We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So bad I had to leave”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Star Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 9 Bandon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2007

I stopped in Bandon, Or on a trip up the coast from San Francisco. I
had read a great review in one of my guide books for Oregon. I called
the managers early in the day to book a room. The woman I talked to, although nice, seemed very confused. We were finally able to reserve a room with no view for $65. When I got to Bandon, I called for directions and once again the managers/owners seemed confused. Once I saw my room I was very unpleasantly surprised. My room smelled like
cigarettes. I tried to deal with it for a while but the smell was too overpowering, even with the window open. I called and requested a
non-smoking room, but the management refused to believe me and insisted that all the rooms were non smoking. I pointed out that there was a bucket full of cigarette butts right outside my door and she told me that those are OUTSIDE the room so the room is non smoking. I finally got so irritated, I told the managment that I was leaving and that I expect a refund on the room. I then had to call 4 times the next day to get them to credit back my account. Although, the smell of smoke was the major issue, I agree with the other reviewers on the lack of cleanliness and the general poor condition of the place. I would definitely not recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadShak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2006

I have to say I surprisingly agree agree both with some good and some bad previous reviews.
We had a room in the Guest House, with a nice view on the harbor and the old town portion of Bandon.
The whole house would need a little painting and refreshing, and the least you can say is that cleanliness could be improved too. Coffee-making facilities were so dirty we did not even dare to use them (there is a great bistro café behind the guesthouse!), the carpet was worn out and spotted...Clean and fresh the place would have a lot of charm. But is is neither very clean nor very fresh.
Very surprising welcome. Though we arrived at 6:45 PM, so on my opinion not a late arrival, we had only an enveloppe (with the room key) on a desk and a courtesy phone waiting for us, where I was told I would find the following morning our CC receipt and check! Invisible owner! As of August 2006, we paid $75 without any breakfast, which I don't consider a bargain for such a place!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2006

My husband and I stayed here on a trip up the Oregon coast and the Sea Star was our favorite place we stayed. The room was clean and comfortable, and the view was great. The managers were very nice and answered all our questions about stuff to do in Bandon. We even saw them later that evening when we were at dinner, and they stopped and chatted with us - great people! I would definately recommend the Sea Star to anyone visiting the southern coast of Oregon.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank speedraceramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2005

The Sea Star Guest House & Hostel in the old town portion of Bandon, Oregon has, among other accomodations, a large private room with a queen bed and shower set well back from the street which was spotless--the bathroom floor glowed bright. The bed was comfortable and the hostel accomodation at $39 was several times less expensive and accomodating than several adjacent motels which appeared musty and worn. There also is a large Queen bed room with bath on the 2nd street front side of the guest house--the old town is very quiet at night--which looked lovely. Kitchen and coffee-making facilities are available for guests. Across the street there are several outdoors fish and chip seafood places at the wharf that are reasonable and finger licking good, and within 2 blocks there are more traditional restaurants. The bar/restaurant on the street behind provided tasty breakfeast specials. Fish and chips hit the spot, and a 3 mile drive to the lighthouse beacon at sunset to watch the contrasting light as it hit the shore and nearby buildings was worth the price of admission alone.

6  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Midland, MI
242
Reviewed 27 May 2003

My husband and I had reservations at the Sea Star Guesthouse. When we arrived, we found the room (for which they wanted $105 a night) lacking in not only warmth, but cleanliness. There were cobwebs hanging from the skylight; the "beautiful" window view to the harbor was so filthy you could barely see through it; the recliner in the livingroom was broken; the area around the bathroom sink was gritty, etc. If you chose to sit out on the deck, you had a close up view of the neighbors old pick-up truck and the garbage collection site. We decided not to stay and when we tried to explain why we were going to be lodging somewhere else the owner became sarcastic, nasty and downright rude. He ended up calling my husband a name before we left. We were not refunded our full money even though we left within 90 minutes of arriving. I would NEVER recommend this place!!

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seastarbandon, Manager at Sea Star Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2006

The Sea Star Guesthouse is under new management since this incident occurred. We maintain a strict code of cleanliness and professionalism. We will do all we can to help you enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 March 2002

While honeymooning in Oregon, my husband and I stayed at a little place called the Sea Star Guest House, located on the Southern Coast in Bandon. Located on First st. in "Old Town", it sits dirrectly across from the Harbour. Wow! What a neat place, the view is exeptional, and the people were just delightful. As a frequent visitor to Oregon, I can honestly say my stay at the Sea Star Guest House was truely memorable, as a matter of fact, I intend to relocate to Bandon in a few months! I have always loved the Oregon Coast more than anyplace in the world and look forward to making Bandon my home! The Sea Star Guest House comes highly recomended by this Las Vegan!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: stanze vista mare almeno non si ha la puzza dell'immondizia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandon hotels
1.3 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.9 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
1.1 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#7 of 12 in Bandon
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Windermere on the Beach
0.1 mi away
Inn at Old Town
Inn at Old Town
#3 of 9 in Bandon
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lamplighter Inn
Lamplighter Inn
#10 of 12 in Bandon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Guesthouse

Address: 370 1st St SE, Bandon, OR 97411-9657
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bandon
Price Range: £52 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated inside and out, this cozy waterfront motel is nestled among downtown shops and restaurants. Rooms have all new furniture, mattresses, bedding, paint and carpet, plus micro/fridge, cable TV, and Seattle's Best coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Star Guesthouse Hotel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing