We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pho I've ever had.”
Review of Pho Van

Pho Van
Ranked #85 of 390 Restaurants in Beaverton
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Soups
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Newberg, Oregon
1 review
“Best Pho I've ever had.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have eaten there several times now and I must say it is one of my favorite restaurants. The food is never disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Styler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fresh and flavorful”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My two favorite dishes are the Vermicelli Rice Noodle Soup with duck and bamboo shoots (#21 bun Mang Vit) and the Vermicelli Noodle entree with honey lemongrass pork and crispy rolls (#51 Bun Thit Cha Gio). I've tried a few other noodle soup dishes, but didn't find those as flavorful. The salad rolls appetizer is very tasty with the accompanying peanut sauce. The decor is a bit sterile and is cold and drafty if seated near the entrance doors during the winter months.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Urban_Ursine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha, OR
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I like going here because it is so much healthier than other inexpensive restaurants and the food is really good. I always get the same thing #50 lemon grass chicken. My family gets other things and it is always very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank daeges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
774 reviews
428 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Pho Van was very good for the meal but just average for their service”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Pho Van was very good for the meal but just average for service.The entrees were served promptly and hot, the ingredients were fresh and tasty.I had a yellow curry vegetable entree with yams and tofu with rice and a Vietnamese veggie mix in it.The menu has pho of course, and as well plenty of other menu selections to choose from including a few vegetarian dishes.They had teas to drink, the usual beers, and as well some interesting looking non alcoholic coconut and mango and a few other fruit thing drinks.The decor was interesting and modernish with pleasing colors and the restrooms were clean.Desserts were very tempting but I was too full, so maybe next time ?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KweqSmanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not Ordinary Vietnamese!”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Awesome food, okay service, (and affordable), Pho Van, served up a vermicelli rice noodle bowl containing catfish! Bun Ca Ha Noi (grilled catfish) came with steaming noodles, shredded & pickled daikon radish, carrot, lettuce, fried onion, bean sprouts, cucumber, and peanuts but instead of a side of Nuoc Mam (fish sauce) they served it with a special pineapple sauce. Delish, delightful, and different! I highly recommend it!

Just a note, not wonderful access for the wheelchair-bound nor persons requiring canes, or have weak hand issues due to disease or stroke. They need to move a few tables, install grab rails in the bathroom, automatic (sensing a hand wave) faucets, soap dispensers, and towel dispensers to truly welcome we who are physically-challenged and adore their food. Enough said.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTrippinTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pho Van also viewed

 

Been to Pho Van? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing