We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed at the Shilo Inn Suites/Hotel for a near by wedding this past weekend. We found it to be a very comfortable, clean and enjoyable destination. We had a nicely appointed rooms. The carpet and sofa as well as bedspread appeared to be new. I believe they are updating as it is not a new hotel. Ours happened to be on the river side which was beautiful as well as peaceful. They have a wonderful hot breakfast each morning. The grounds are very well cared for. We noticed a lot of families enjoying the pool and grounds. They allow pets for a small fee per stay but I didn't see or hear any so it was not a problem. We did not use the pool this time because we were away quite a bit of the time.

There are numerous shopping opportunities very close by as well as several restaurants. We also visited the city of Sisters for lunch one day. It was a lovely drive. Bend is a beautiful city in the summer. I understand the winters are great if you enjoy skiing etc.

The staff is friendly and very accommodating. We enjoyed dinner in the hotel restaurant and they also offer a happy hour menu. We had travelled 7 hours and were quite tired when we arrived so we enjoyed the latter for a quick bite.

We were there for pleasure but noticed that they had a large business area for meetings etc.

Room Tip: We were looking for a peaceful as well as a quiet area. We found the river side 400 building to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RKKubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    212
    147
    76
    47
See reviews for
196
247
36
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night with the veteran discount, you can book any available room with the vet rate, so we chose a river view executive suite with jetted tub. Nice room, big, fridge and microwave. Sink in the bathroom, sink outside the bathroom with large mirror, and a third sink by the microwave. The jetted hottub in the room near the fireplace was a nice touch, and out the window about 25 feet from our room was the Deschutes river flowing by. Not the newest facility, and not the most stylish room, but considering all we got for what I paid I could care less what the carpet & curtains look like! Only thing I didn't care for was the mirror on the ceiling directly above the hottub.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Mrkavich,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. We do offer a great rate for veterans in appreciation for your service. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you come and stay with us again.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel has many things going for it....good breakfast, great location, comfortable beds. Our room however was not clean. Crumbs and dirt on stained rug, everything dusty, no soap and other amenities. Looked like housekeeping just changed the sheets and put towels in. Front desk not as responsive to the problem as we would have hoped and it took several days to get just the carpet vacuumed. I could have made do with less breakfast and more cleanliness in the room. Probably will not return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I was somewhat skeptical about booking here after reading the reviews but decided to book two rooms for our family. We stayed in the 300 and 400 buildings on the bottom floor, river side. When we checked in, only one of the rooms was available. It was 3:30. I have to say that I have checked in to many hotels before the designated check in time without a problem but was told that check in is at 4:00 and that the second room wouldn't be available until then. The property is HUGE. The room in the 300 building had newer carpet and a great river view. Our room was clean in the 400 building with a good river view as well. It is an older hotel that could use some updating. The outdoor pool didn't have towels when we went for a swim in the evening but when we went to the indoor pool, it had plenty and a staff member was checking to make sure there were towels available. Breakfast is in the restaurant and there were plenty of food choices, hot and cold. It was a decent buffet breakfast. We didn't run into any dog poop or see any either. I am not sure whether I would stay here again or book something newer and smaller.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear kta99,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. Our property is an 8 acre property along the Deschutes River. We do have a large variety of rooms on the property and some have been updated more recently than others. We do appreciate your feedback and use it to improve our guests experience.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

While driving home after a week long trip, we decide to make an unplanned stop for the night in Bend. We had never stayed at a Shiloh Inn before and we will never again. They should not be charging competitive rates, but low budget rates. Upon checking in, there was one front desk clerk, apologetic and nice, but faced with a very long line at 8:30 PM. One customer had to wait in this line because he had only decaf coffee in his room and was then given decaf to replace it. The clerk called housekeeping for him. This seemed like a theme as she had to stop our check-in and call housekeeping numerous times for guest requests. We should have known...

We asked for the most quiet room and was given one near a staircase and four feet from a loud ice machine, directly across from our door. Guess how long the line was to change! We gave up. Besides hearing footsteps above us all night long along with footfalls from the staircase we had the never ending background din of the ice machine we could even hear with the TV on.

Room 305 with a king bed has with a nice river behind it, thats about all thats nice. The F-glass tub was very soft/spongy to stand in with a very long crack. The bath had only two medium-small bath towels and a shampoo for barely one shower, don't expect any lotion! There were no water glasses! Oh, and the coffee; one single small serving of decaf! The carpet was dark green, which could not mask the dirt and stains. We were shocked to remove the old bedspread with holes, and see a corner of a bare mattress, without a mattress pad and only an unfitted sheet that barely covered it. The toilet ran all night and there were visible stains within the grout and tile of the floor. The front door was something you would not want to touch without sterilizing your hands throughly, with grease and drip stains.

After being totally disgusted, we decided to forgo the complimentary breakfast, how could we take such a risk?

There are many better, comfortable, clean hotels in the area who charge either less or the same.

Shelby

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seastory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Seastory,

I am sorry to hear that there were a few items with your stay that were not up to Shilo standards. We do read all comments to find out what we are doing well and areas we need to improve. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bend hotels

Clovis, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

The site is really nice with lots of greenscape to wander around on, be carefull though this is a pet friendly hotel and even though dogs are not allowed down by the river, their poop is everywhere. Somebody needs to police and clean this area up a few times a day IMO. The room is large and nice, the bathrrom is pretty much a closet and you have to twist yourself around the toilet to turn on the shower as they are so close to each other. The AC woudnt turn off so we unplugged it, the night light on the porch is a horrendous addition as it stays on all night beaming its ray right into the room. The curtains do not block the light. Check in was a disater and took us over two hours waiting for a clean room while we sat there listening to people without reservation come in off the street and get the same type rooms we reserved right away. This really made me angry, they gave me a free drink coupon or 10% off dinner at their place for my troubles. I can tell you, take the drink! The dinner there is not so good and the free breakfast shouldnt even be offered, I think its the worst ive had.

Rate are high but so is everywhere else, I just think this place doesnt waarent competing rate wise with the others in town, it should deffinatly be cheaper.

Over all its a bed, was clean and close to lots to do so i give it an average rating.

Room Tip: The view of the river probably isint worth the extra 50 bucks. And the dog poop right outside the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtabur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear jtabur,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We do police the river, but being that at times it is home to 100s of geese and ducks sometimes they get ahead of us. I am sorry that your check in experience could have gone smoother I will look into what the problems might have been that night. I am surprised that the breakfast was not to your liking. We receive positive comments from people almost everyday about the breakfast buffet. I hope that if you choose to come back your experience with us will prove to be better.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

One thing I can say about Shiloh Inns, they do take care of military and veterans, with a very reduced rate. I have stayed at many Shilo Inn's as I am a disabled veteran. When I spoke to reservations, I mentioned that I was handicapped, and that I needed a ground floor room. I was assured I would have one. I was told by reservation that it would be a double queen with kitchenette, with a river view. Again, very good price.
Upon check in, I was told that my room was on the second floor. I reiterated that I was handicapped, but the front desk clerk informed me that the type of room I reserved were sold out on the first floor. What really irked me, was that when I was waiting to be helped, I could overhear the front desk person checking in a gentleman who did not have a reservation. After checking her computer, she gave him a room identical to the one I had reservations for. It was also on the ground floor. When my turn came around, I was told my room was on the second floor. I let them know I requested a ground floor, but was told they were all "sold out" of that room on the first floor. Yeah, they just gave it to the guy without reservations. So, I asked where the elevator was. NO ELEVATOR. I was just like, I'm handicapped, and made reservations for a ground floor room, had my reservation number etc... To bad. If I wanted a ground floor room, I would have to downgrade my choice of room. I was ticked. I went ahead and took the second floor room, however, it took me twenty minutes just to go the one flight of stairs. Once inside the room, it was pretty shabby. Believe it or not, they use actual room keys, not cards. My 22yo daughter had never seen an actual room key. The beds were on wheels, so be careful to check under the bed to make sure you don't leave anything behind. I went to turn on the A/C, however, it wasn't working. I called the front desk, and they said they could move me to another room, this one on the first floor. It did not have the kitchenette, but I had little choice. They offered to have the keys delivered, and help with my belongings if needed. Once in that room, again, the A/C was not working. I called the front desk, and they had to have their maintenace staff come and fix it. They did do this in a very timely manner. The bed and pillows were VERY uncomfortable. They haven't changed their mattresses for years it seemed. Room service was quick, and the food was good. All in all, a pretty shabby Shilo.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Helen G,

I am sorry to hear that you had some problems with your room choice. We do have accessible rooms in all 4 buildings on the river however none of them have kitchenettes in them. Unfortunately, we do not have elevators and some room types are only available on the second or third floors. We are always willing to help and do what we can to fix any problems that may arise. It sounds like the maintenance staff was able to repair the a/c unit quickly for you. Thank you for telling us about your stay. We will use your critique to learn from and improve our guests overall experience.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
1.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
3.2 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#16 of 43 in Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bend Riverside Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
1.7 mi away
Bend Three Sisters Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend
Address: 3105 NE O B Riley Rd, Bend, OR 97703-7523
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend is nestled on the banks of the scenic Deschutes River and is ideally located in the heart of Central Oregon with its wide variety of indoor and outdoor attractions. With 151 beautifully designed rooms, this full service hotel is ideal for the leisure and business traveler. Mt. Bachelor and public golf courses are nearby. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel Bend
Shilo Inn Bend
Bend Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing