We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner with a client” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hall Street Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Hall Street Bar & Grill
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Center
Transit: Hall Street Grill is within two blocks of Portland's light rail system, gaining access from Hillsboro to the Portland airport, including downtown stops.
Yakima, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner with a client”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I invited a client to dinner and he selected the Hall Street Bar & Grill. From the moment we entered until we left the service was excellent. Our server was delightful and because one of the people in our party had specific allergies, he knew the menu well and was able to answer all of her questions.

The food was excellent, they offered several specials that night and I ordered the steak. It was cooked perfectly and melted in my mouth, loved it.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone for a special dinner or entertaining a client. The bar looked like a happening place, a lot of business people.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    55
    25
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Otis, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Five star food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I took my mom here for a mother, daughter night and all the food was absolutely amazing. We had their chefs spring special three course meal and a couple drinks each from the bar. Would go back there in a heart beat for any meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wasn't what I expected...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

I had high hopes for Hall Street given that my husband visited and said he enjoyed it his first time there. After visiting another Beaverton restaurant decarli (which is AWESOME in every way), I hoped Hall Street would impress me just as much if not more! Uhm, WRONG answer!

The restaurant reminded me of an old Steak n Ale building, dark wood, weird red ceiling! Nothing too impressive!

The menu was chock full of enticing offerings so we chose the crab dip to start. The dip was hot and flavorful paired with some appealing cocktails which had us thinking we were in for a great culinary experience that is until our entrees arrived. I got the Fiery Chicken Fettucini which was so spicy it was painful!! I LOVE spicy food but this sauce was ridiculous...it was so hot it was overwhelming. My husband had the 20 Hour Bavette Steak which was simply a strip of steak atop a bed of greens. It looked like an appetizer instead of an entree...it was THAT small of a portion! He said the steak was super tender but lacked any real flavor.

I might return to Hall Street for Happy Hour as the cocktails were good but the food was just OK...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1blkhny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The first place I eat at in Portland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Great food and cocktails. Great place to meet friends and co-workers. This place never disappoints. Probably the best steak in the Beaverton area.

Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food too exensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Lovely apnosohere, good service but the cost is a bit high. Buffet is a good deal but the food could be hotter. Drink prices are crazy high.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hall Street Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing