We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Easy hike for ALL!”
Review of Todd Lake

Todd Lake
Ranked #22 of 98 things to do in Bend
Attraction details
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An Easy hike for ALL!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Go past Mt. Bachelor on Century Drive out of Bend. Turn into Todd Lake. Park. Take the trail around the lake. You can see what you are getting yourself into from the start. Easy! The best part of it all is the absolute jaw-drop view from everywhere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    28
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Black bear sighting on road!!'”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I asked an employee at local REI about favorite hiking trails and this was suggested as a short hike (2.1 miles RT). After hiking the happy Valley trail (8mi RT) near Tumalo Falls trailhead, we decided to get back on the trail for a shorter hike as the weather was sunny and the air crisp! The cascade Lakes scenic highway is lovely and allows you to take in the grandeur of Mt. Bachelor. If you would like to see one of the alpine lakes without driving the entire loop, stop at Todd Lake for lovely views of Mt Bacehlor about .5 in on the loop trAil around the lake. There as snow on the trail as we began and that turned into a marshy swampland as you approach the midway point at the meadow area. The sun melted the snow here, and you will need boots or water resistant footwear -- unless you don't mind stepping in water/ swamp like puddles for 20-30 minutes until you are back on snow trail on other side! The views of the mountain were lovely, just check weather and be sure to have footwear!
WE SAW A BLACK BEAR on the highway back towards Bend just outside the Mt Bachelor area!!! It was about 5:15 pm, and was totally unexpected and right in front of our car!! Awesome!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Experience”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

About one and a half mile hike around a mountain lake with beautiful views. Mountain meadows with wildflowers in bloom in summer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning Veiws”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My family and I took an early - morning hike on a 2 mile loop trail around Todd Lake, which turned out to be much better than we had expected, with beautiful views around every corner. not only did the hike show the lake, but also the springs that fed it. It was a well - kept trail, but my only concern was the lack of signage showing which trail was which, so be sure to bring a map!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank max m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Views that are serene and scenic”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Another great lake to visit while visiting the Bend area. Don't forget your camera because the lakes are clear enough to see the reflections of the snow capped mountains in them. The wildflowers and wildlife is abundant and the hike around the lake is peaceful and family friendly. It takes about an hour to walk around the lake and I would suggest not wearing flip flops.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank USN_Seabee_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Todd Lake also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Todd Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing