We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Kitchen”

The Well Traveled Fork
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Well Traveled Fork offers insightful culinary tours and cooking classes in the Central Oregon area. You can meet the farmers and ranchers that grow the food that you put on your table. The growers will show you their fields and pastures, the places that make their products so unique that you will begin to understand and appreciate what fresh, local, organic, seasonal and sustainable food is all about!Our cooking classes are the best! Chef Bette teaches children as well as the experienced cook new things to do in the kitchen. From Wood Fired Cuisine in her pizza oven paired with Bend' famous beers to French pastry or children's classes, a day in the kitchen with Chef Bette is a memorable event.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“Wonderful Kitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Informative and luxuriance teaching environment. Good value for a great cooking class. Enjoyed learning to cook pizza on stones.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarilynHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    3
    0
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Experience the Bounty of Bend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Thank you so much to Chef Bette and Aliza with The Well Traveled Fork for the fantastic Culinary and Farm tour last week! It is so much fun to take the day to live like a tourist in your own town and learn a bit more about the wonderful food purveyors and small business owners in Central OR who truly love what they do and the town they live in. Whether you are into beer, wine, vodka, organic produce, coffee, meats, or pastries or something else entirely, Chef Bette has the "in" with the people who are making it all happen in Bend. If you are a Bendite, I highly recommend these customizable tours. You will learn a little and sample a lot ;). www.thewelltraveledfork.com

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmandaLHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Culinary heaven goes on a field trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

We went to Bend for the first time wanting to have a culinary experience and contacted the Well Traveled Fork. Took the pizza class taught by Chef Bette Fraser in her magnificent kitchen. The pizzas were out of this world. We have been converted to figs! Traveled to the Blue Moon Ranch to see alpacas and the Deschutes Brewery. The Well Traveled Fork guided by Chef Bette is a must when in Bend.

Helpful?
Thank SirWinstonChurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, CA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cooking In Bend, Oregon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I was fortunate enough to be invited to attend one of Chef Bette's cooking classes while in Bend, Oregon last week. This class was on soups and stocks. We learned to make chicken and beef stock, and delicious tomato and french onion soups. This was a hands on and fun class. While learning to make these soups would have been worth the trip alone, there was a variety of unexpected surprises. One was that we learned the secret to making a fresh, delicious, simple creme fraiche. We even got to taste it - it was so much better than store-bought. As a special treat, we also nibble on a delightful olive that is sure to become my family's favorite. Chef Bette also shared some of her favorite places to acquire ingredients, like The Meodow for specialty salts.

I'll definitely be timing my visits around The Well Traveled Fork's cooking classes. If I lived in Bend I would be signed up for every class!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefBette, Owner at The Well Traveled Fork, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you, Cathy, for your thoughtful comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed the class and we certainly hope that you will return to our piece of paradise for more fun with us. Hope to see you and your family soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Sure, you could do one of the myriad activities in Central Oregon (golf, hiking, kayaking, tennis, aquatic center, etc.) or try something completely different. I would highly recommend either a farm tour or a cooking class with Well Traveled Fork. Chef Bette does a great job with class and a fair amount of fun.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefBette, Owner at The Well Traveled Fork, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. We certainly offer visitors an alternative to more traditional outdoor activities, while learning about local foods and cooking techniques at the same time. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Well Traveled Fork also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to The Well Traveled Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing