We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun for the whole family!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lava River Cave

Lava River Cave
Ranked #8 of 93 things to do in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great fun for the whole family!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My kids have always enjoyed exploring the caves, every time we are in the Bend area they look forward to a bit of time exploring there. Its definitely worth the time to take a walk through.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank griffids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    116
    33
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bring flashlights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Went to cave, but didn't have flashlights. Rented coleman gas lantern, wasn't very helpful. With the lantern you could just see where to put your feed, couldn't see the cave or anything around you. The beginning of cave is damp and slippery, have to be sure footed. Want to go back with a couple of flashlights.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ilceqd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for the Whole Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We decided to try this hike while celebrating our anniversary. We really missed taking our kids along! They would've really loved it too. The hardest part was some rocky terrain going in, but other than that, it's a fairly flat, albeit cold and dark to the end. It took us 1.5 hrs to complete. Bring flashlights or rent a lantern. Bring coats or sweatshirts, even if it's 100 degrees outside. I wouldn't have minded a pair of gloves as well. Look forward to going back with the whole family next time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Enat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Very Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are visiting Bend and you have never been in a lava cave, this is a must! You should probably go to the Lava Lands Visitor Center first (where Lava Butte is located) and get a good overall introduction to the area. They even have a short film on how lava tubes form. Lava River Cave is a great experience. It is just under a mile to get to the end. Do not stop until you get to the end so you can say you did the whole thing. Take note of the changing walls, floor and ceiling along the way. It is about 47 degrees and light gloves do make the journey much more comfortable if you tend to have cold hands. Make sure you rent a lantern. Some people brought the head lamps you wear on your head and I think those work well too. The I-Phone flashlights are not strong enough!! It takes less than 2 hours to do this if you go slowly. Take your time and enjoy it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tapps
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cold and Dark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Anyone that decides to go into a cave should expect it to be cold and dark. We stopped here while vacationing. We didn't have any flashlights with us and so rented a lantern. As you enter you immediately feel the temperature drop. The lantern gave us enough light to see where we were going, but we weren't able to see much of the cave.
If you go here, bring your own flashlights or headlamps and dress warm.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nwfireguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lava River Cave also viewed

 

Been to Lava River Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing