We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful clear, warm water, rustic cabins and a touch of pampering.”
Review of Cultus Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cultus Lake Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Bend
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We also spent a week, our first. It was hot, amid 80's to 90's. The lake is about two miles long and a 1/2 mile and is a fantastic place to swim and do water sports. Our boat measures the lake temperature as 68 in the middle and 75 degrees nearer shore. The water temperature was similar to Lake Shasta, but the water is crystal clear and deeper than you expect, several hundred feet deep at places.
There was some wind at times, calmer in the evening, night and morning generally, picking up in the afternoon. Strong wind kept us off the lake for a few hours on a couple days, but generally the wind blew the mosquitos away.
Clear nights afforded great star watching and the view onto the lake was like those you only get by hiking.
Our cabin was very rustic; two beds, two high-backed chairs, two table chairs and a table, a small bathroom with a shower.
We asked for an upgrade but, none were available, this time and not next year. Correct or not, I got the distinct impression from the reservation clerk that a visit from the reaper or evil deeds are required to improve your cabin selection. (Another guest related the story of an overly salubrious group of guests who were asked by the management not to return and that freed up the 8 cabins we rented.)
They're doing a booming business there.
We had no kitchen in our cabin and relied on coolers to keep our breakfast and lunch stuff available in our room. We did family style dinners with other guests, utilizing their kitchens, meaning we cooked dinner once during the week. A good idea.
Be sure to bring sheets, blankets, pillows, towels and your entire camp kitchen if you don't get a cabin with one and even if you do. There were ungrounded outlets in our room, with one grounded outlet in the bathroom, an we brewed coffee in the bathroom--bring your own pot.
The employees, some are family, are the biggest bonus, friendly and accommodating,
The restaurant/store allows you to pick up ice or beverages and skip cooking breakfast, lunch or early dinner. You need not bring your wallet, just put it on your tab.
Be sure to bring your entire camp kitchen if you don't get a cabin with one.
Dogs are welcome, they have several that roam the place, but you are asked to keep yours on a leash and out of the lake. It's an Alpine Lake. We were directed to visit the south end of the lake where the park ranger could not watch, should your dog wish to wander into the lake.
There is a good boat launch at the park, open all the time, and the park had 30 or forty people visit it each day. Another 30 or 40 were camped at two locations, along the far shores, west or south, accessing those sites by boat or by hiking 4 miles or so. No roads.
You are expected to clean your room before you check out, just like at Camp. We recommend your clean it when you arrive as well. We found an IPhone and a few other left-behinds from the previous guests.
All in all a relaxing time, I read three books, swam and drug the kids on the inner tube.
Next time I'll do an overnight hike and perhaps bring a sailboard.

Room Tip: You'll be lucky to get any accommodation early than two years in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TheRealMisterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent 7 nights at Cultus Lake Resort for the first time this July and I only wish we had found it sooner. It is a wonderful place to make memories that will last a lifetime, especially if you have kids. Even for our teenage girl with no friends, no wi-fi or tv, it was a great opportunity to just play, relax, and spend quality time with her. For our 10 year old boy, he was in heaven. You can feel completely safe to let your kids run free (establish rules of course with the lake right there) which gives them a great sense of freedom and independence.

This place is just an experience to be had. Dan, Sandie, Jennee, Seth, and the rest of the staff are so welcoming. They work extremely hard but treat you like guests in their home. Sandie's home cookin' is second to none. Bring some light snacks for in between meals if you want but you will be more than taken care of eating at the cafe. Plus, the milkshakes are phenomenal!

If 5-star resorts, over-priced cocktails and meals, fancy robes, swim up pool bars, wi-fi, cable, and shopping are things you need, please don't come! It was great to meet folks from all over who just want to unwind, disconnect, and spend quality time with friends and family.

Life is Good at Cultus Lake Resort!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have camped at Cultus in the campground for the last 6 or 7 years, it's fine, we've enjoyed ourselves. We have tried to eat at the resort twice after our camping trip, in the middle of summer on a busy Sunday afternoon, but the restaurant is closed, they close at 4:30. They advertise on television as if they want the business, we try to patronize them (would be fun to sit at the tables with a view of the lake) but sadly, the summer season has limited hours. I've searched for restaurant hours, but found the hours very vague. If you want to skip cooking at home after a busy camping trip at Cultus, best to take your business to Elk Lake, good food and friendly service.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank leeannmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenelliff, Owner at Cultus Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are sorry that you were unable to visit us on Sunday. We are open Monday through Saturday 8am - 7:30pm and Sundays we are open 8am to 4:30pm. We have had these same hours the last 17 years. It is a day to give our staff a few hours off to relax and enjoy all the things Cultus has to offer. We hope you and your family come back and visit us another time soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We made our annual trip to CLR to enjoy the serene setting, the cabin and views, the fishing, the food, and the hospitality of the owners and crew. If you happen to be in the area and don't stop in for food, or drink, and or lodging, shame on you till next time.

You owe it to yourself for stopping in.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake side cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

this year was another excellent time there with good water to ski on in the mornings then a breakfast in the lodge. It was usually the giant blueberry pancakes ! The boat mooring on the docks was easy and not crowded at all. We did some runs and mountain bike riding also. What a great place for a healthy vacation ! The owners, Dan & Sandy and Jenee & Seth are great people that always have time to talk with you even though it's a very busy place and they have lots to do !
I signed up for next year, needless to say...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank scott z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We make sure we stop in at the resort when camping at one of the beautiful Cascade Lakes. Sitting out on the deck watching kids play, dogs romp in the water, families enjoying a canoe paddle experience, dining on the all you an eat BBQ is like stepping back to an era lost, a simpler time.

The resort is quaint, and 100% family friendly for young and old. Whenever we talk about visiting again, it makes my husband and I smile. Can't wait to visit soon.

There's a part of me that wants to keep it quiet, so it doesn't get too crowded, but I think the word is already out. Enjoy!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SuburbanWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If you are looking for a trip to a lake then do yourself a favor and go to Cultus Lake Resort. A group of friends and I do a yearly trip, typically camping, and this year we were looking for something a bit more cozy then a tent. We found it, and not only was this our first time staying there but this will now be our every year place to go. Incredibly fun time, the lake is amazing and mooring is easy, there are rentals if you need it and the staff are so kind it reminds me of southern hospitality. The restaurant and staff there get two thumbs up. We had the breakfast buffet on Sunday more and it was great and well priced. As for the negatives, I honestly don't have any. If you are looking for a great outdoor experience you will find it here, if you are looking for a room at a major hotel chain then you will not be as happy about the stay as I was.

Room Tip: Bring your own linen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnO88O88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
10.5 mi away
Riverhouse on the Deschutes
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
9.2 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#14 of 44 in Bend
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
8.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
10.2 mi away
Bend Value Inn
Bend Value Inn
#43 of 44 in Bend
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cultus Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cultus Lake Resort

Address: Cascade Lakes Highway, Bend, OR 97709
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Bend
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Cultus Lake Hotel Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing