We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mix of human and natural history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Desert Museum

High Desert Museum
Ranked #1 of 93 things to do in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The museum, set on 135 acres of pine forest, has something for everyone. Explore the nature, culture and spirit of the High Desert through fun, interactive, indoor and outdoor exhibits. Encounter live animals, interact with living history characters at the Miller Ranch, visit the 1904 sawmill. See what life was like for pioneers, enjoy Western art and an extensive Native American collection. Special programs and events for all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
314 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great mix of human and natural history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This place was great. I really enjoyed learning more about this region of the country. I thought the museum was interesting for me as an adult, but also very interactive and fun for children.

There's a discount for AAA members.

Make sure you pay the extra $3 for the Raptors show. It was amazing and well worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkalark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    279
    63
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great way to spend the day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a great way to spend a day--a wonderful mix of indoor and outdoor activities. The animal talks are excellent; we scheduled our visit around the talks and it made it that much more interesting. The kids loved the live animals while I enjoyed reading the signs and learning more. We will definitely be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great for history buffs, nature buffs and children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The museum building has great exhibits that give a good sense of life in area for native Americans, pioneers and various forms of wildlife. There's a stagecoach, Model T Ford and pre World War II fire truck. One exhibit shows how native American art, tools, clothing changed once European trade goods were introduced. Trails give sense of turn of last century life with pioneer cabin, sawmill. Also great exhibits of raptors. Small children seemed to be having such a great time we kept wishing our grandchildren were with us.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good museum, but not happy about animal housing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

There were many great exhibits at this museum. Excellent native american section. I was not very happy about the housing for most of the animals though. I realize that the animals were injured, sick or otherwise and therefore unable to be released into the wild. However, the housing for the large birds seemed extremely small as well as for the lynx. River otters probably had the best living quarters. The grounds of the museum is quiet big - so there is room to expand the animal housing. I was saddened to see such limited quarters. I did, though, enjoy the other aspects of the museum.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank luvmooses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Must see if you're in area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is one of those museums you don't expect to be great but it is. There are many different exhibits that showcase the high desert plateau from early settlers to Native Americans presented in an easily digestible manner making it consumer friendly for all ages. Add to this, there are appealing animal exhibits and ranger talks. We especially liked the otters and reptile talk. To break up the feel of a museum, there is a nice walk outside and cute little chipmunks to bring a smile to everyone's face. Nice animal sculptures are an added plus.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank worldexplorer88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High Desert Museum also viewed

 

Been to High Desert Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing