our most sincere apologies. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast each morning which most guest find more than satisfactory. If you had wanted a more formal traditional breakfast, we would have gladly provided discounts to several wonderful breakfast restaurants.

We do genuinely care what our guests have to say, and take complaints very seriously, so that we might fix the issues. We hope you will give our hotel another try on your next trip to Baker City.

Warmest Regards
Knights Inn Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baker City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bridge Street Inn
The Bridge Street Inn
#4 of 10 in Baker City
184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Sunridge Inn
Best Western Sunridge Inn
#1 of 10 in Baker City
881 reviews
1.5 mi away
Always Welcome Inn
Always Welcome Inn
#7 of 10 in Baker City
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Eldorado Inn
Eldorado Inn
#5 of 10 in Baker City
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Geiser Grand Hotel
Geiser Grand Hotel
#2 of 10 in Baker City
779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Baker City
Rodeway Inn Baker City
#6 of 10 in Baker City
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Baker City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Baker City

Property: Knights Inn Baker City
Address: 2205 Broadway St, Baker City, OR 97814-3345 (Formerly Budget Inn Baker City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Baker City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Baker City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Baker City 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 Rooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Knights Inn Baker City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker City Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing