We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent but . . .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent but . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

The Oxford is perfectly situated in Bend, within a short walk to dozens of restaurants, shops, trails and Mirror Pond. The service is excellent; staff are helpful and attentive but not obsequious. (Except for one guy at the concierge desk who gave us bad directions -- twice!) Rooms are updated, comfortable and clean, some with nice views of downtown and the mountains. However, we learned to avoid the 6th floor and suite 605 which, oddly, is located directly below the fitness center. If you want to sleep in, stay on another floor! (Very well equipped fitness center by the way.) To the hotel's credit, they immediately moved us to another larger room when we realized how noisy it was.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Gmrossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    78
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
228
467
42
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Took my wife here for her birthday and we had a fantastic stay. Everyone is very nice and eager to help. Tommy greeted us as soon as we pulled up and was literally the nicest person I think I've ever met.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriswrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corte Madera CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

From the time you arrive until the time you leave, you feel welcomed and supported by this hotel's amazing staff. The restaurant is amazing, location is perfect, close to downtown and easy access to roads and highways, yet quiet as can be. Rooms are beautiful, with his and hers closets, desk area that has been designed with electronics and charging in mind, wonderful bathroom, and housekeeping service will surprise you each night with bed turn down, chocolate treat, and a doggie welcome basket and bed. Our small dog was treated like a guest. We will return and stay at this wonderful hotel again and again. The valet staff is excellent, with fast in and out service, and tips on how to get to wherever you want to go. We wondered when Jason took time off as he was readily available and always delightful. A MUST stay when in Bend. The best hotel there. We have stayed at many other hotels, and The Oxford is our favorite.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor to have closer access to ground level for our doggie outings. All of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klahaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Recently our Rotary Club chose the Oxford Hotel to host our annual Charter Night event. This year was a Murder Mystery, Academy Awards theme. What a blast! The Oxford staff was great. They were helpful, organized and very accommodating. The buffet was the best food for a group this size (90) I've ever had. The flank steak was amazing and so was EVERYTHING on the line up. I would highly recommend them for your next company event or party. Thank you Oxford for a very memorable evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
195 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel and room were absolute treats making my first visit to Bend special. Great location and decor, amenities are nice (albeit missing a pool but otherwise great exercise room). Loved the room, great furniture, fantastic bed ( so hard to get up in the morning but I had a plane to catch) even a pillow menu/concierge. Food was excellent, bathroom incredible and shower so hard to get out of. Only problem is for such a five star facility, the walls are paper thin. I heard the floor creaking above me constantly as the family in the room were moving about. Could also hear my neighbors' conversation when I really did not care to . Would give a score of 100 if not for that.

Room Tip: Try and get an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fcrane35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

It is odd that I should have this comparison, but 2 weeks prior to my stay here, I was at the Ritz Carlton in San Francisco, which is a fabulous hotel. Its so fabulous, that the Dalai Lama was staying there too! But upon walking into our room here, the first thing my partner said was, "this is so much nicer than the Ritz!".

The Oxford is in the heart of Bend, which is such a great small town, perfect for walking and exploring. I spent some time in the lobby, visiting with friends, sitting by the fire - it felt like a intimate mountain lodge. Our room was absolute heaven. First, it was HUGE! The bathroom was a spa, there was a tiny kitchen area (with a French press ready to go!) and the giant TV facing our bed was crackling with a fire, while the other in our lounge area bubbled with an aquarium. I could go on and on, but seriously, our entire stay was just gob-smackingly wonderful all the way around.

While there was no Dalai Lama here, I'm pretty sure that is he came by, this is where he'd stay.

Thanks so much, I cannot wait to come back, and we'll bring our dog to share in the decadence!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xenapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I'm an avid traveler and found The Oxford in Bend, OR the best hotel in the area by a large margin. What makes it great?...first, tasteful interior decor, modern but with local accents, facilities ( great gym with a steam room, sauna and hot tub at the 7th floor, plus a great restaurant/bar at the lower level), the staff - very high on both professionalism and friendliness and last but not least, the great location, just in the heart of the city. The hotel is very well cared for and it looks design with one thing in mind: to pamper you, from organic, super-comfy mattress , to the weather forecast delivered daily with a chocolate , from a spacious bathroom with a deep tub and a separate shower to a "pillow menu". Yes, you read it right . This was a first for me too : to hotel offer a selection of pillows just to make sure you have a restful sleep :).
Outstanding customer care, surpassing in my experience the Ritz in SF.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.5 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
1.6 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 10 NW Minnesota Avenue, Bend, OR 97703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a hip urban oasis in the middle of the great outdoors. Located in the heart of downtown, The Oxford Hotel is Bend’s only boutique hotel, with 59 stylish suites and amenities that will satisfy every whim. Come, experience a side of Bend you’ve never seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing