We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windermere on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were not planning on staying the Windermere, but drove by on our way to another hotel and decided to check it out. Motel is dated, but kept clean and had fridge, microwave. Bathroom was small but did the job, great shower. Friendly and helpful staff. Easy beach access. Glad we stopped.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We're so glad you stopped by as well! Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    156
    41
    8
    7
See reviews for
183
278
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed overnight on our cross-country trip after checking out of the pricey but beautiful Bandon Golf Resort. Our room was right on the beach with a beautiful view of the sunset. It was clean and had the convenience of a kitchenette. There is no breakfast but we brought cereal and milk in for our breakfast. A coffee maker was available with the makings for coffee. The cute little town of Bandon was just a short scenic drive away. The price was very reasonable for a beach property.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are on the beach. We were in an upstairs unit which might not be appropriate is you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay as well as the town of Bandon. It truly is a wonderful place and we hope you can visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed in room 25 it was awesome, very clean and the owners were the nicest people ever!!! only bad thing was we could only stay one night but i am definitely coming back with my husband to stay longer. The town is adorable also wouldn't mind living there!

Room Tip: any room would be amazing. Location is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knappkbarn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Wow! Thanks for the great review. I love this pics, especially the one with your feet up on the patio enjoying your coffee and the view! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westminster
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

the rooms are basic at best. Very small bathroom, the sink is almost part of the room itself. The bed was not the best. If you look out the back door and beyond, you find paths leading to a wide beach, which we had pretty much to ourselves. The beach is the draw here. There aren't any restaurants nearby, as you are in a sort of suburb of sorts. We decided to spent only one night, after booking two. I requested a refund on night two. After a gentle push, I was refunded.

Room Tip: lower rooms are subject to noise from above. Rooms above are a walk up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p_vanallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
I'm sorry you chose to stay only one day. Keep in mind we have King Deluxe rooms if you are wanting more amenities. They have large bathrooms, fireplaces, kitchenettes and patios! We hope you will try a Deluxe room soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia City IN
Level Contributor
183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was not a fancy new hotel. Instead it was probably built in the 40's and has only about 24 units. Ours was an upstairs one room with kitchenette and sitting area. (No elevator). It was clean and bed was small, but comfortable. The view was amazing....overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The bathroom is small--just a shower, no tub, but clean. The kitchen was well stocked and if you wanted to cook meals, you could do so very easily. We just picked up some things for breakfast on the way in and fixed breakfast before we left. The place was very quiet and very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you don't want to carry your luggage upstairs, ask for a lower unit. (We liked the views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thanks for the review! You were close, the original buildings were built in 1936! We work very hard to maintain the vintage beach cottage feel while keeping the rooms clean and comfortable. We hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rifle, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just the place for us! After spending one night, we stayed here a second night. Not a snazzy place, not the newest place. Clean, roomy, great beach access, and very friendly hosts. We would stay here again! My review includes fitness center and pool. The beach and the ocean are what you get !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
So happy you loved it!! Traditional, clean and comfortable is what we offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Spent 3 days playing golf at Bandon Dunes. Couldn't stay there because they didn't accepts pets. This hotel was rated high on Tripadvisor and was on the beach so we picked it. If your looking for ocean views from your room, you can't go wrong here. Rooms are basically on the beach. The bathrooms are extremely small and the rooms are dated and in need of some repair.
No food served and a short drive to town will solve that. For the price, you are paying for ocean front, nothing else. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hello, and thank you for your response. I am sorry you weren't as comfortable in our rooms as you would like to be. Keep in mind that we do have King Deluxe rooms if you are looking for more amenities. Our original buildings were built in 1936 and offer a vintage beach cottage experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
1.0 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.4 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#6 of 12 in Bandon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
21.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
19.5 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere on the Beach

Property: Windermere on the Beach
Address: 3250 Beach Loop Dr SW, Bandon, OR 97411-8808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bandon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the Windermere has an unobstructed view of the spectacular ocean along Bandon's coastline. 25 secluded and private units, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes,and decks - perfect for family vacations. All rooms have free WiFi. Pet friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windermere on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Motel On The Beach Hotel Bandon
Windermere Hotel Bandon
Windermere Motel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing