We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The quintessential sea side cafe!”
Review of Sea Star Bistro

Sea Star Bistro
Ranked #15 of 54 Restaurants in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: American, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Homemade food using simple and fresh ingredients. Never fried. Family oriented.
La Quinta, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The quintessential sea side cafe!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very clean lovely bistro. My husband and I LOVE to locate and eat at mom & pop establishments. we come to Bandon every October and love the entire town! Another good experience! The Turkey Gobbler was yummy! Thanks Sea Star Bistro! (Thanks for helping us rescue the humble bee!) Tom & Char from La Quinta, Ca

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    13
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service is superb; food is yummy”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The place is small, but I think that just adds to its charm. There is seating outside for those nice October days that Bandon is blessed with (shhh, don't tell too many people about our little secret). The sandwiches are delicious and HUGE (easily split between two meals, especially if you're not a big eater). The bread for the sandwiches and pre-meal is fresh baked and super good! The chowder is definitely one of the best on the coast. The white fish tacos were okay (would really prefer halibut, lingcod, cod, or even rockfish...the chef/owner sounds like he would too, but recently changed due to customer feedback). More than anything, really appreciated the personal service -- we'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarlaDazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Soft Fish Tacos to Live For!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My friend from Bandon loves this tiny Mom 'n Pop hole in the wall in Bandon's storied Old Town wharf area. Now I understand why. Order the double corn tortilla to hold the freshly baked whitefish intact. A delightful atmosphere with honestly friendly owners / chefs / servers. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
“A Delightful, Delicious, and Fantastic Restaurant!!!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

From one small business owner to another, we commend the owners, Degan & Lori, on a fantastic job running their wonderful little bistro! As business owners, we know how hard they work and also how much fun it can be, of which Degan shared lots of enthusiasm with us. We appreciate the great service, most delicious food, and the conversation along with the atmosphere. Their fish tacos are awesome! We lucked out in our timing to catch the extra special salsa made for them; oh my yummmmm! The clam chowder is the Best in Bandon, and possibly the Oregon Coastline! Thank You Degan for everything!!! We look forward to returning to Bandon, so we can eat multiple meals at Sea Star Bistro! ~Andrew & Jean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheClayCanvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guantanamo, Cuba
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful little cafe!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Wonderful hidden "locals" find!! Delicious homemade food, sandwiches, salads and don't miss the clam chowder!! In Old Town Bandon. We've been there several times and it's been great every time!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Star Bistro also viewed

Bandon, Oregon Coast
 
Bandon, Oregon Coast
Bandon, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sea Star Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing