We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WiFi no good!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I had slow connectivity, if ANY, during my 2-day stay. Great views, but expect to drive back to town for Wi-Fi. Am very disappointed staff did nothing to compensate for many trips out. Apologies aren't enough when you need to do business on-line. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenineugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear jenieugene,

We were dismayed to find this review posted about us, especially since it appeared a day before we were given an opportunity to rectify the problem. We recognize that free Wi-Fi is a crucial amenity for many travelers, which is why we installed new Wi-Fi equipment and contracted another company that offers 24 hour technical support. While Wi-Fi problems have not been completely eliminated in all 70 of our units, they are rare. Once the problem was reported, we immediately called the support technician to understand what was wrong and we did our best to correct it. We appreciate you for taking the time to review us and provide feedback.

Sincerely,
Bryce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We can only review the actual hotel, because even tho we asked for the addition-we got the main hotel. Tired rooms, but generous size. And on the 2nd floor, spectacular views. There was no one else staying here, so that could be the reason. Forget their breakfast, packaged muffins and coffee. There are plenty of places that look better. But we also didn't pay much so we get what we deserve. But we were told by another property to book here cause they were full.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Hafkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were traveling down the Oregon Coast Highway on our honeymoon, and needed a place to spend one night. We had gotten really lucky the night before in Yachats finding an amazing place, and was hoping for the same in Bandon. Well this place wouldn't be at the top of my list to return to, but it was just fine for a night's stay. The guy at the check-in counter was very nice, and even let us look at a few rooms before we decided. We stayed in the older section, EVERYTHING was wood paneled! Dated, but clean so no complaints. We loved having the microwave and fridge. Indoor pool and hot tub were nice, and the breakfast was adequate for a morning snack. Only complaint was there was no screen on the sliding glass door, so we couldn't leave it open at night to get an ocean breeze and hear the waves crashing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil and Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in the Vern Brown Bldg on the main floor, still a number of levels above the beach.
When we arrived and looked out our balcony, our jaws dropped. **Scenery! It was near sunset and we couldn't wait to get down to explore. The room is spacious, towels and bath are nice quality, kitchen had lots of dishes and had everything one needs. They provide a duraflame log for fireplace, which I am hesitant to use. We were very pleased with this accommodation other than the sparse breakfast they offer in main bldg. Muffins, yogurt and coffee; that's it! I think it would have better not to offer breakfast at all. This lodge is right next to Flat Rock state park; easy to walk to. We had to park our car across the street at a nearby restaurant. Bandon-on-the Sea is a fun town to explore with some great eateries.

Room Tip: Get a main level room so you don't have to cart your luggage far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venusalberta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We didn't listen and stayed here on 9/27.First observation was the place looked great from the outside.Inside,I think possibly Christ may have stayed here as a boy VERY old looking,missing woodwork,broken formica and the entire walls faded.The TV was very dark and couldn't be corrected.The thermastate would not work,either on high or off,no ajusting.Very few people staying but the evidently book a room above us to a herd off cattle that pounded around most of the night,NO insulation in the ceiling .They have the nerve to charge over $100 off season.You would be better off sleeping in your car.

Room Tip: please don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in the Vern Brown section and loved the ocean view. The beach was right there with the spectacular rock formations. Early morning walks on the beach and beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Sunset Oceanfront Lodging has the best views of Bandon's incredible rock formations. Can't beat the sunset views at this special location. A room in the Vern Brown section or rustic cabins afford the greatest view as they are directly over the water. A less expensive section is the Oceanview rooms. They are very spacious but the view is not as grand. Be prepared for some steps down to the beach as the hotel is up above the beach.
The continental breakfast is a little sparse but for a larger meal there are great restaurants nearby in old town.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Vern Brown section for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
1 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
0.4 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#7 of 12 in Bandon
366 reviews
20.6 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
1 mi away
Windermere on the Beach
1.3 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#5 of 12 in Bandon
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Oceanfront Lodging

Address: 1865 Beach Loop Dr SW, P.O. Box 373, Bandon, OR 97411-8802
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
Price Range: £50 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Oceanfront Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on high ground overlooking a sandy beach, majestic sea stacks and the Pacific Ocean, Sunset Oceanfront Lodging offers beach access and a variety of accommodations. Family owned and operated since 1936. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging Hotel Bandon
Sunset Hotel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing