We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please don't stay :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shooting Star Motel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Roseburg, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Please don't stay :(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I come to bandon a few times a year and this year we wanted to save some money and stay at a motel, we'll big mistake this place is old, outdated and smells like mold.
The manager was rude and refused to give us a room rate that matched the website rates. Oh and the bugs just gah..... I'm not saying there are bedbugs ;( The blankets are not clean and the sheets smelled funny so we slept on top of the bed with our own blankets. Just pleas spend a little more for a hotel or even camp it will be so much better.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleshea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    4
    4
    12
See reviews for
9
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This was the only place we found that had availability off hwy 101, and all they had were two rooms, with one full size bed in each. We're a family of five, so we got both rooms, kids stayed in one and we stayed in the other. We always carry an inflatable mattress when we travel cause most rooms have only two queen beds. Anyways, the rooms smelled old and dirty and of cigarette smoke, we're non-smokers. The comforter on the bed did not smell clean, the carpet is old and dingy, I didn't even want to walk barefooted on it and told my kids to not walk barefooted on it either. My kids had to use their own throw blankets because their comforter smelled like dog urine. The bathrooms were ok, old style but they served their purpose. Its an old motel, very dated, and apparently they don't change the bed linens like they should, and that's just nasty. If I'm ever traveling in this area again, I will never stay here. That is all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ms22277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bandon hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Older motel..but very clean, updated, and cute. Great value. Offers all you need. Clean rooms, clean beds and bathrooms. Refridgerators, coffee makers and microwaves. Pet friendly. Even offers your pet a treat! Dog poop clean up bags availiable. Excellent when traveling with pets!! The owner is friendly and helpful. Nice place, we will gladly stay there again when visiting Bandon, Oregon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anaanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Not your normal experience but it brought back memories. We have stayed here before but have always had room 15 that has two queen beds and is fairly spacious. This time we had room 14 which is tiny with a queen bed which was noisy - squeaky. We had a giggle about that. The room was clean but very old fashioned. It needs some updating and repairs to the room, especially the shower area. The gentleman in the office is very friendly and helpful and willing to get you anything you might need and answers any questions. He tries to accomodate any need. There was a musty smell in the bathroom perhaps due to not being used much? The throw rug on the bathroom floor was a definite tripping hazard and we took it out. There is free WiFi and we noticed some road noise due to big truck traffic. Once we settled in, we realized it wasn't all bad. It is NOT modern but you should see the tall floor lamp that is fastened to the wall!!! The glass surrounding the light is gorgeous! Once you look around you see all sorts of things from the past. You just have to take the time to look. For example, just on the wall beside the frame of the door, is a unique sign. Plastic. It gives the check out time (which appears to be changeable) and a message to leave the key in the room, also changeable. Also, one of the deadbolts on the door was interesting. When you locked the deadbolt an area showed up on the front of that deadbolt saying "Do Not Disturb". This was visible on the INSIDE of the room so we found that quite funny. In the shower, below the showerhead, there is a pull chain and it says "Pull to resume water flow". While in the shower, the water pressure did decrease a lot and I pulled this chain and it resumed. A good way to save water. This room is not for all people. We were initially shocked when we first got into the room but once we checked it out, we noticed the small things that brought smiles. We have to remember that this is an old motel and we can't expect high end furnishings and amenities. It never hurts us to be humbled. Would we stay again? Maybe. The experience was priceless.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteangelgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Very good value for a pet friendly motel. The owner was very friendly, and really wanted to meet our pets and give us some treats for them.

Our room had one queen and was smaller than some of their other rooms, but we just needed a place to sleep. We had a frig and microwave . Coffee pot too, and you can get extra coffee and hot chocolate. Fan in room helps when sleeping. Most rooms have a car port you can park under. That helps in rain when unloading and loading.

Outside your door they are chairs and tables if you want to sit out, especially helpful for smokers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andorian1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

The service was good with a good location but we got in late and we got their broom closet. It was extremely small and cramped. It was clean and well made up but by far the smallest we have ever seen. They have a carport for all the parking which is really cool unless your truck is lifted. Try not to get room number 3. I know that is the closet not sure about the others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerdave007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearlake, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Coming from the south on Hwy 101, this is the first motel you see. Our friends were staying in an RV park close by, so we decided to stay. The owner was very nice as we checked in, albeit weird about constantly trying to give us candy to take to our room, even though we said "No thank you" several times. We arrived early evening but later than we had planned and were rushed, so we quickly put our suitcases inside the door of the very small, dark room and took off. Once we returned back to the room late in the evening, we turned on the light to realize the room was awful! It was severely cluttered with no place to put our suitcases, let alone ourselves. The carpet was very dirty, had an ill-fitting rug thrown over the carpet (which I tripped over several times), the dresser chair had food crumbs all over it, the floor lamp was working and was "tied" with a strap and nailed to the wall! Everything in the room looked like low-end yard sale goods. The tub/shower was patched & repaired poorly and the rubber bath mat had black mildew stains on both sides! The walls were paper thin, and we did not feel safe at all. We left early the next morning & tried to tell the owner, but the office had a "Closed" sign on the door with a clock saying "will return at 11:30 am". We called & left a message that we were checking out early and received a call back from the owner later who was a changed man from the night before! Rude & surly. We do NOT recommend staying at the Shooting Star Motel; please keep driving into Bandon as there are several much better motels to choose from. Very creepy and the worst motel I have ever stayed in!!!

Room Tip: If you absolute have no other choice and HAVE to stay here, do not take Room 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
0.9 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.0 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#6 of 12 in Bandon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
21.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shooting Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shooting Star Motel

Property: Shooting Star Motel
Address: Hwy 101, Bandon, OR
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Shooting Star Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Shooting Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing