We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thousand Trails Sunriver OR, not my favorite, but still good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bend-Sunriver RV Campground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bend-Sunriver RV Campground
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thousand Trails Sunriver OR, not my favorite, but still good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We are tent campers. There are two tent areas in this Thousand Trails campground. Do not choose the one farthest from the lodge.....it's a dust bowl. They don't water the grass in this area. We enjoyed the adults-only pool, but the water was too warm. Good hot tub. The Wi-Fi is good. Bathrooms clean. The old west motif is a little silly, but kids would like it. Top quality pickle ball courts. The fairly close proximity (about a ten minute drive) to the Sunriver village is handy and a nice diversion if you enjoy some shopping and a meal out. Not my favorite TT campground.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    82
    40
    16
    15
See reviews for
129
75
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We just spent two nights here in our camp trailer with our son (6) and our small dog and had a really great time! It's a large park in both a beautiful and great location - just outside of Sunriver and near Bend. The location makes it easy to hop over to Sunriver for some shopping or a meal out - and close to the High Desert Museum and Lava Lands. The manager gave us a very warm welcome and check in was a breeze. We were able to choose our own campsite and he gave us some ideas about what each area offered. We selected one near a restroom and a large open field intended for tent campers. It happened to be empty so it made a great space for us to play catch during the day and stargaze in the evening. The hookups worked and the site was well clean and level. The restrooms were well maintainted, clean and the bulletin boards had all the scoop posted.

The store was thoughtfully stocked and the gals were friendly. There were outdoor movies on Friday and Saturday night appropriate for ages 6+. Two pools, one for adults and the other for kids was a great way to spend a couple of hours in the afternoon. The large lovely hall serves lunch and breakfast on the weekends and a non-demoniational church service on Sunday. All in all - this was a great Thousand Trails campground and I'm sure we will be going back several times.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyjoilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Beautiful campground with lots of separation between sites. Hot tub was not available due to maintenance and activities were limited due to the time of year, but can see that during the summer months there will be lots to do. Dust suppressing agent on the roads would greatly improve camping conditions. The location right off the Little Deschutes river is nice if you like fishing or kayaking. The proximity to town and outdoor activities is great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 98harleydood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way home from crater lake. I didn't realize it was a half hour away from Bend. We rented a deluxe yurt which was very nice but could have used a very good cobweb cleanout and the very creaky floors could have been fixed. We enjoyed walking around and visiting with the other campers. The little oxbow lake by the pools was cool but so overrun by algae and leaves I would be afraid to take one of the canoes out with the chance of tipping over, at least there were some kids having a blast catching tadpoles. The railing on the bridge was a little wobbly and could have used some fixing. The lodge where the wifi was had a serious swallow problem and you had to watch where you stepped. My hubby leaned on the railing on the deck and he almost fell over the edge trying to catch himself when it almost gave way. Then we went to the pool. The pools are large and the adult pool was quite warm and comfortable. The hot tub was busy so we didn't try that out. The brick edges around the pool had large chunks chipping away and the inside of the pool could used a good power spray and a new paint job. The little old town area was fun to walk around. When were getting ready to pack the car up in the morning we saw a mama doe with her little twin fawns still in spots trotting thru our campsite. That itself was worth the stay! Like I said, This place has the potential to be an awesome resort with some maintenance and a lot of elbow grease.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

After the birth of our third child, campsites without real bathroms became unthinkable. Hot runing water, nonscary showers, and walking distance entertainment make vacations so much less traumatic that we purchased a membership in these campsites. Now we have the added bonus of easily reservable dates.

Though the kids pool is *freezing*, it was still a hit with the kids when the outdoor temperature was warm enough that i would let them in. But when it really was too cold, the free minigolf with as many trys as you like was a hit with all the kids. Biking through the sites to the playgrounds, picking up produce at the weekend farmers market (it is wonderful quality!) and the proximity to great daytrips makes this a location we plan on returning to each year. The older staff members (like ken) are particularily kind. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubiskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

If you like being close to strangers when you tent camp (and you aren't a member of TT) this is your place. I reserved a tent camping site and thought I'd be camping in semi-private forested site, like most of the rest of these sites at TT near Bend. Instead, after waiting for 30 minutes to check in (we had reserved online, so I'm not sure what the hold up was) we found our site in "group camp site". There were about 16 tent sites in a dirty field. The other camp sites had nice gravel/cinder without the dirt, but this site was filthy. Good thing the showers were close and hot because we needed them to clean off all the dirt. Our neighbors didn't reserve quiet hours, and they weren't enforced. We also got the benefit of their cigarette smoke drifting across the field. The amenities of this place were nice (pool, etc) but children could only swim from 12-2 this weekend because they closed the children's pool and everyone had to swim in the "adult pool." I would not stay here. In fact, as we were checking in, a tenter was standing in line for a refund because he wasn't happy with being stuck in the group camp site.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sunny12362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We went here for two nights last weekend, with the intent of doing the tent camping. With all of the positive press about this place, I assumed that the tent camping would be nice, but I assumed wrong! The tent sites were all in one boring, open grass field, with no separation or privacy for each site at all.

We ended up paying a fair amount more for an RV spot that at least had some trees surrounding it and a little privacy. If you have an RV, a family, and will use all of the amenities, than this might be a great place for you! But if you like a little more privacy and natural setting, this is not the place. A little overpriced too I thought... and a drive from Bend...

Upside: nice activities, events, and bathrooms with showers and flushing toilets.

Room Tip: Do not camp in the tent sites... they are very open, not private, and not attractive. The RV sites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sone-a-rone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
18.1 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Bend Riverside Inn & Suites
15.6 mi away
Mount Bachelor Village Resort
12.3 mi away
WorldMark Bend - Seventh Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bend-Sunriver RV Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bend-Sunriver RV Campground

Property: Bend-Sunriver RV Campground
Address: 17480 S Century Dr, Bend, OR 97707-2534 (Formerly Thousand Trails - Bend-Sunriver)
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bend-Sunriver RV Campground 1.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bend-Sunriver RV Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing