We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent value but really dated...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Miami
Level Contributor
199 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Decent value but really dated...”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I spend 100+ nights per year in motel/hotel rooms. Honestly this was my first stay at a Shilo property in 12 years. Was like a time warp to the early 80's???

The Good Stuff:
Mid-week rate of $87.00.
The 2 front desk employees I encountered were friendly and profressional.
Property looks well cared for and even pretty on the outside.
Free hot breakfast, drink coupons and internet are much appreciated and adds to its value.

Areas of Concern:
Rooms, restaurant and lobby are EXTREMELY dated and dark. Not happy or welcoming at all.
Air/heating unit in our room was loud and had a difficult time maintaining temp.
Property uses "real" room keys. Door to room difficult to open/lock likely due to the extreme weather/seasons in Bend.
Bed, linens and pillows were cheep/of poor quality.
Breakfast was short staffed with only one person.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear about the good stuff during your stay as well as your concerns. We do truly value the critique and use it to try to improve our guest experience. I hope you will try Shilo Inns again in the future.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    214
    149
    79
    48
See reviews for
200
250
36
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Klamath Falls, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed recently for one night with my kids and father. Rooms still use a key, which was pretty old school, but kind of cool. Loved the in-room fire place and size of the room. The pool area has two spas, a steam room, and a sauna, which I would highly recommend for families. Finally, the breakfast buffet was excellent--breakfast burritos, sausage, eggs, pancakes, fruit, etc.

Great value, don't let a little wear and tear scare you away.

Room Tip: Call Shilo directly for better rates than you can get online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your nice comments about your stay with us. We do have variety of rooms. Some have been updated more recently than other. We make sure that all rooms are clean and comfortable and meet Shilo standards. I am happy that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We look forward to having you come and stay with us the next time you are in Bend.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Yes, some people write that the Shilo Inn is a little "tired" and you can find some worn spots if you look for them. But we got a large river front room, a fireplace, a jacuzzi, flat screen TV, fridge and microwave -- everything we needed for a relaxing couple of days in Bend. And it was dog-friendly so we could bring our little terrier. They also have a good fitness center, outdoor pool and a good free breakfast. For $109 a night!

I'm pretty picky and was more than satisfied.

Room Tip: We had 408. It was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank writebrain13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for staying at the Shilo Inn and taking the time to comment on your stay with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location on the Deschutes River means that 2/3 of our rooms have a river view. All of our river view rooms also have gas fireplaces. We hope to see you see you again at the Shilo Inn.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Shilo Suites has a very lovely setting, lots of trees and if you are lucky a view of the river that runs past it. The Continental breakfast has great variety, cereals, toast, yogurt, juices and even waffles, quite ample. The "buts" are the rooms are very dark, there were not enough lamps to read by. We were on the ground floor and even though there was a large window with sliding glass doors where you could sit out on a small patio, there was also a walking path for other guests to use so for the most part the curtains were kept closed. And although the beds were reasonably comfortable the pillows were the hardest I've ever slept on and I had to go out the next day to purchase a travel pillow so I could sleep. Fortunately I was traveling with a group and so we were not often in our room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a river view but on the 2nd floor not the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We do have a great location next to the Deschutes River. I will pass on your nice comment about the breakfast to our restaurant staff. I am sorry that you found the room dark and the pillows not to your liking. We do have a couple different brands of pillows. We could have brought you a few different ones to try. If there is ever anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please contact the front desk.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, id
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We were in town visiting family and chose to stay here. Overall a good stay.
Pro: pet friendly, clean rooms, drink and breakfast coupons, price per value, river is close, location.
Cons: dated room ( we were in a courtyard room)I.e. TV from 80s, mattress was not the most comfy

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I hope that you had a Merry Christmas. We have replaced the TVs in a little over half of our rooms. We have updated some of our rooms and we are working on getting the rest completed. If you have a request for a remodeled room or a room with a flat screen TV please give us a call and we will do our best to meet all of your requests.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Large suite type seating area, fireplace, game table, kitchen with bar and bar stools, bathroom/dressing area with two sinks and good counter space, comfortable bed, great shower, good water pressure, good coffee maker with excellent coffee and ample closet space. Great breakfast buffet with eggs, sausage, tortillas, fresh fruit, cold cereal, hot oatmeal, juice and excellent coffee. In our opinion it was an incredible value. Two minor drawbacks that were no problem for us: the indoor/outdoor carpet in the outside hallways was old and visibly stained and reaching the second floor required walking up the stairs. Other than these two items, everything else was well maintained and the rooms were immaculate. The staff was efficient and friendly. We would definitely stay here again because of the comfort and good value.

Room Tip: If walking up stairs is a problem, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPH360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. It is great to get your feedback about what you enjoyed and also in the areas that we can improve. We are working on having that outdoor carpeting replaced. Please come back and stay with us the next time you are in Bend.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Spent four nights at the hotel along with 25 others in our group of photographers. It was clean and comfortable although a little dated. The room was quiet and the staff very professional. The $5 cheeseburgers in the bar were good. The second night I ate in the bar more of our group was also there and the one waiter had a hard time taking orders in a timely manner and some of the food was cold when it arrived. The breakfast buffet was adequate and had a variety of items to choice from. It didn't seem like the restaurant or bar had a lot of business, at least on the nights we were there. There are other restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us. It was great to have your group staying here and using our meeting space. I am sorry that were some difficulties in the restaurant. We do have a new Restaurant Manager and Head cook in the restaurant. We look forward to you visiting us again and letting us know about the changes we have made.

Best regards,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
1.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
1.1 mi away
Bend Riverside Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 44 in Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#17 of 44 in Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bend Three Sisters Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend
Address: 3105 NE O B Riley Rd, Bend, OR 97703-7523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend is nestled on the banks of the scenic Deschutes River and is ideally located in the heart of Central Oregon with its wide variety of indoor and outdoor attractions. With 151 beautifully designed rooms, this full service hotel is ideal for the leisure and business traveler. Mt. Bachelor and public golf courses are nearby. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel Bend
Shilo Inn Bend
Bend Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing