We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite CG” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Twin Lake

Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Favorite CG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great spot to camp...has everything, fishing, hiking store and restaurant...lake for swimming..kayaking, paddle boarding...you name it they have it.!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Small relaxing lake, not too crowded, everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We LOVE to run up to South Twin for the day. The lake is small enough that I can always see my kids out on their various flotation devices, and it is a relatively warm lake due to its small size. Speaking of floatation devices, bring a couple quarters to blow them up with the compressor at the store and save yourself a lot of time. Should you desire to rent a boat to fish or a paddle boat for fun that is available as well. Treats and camping needs can be found at the store as well as a restaurant.
We camped there one long weekend, while it was quite dusty (hey, its central oregon!) it was lovely being able to walk to both South Twin and Wikiup.
Shhhh, don't let too many people know :-)
NWFPass required

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
435 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Plenty of room to park. We loaded all our stuff and went across the lake and camped on the secluded side. Incredible sunrise and sunset.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LLP1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing... Bring Quarters and Visit the Fish Hatchery, Too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Hubby and I happened to be visiting family in Oregon on Free Fishing Weekend, so we took the fishing poles to South Twin Lake. According to friends, the lake has some huge trout, but that day they weren't hungry. Nobody got even a nibble...but at least we didn't pay for a temporary license. :) In retrospect, we should have rented a little boat. Not that the people in boats were catching anything, but they at least had a nice boat ride, and it was a rare Oregon day with absolutely no clouds or cold winds. In fact, some of our paler friends got sunburned. The only wildlife pictures we got were of a friendly chipmunk. The lake is big and picturesque, surrounded by trees.

The lake has everything you need to spend a day or a week. They have a boat ramp, restaurant, a store and cabins. Friends say the cabins (there are different types that range from basic to plush, with prices that range accordingly).

The store had friendly employees and a nice variety of fishing equipment and touristy stuff that was reasonably priced, so we bought some T-shirts. I wish I had bought the fish can opener, too. ;) The kids enjoyed wading in the water up to their ankles.

On our way back from Twin Lakes, we visited the South Twin Lakes fish hatchery (free entry and ample parking). It was different from the Marion Forks fish hatchery, which is not set up for visitors like the Twin Lakes hatchery. This one had a stream where fly fishing was allowed; it had educational signs about the hatchery and the trout; and it had a fish food vending machine (25 cents for a handful). The kids had an absolute blast feeding the fish, because the food made the trout go into a feeding frenzy, even partially jumping out of the water. Heck, the adults had fun feeding the fish, too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Funfinder139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
398 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“What a treasure! Loved our visit here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

The drive to the Twin Lakes was beautiful and we were so glad we were directed to the resort at South Twin Lake. We were able to buy all we needed for my husband's first attempt fishing in Central Oregon on his own and the staff at the resort store told us all we needed to know. We were even able to sit on the patio after enjoying the gorgeous lake for a nice lunch. Loved it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueEyeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Twin Lake also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to South Twin Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing