We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Beach Stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windermere on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is our second stay at Windermere. It is great value and the family are friendly and knowledgeable. Beds were great. I guess we lucked out the first time, as we had a kitchenette, which we assumed was the standard. This time the room (double) was smaller and the kitchen facilities were not as convenient. The location is fabulous, right on the beach, and the town is charming.

We took advantage of the stay and play for golf and were very happy with the value and the service. They were very accommodating when we changed our tee time.

We would stay here again but would request a kitchenette.

Room Tip: If you want to have any meals in, request a kitchenette, otherwise it is pretty tight...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdnSeniorGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We are happy you returned! Only 5 of our 25 rooms do not have kitchenettes. If you are booking online they are listed on our website as Double, no kitchen, no deck and Queen, no kitchen. We hope to see you again and will ensure you have a room with a kitchenette!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Windermere on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here this past weekend in the king room that had a fire place and kitchenette. The view is amazing, the staff very friendly and the room clean and well equipped. It was a nice quiet stay just minutes from old town and all in all a wonderful experience. We will be coming back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhormann23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for writing and we are happy you loved your view! You are not too far, so we hope you are able to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My grand kids wake up and are having breakfast in the super little two story mini cottage on the beach. After pointing out a whale to them I noticed two rainbows . My little 5 year old Remi then said "Where is the third rainbow? This place is super clean with tight secure management. A far better choice than picking the questionable vacation rental down the the street with it's office in a mobile home off an alley. The private path to the beach even has clean up area with water for sand removal. Can't wait to have other friends and family stay there so I can visit them at the Windermere!

Room Tip: Wake up early full moon helps.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review! We are so fortunate to see many rainbows here at the Windermere! You're right, it's a fantastic spot to bring the grand kids. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

One hardly knows where to begin! Beautiful location, quiet surroundings, and just minutes from Old Town Bandon. Windermere is a family-owned inn and the owners were friendly and helpful. The "cottages" are clean, comfortable, modern and well-equipped. Our unit, a "king room with fireplace and kitchenette" was everything we needed. The views from all units are magnificient...patio or balconies provide a view spanning vast areas of the ocean and sunset. Wooden stairs lead to the beach where you can stroll in the tide, gather lovely shells and search for jasper and agate. Parking is plentiful and adjacent to the cottages. Upper units require stair climbing. Ice and soda available on site but no restaurant....so you'll have to drive into Bandon proper for a trip to the grocer or to eat at one of a number of excellent restaurants. The property has no pool. A great vacation spot for couples, seniors, or families who want to visit the beach without the noise and crowds of other beaches.

Room Tip: Our unit #18 was at the south end of the property, farthest from the office and the walkway leading...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We are excited we were able to show something spectacular to our friends from the "Show Me" state! Your pictures are fabulous, thank you for sharing and we hope you can stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What a find this was! 180 degree panoramic ocean front view from the kitchen table through the picture window. Fully stocked kitchen, squeaky clean, windows that open for the breeze, smell and sound of the ocean, comfortable bed, beach access, short drive to shops and fabulous sea food, helpful staff, room options such as a gas fireplace or covered patio...it had it all. I can't imagine a better beachfront stay. AND it was half the price of Brookings' Beachfront motel.

It was so wonderful we stayed for another two nights.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We are thrilled you enjoyed our clean rooms and were able to experience why we love living here! Thank you for noticing how reasonable our rates are. Bandon is a charming town with so much to offer our visitors! We hope your travels will bring you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Do yourself a favour and stay at this motel; you will be glad you did! The family cottages are quaint, comfortable, and spotlessly clean, and can sleep up to 6. The kitchenette is adequately stocked, and you can eat your meals overlooking the ocean. The staff are courteous and pleasant. The views are absolutely not to be beaten! You can see all along the wide, sandy beach from Face Rock to Table Rock and beyond. Fall asleep to the sound of crashing surf, go for leisurely walks on the beach, and enjoy every minute in this haven of tranquility! You'll wish you could stay longer…we did!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDH154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

What a nice review from our friends to the north! We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and are you happy you noticed the excellent job our housekeepers do! We hope when you return you can stay much longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed last year for three nights and enjoyed ourselves so much, decided to stay five nights this year. We picked a room with a kitchenette, which really helped us stay within our budget. Again, the table overlooked the beach and the sunset. Service was great (a minor TV "issue" was handled in a very helpful and friendly manner). The way they have the rooms facing gives you the feeling you're the only ones on the beach. Very short walk to beach and short drive to town.

We had a fantastic time and our only complaint is that it is too far away! We stay at other places on the ocean, but if this was closer, it would be THE place for us to stay and bring family. We'll be back (probably several times!!)!!!

Room Tip: If you're staying several days, pick one of the rooms with a kitchenette. It is fully-equipped...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

What a compliment to say your return was even better! We are always looking for ways to improve. It's always nice to share a meal while overlooking the ocean! Also, thank you for the fantastic sunset picture! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
1.0 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
1.4 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#7 of 12 in Bandon
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
593 reviews
19.5 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
1.9 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#5 of 12 in Bandon
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere on the Beach

Address: 3250 Beach Loop Dr SW, Bandon, OR 97411-8808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bandon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
#1 Family Hotel in Bandon
Price Range: £79 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the Windermere has an unobstructed view of the spectacular ocean along Bandon's coastline. 25 secluded and private units, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes,and decks - perfect for family vacations. All rooms have free WiFi. Pet friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windermere on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Motel On The Beach Hotel Bandon
Windermere Hotel Bandon
Windermere Motel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing