We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View and Beach - Hotel so, so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windermere on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This hotel has a great water view with a super, private dunes path leading to stacks. On the beach you’ll find outstanding tide pools, caves and interesting rocks. The room has a large flatscreen TV with good selection of channels. The beds were on the order of ok.

However we were surprised at this location and type of facility to find no phone. Further there was no counter space, dim lighting in room and bathroom. The closet was mostly filled with a small refrig. & tiny microwave. There were no special amenities on site.

The coffee pot had new cups with labels not pealed off. Very odd.
With the very thin floors we heard footsteps from 2nd floor from over an hour (until about midnight) when the person upstairs decided to settle in.

There has been a huge amount of building in the area, so there are other hotels with good views. This was reasonably priced at $127 for 2 double beds. But I’d check out other possibilities before choosing this automatically again despite the great view and beach.

Room Tip: Definitely get a top floor room or footsteps will keep you up. Go for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DulciTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

Absolutely adorable cottage on the beach. Had unit 1 with 2 levels. Two kids had their own beds and flatscreen tv upstairs. Downstairs bed and another flatscreen, kitchen, bathroom and outdoor deck. Short walk down the path to the beach, saw tons of starfish and other sealife at low tide. People riding horses on the beach....absolutely gorgeous...wanted to stay longer. Hotel staff very nice and helpful. Worth every cent!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Azisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We found the motel to be clean, quiet, spacious, friendly and the accommodation fronted straight onto sand dunes and a great view of the Pacific Ocean. With a little kitchen and separate bedroom and lounge it was like home from home. And across the road is Bandon Billl's Grill, serving great steaks and sometimes with live music. Surely one of the nicest motels in the US?

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timthorlby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We were going to stay at the Best Western with no ocean view until we saw the Windermere across the street.
We loved the king size bed, fireplace, kitchenette. the view of the ocean out the back patio door was amazing. Easy access to walk right onto the beach. We will definitely come again. They have some pet friendly rooms, so we'll bring our dogs next time too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamyjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

My wife and I stayed in an upstairs, king room with kitchenette. It was one of their premium rooms. Our room was beautiful, nice furnishings, good mattress and bedding. The view from the somewhat private balcony was exquisite. A attractive gas fireplace kept the room warm and cozy.

Downside, was the unswept bathroom floor, and dried food scraps on counters and dining table. This is our second stay here and the second time we experienced inattention to detail regarding cleanliness.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fatrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I have been staying here with my family at least once a year for 20 years, and we have always had a wonderful experience. I see a lot of comments on here about it needing to be refurbished--if these travelers are looking for Egyptian cotton sheets and marble countertops they should go elsewhere. Windermere doesn't advertise as refurbished. They cater to people who want a relaxing, genuine Oregon coast experience. We've always enjoyed that they're simple, homey, and immaculately clean. The view and beach access absolutely can't be beat! Take it from someone who has stayed here almost two dozen times--Windermere is great.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

My husband and I have stayed here twice - we lodged in a luxury unit on our honeymoon, and another time we stayed in one of the A-frames during a road-trip. We love this place!!! It certainly has a rustic "cabin-like" feel...probably not for everyone, judging from other reviews. For us, its character adds to the romantic ambiance. Our rooms were cozy both times, and the view is simply amazing! The beachfront is essentially the backyard - our units walked directly out to the beach path. The nearby town of Bandon is quite appealing too...friendly town-folk and plenty of yummy eats! I can see this being a place we return to again and again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
1 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.4 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#7 of 12 in Bandon
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
601 reviews
21.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
187 reviews
19.5 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere on the Beach

Address: 3250 Beach Loop Dr SW, Bandon, OR 97411-8808
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bandon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
Price Range: £78 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the Windermere has an unobstructed view of the spectacular ocean along Bandon's coastline. 25 secluded and private units, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes,and decks - perfect for family vacations. All rooms have free WiFi. Pet friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windermere on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Motel On The Beach Hotel Bandon
Windermere Hotel Bandon
Windermere Motel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing