We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was advertised. Very disappointed.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Bend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I spent one night in the "Historic Cottage." We had the expectation that it was located on the property, but found out (once there) that it was actually located five blocks away in what would be generously described as a "marginal" neighborhood. We expected a Victorian or Craftsman style bungalow, but were met with a T1-11 sided chattel house.

To be fair, the yard was meticulously landscaped and the house was freshly painted. The sitting room and bedroom were tiny, but the bathroom was quite nice. However, the queen bed bounced and squeaked terribly.

The most disturbing concern was security. The front and back doors had single pane glass which could easily be broken, giving direct access to the deadbolt, allowing the door to be quickly opened. The rear porch light was also not functional, which created increased anxiety. My wife was so disturbed by this, considering the neighborhood, that we actually moved furniture in front of both doors. Needless to say, she did not sleep well.

We were hopeful that the breakfast would at least make up for our disappointing night and drove over to the main house anticipating a great meal. Unfortunately, what we found was again bothersome. The buffet lacked both dishes and food. We went to the kitchen to find out what was going on and were informed that " I've been here since 7:30 and the boss did not show up. I'm doing the best I can." Which was probably true, however, that type of service is not what we expect when paying $130.00 for one night. We were told by another guest the she and her daughter had been waiting for more than an hour and still had not received food.


We left the Mill Inn and found breakfast at "Sidelines" in old town.

All in all, a very disappointing experience and one we will not repeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

Comfortable room, fabulous breakfast and a down-to-earth, very accommodating innkeeper made our stay special. Even though it is at a busy intersection, road noise wasn't a problem as we were given Room 9 in the back away from the road. Great value! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We loved the themed rooms. The whole atmosphere is relaxing and provided for a very good stay. We plan to stay here every time we are in Bend. The breakfast was different than what we make at home and was very good - though they'll make a more traditional dish if you ask. Kind of want to go back just for the sake of staying here.

Room Tip: There seems to be only one room on the first floor and there are a few steps to get to it. So if st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mill Inn B&B last week for one night. I loved that they had a self check-inn. We arrived late at night and I was glad it did not matter what time we got in. It took us 20 minutes to find the Inn because we entered town from a different direction then was on the website and the streets in Bend are one way and they don't go through all the way. The house was charming and they had a great parking lot. Our room was the Seattle Room on first floor next to the front door. The room was cozy and the bathroom was big and remodeled to the style of the house. Directions about the house were left on the bed. This enabled you to feel right at home and help yourself. We grabbed a few extra towels and enjoyed the spa in the back patio. It was great after a long drive. David made the best waffles for breakfast I have ever had. They had fresh cinnamon & whip cream on them. He was very friendly and asked if we wanted eggs made to order also. He had fresh fruit , toast, and lots of other breakfast food to help yourself. David was very friendly and made you feel relaxed and at home. He also helped us with directions to where we were going for the day. I would stay here again. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Seattle Room is on the first floor next to the front door. The house is on a corner of a somewh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at this Inn August 16th, on our trip from the west coast to the east. The self check-in procedure was simple. We stayed in the Seattle Suite which, like the rest of the inn, was a treat for the eye. Details, colours...everything was perfect. We chatted a bit with our host, David, who presented us with a feast of a breakfast. Most of the main floor is the guest lounge and dining area which is scattered with bistro tables and chairs. Everywhere you looked there was something to see and the food was some of the best I've ever had at a bed and breakfast. It was nice to read about the woman who bought and renovated this property and her contribution to the city. Stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Seattle Suite, though located on the main floor is quiet and funky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canajungirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at Mill Inn. It is a great location close to both downtown and the Mill District. I second that David is the best. He offers great customer service that is laid-back and flexible. He is also friendly without being in your face but iis quick to offer help and assistance if asked. The common area is great allowing for socializing or just relaxing on the comfortable sofa and reading a book. The breakfast was very, very good. 2 kinds of quiche, bacon, sausage, potatoes, greek yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, eggs made to order, and the best part both beautifully presented and delicious belgian waffles. Such a good value too, very reasonably priced, especially for what you get. We will go back!

Room Tip: We had the "Seattle Room" with bathroom ensuite downstairs...great because close to the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

David, the guy who runs Mill Inn, is the best! He is a low-key, unassuming, quiet person, whose quality speaks for itself, without pretense. Trained as a chef, his cooking is superb, and the breakfast was sumptuous. He is quite flexible and tried to accommodate us in every way. He had good advice about the community and activities, and let us use his laundry washer and dryer at no charge. On our last night at Mill Inn, we found out at about 4 pm that a big snowstorm was coming and that it was likely the mountain pass to Portland would be closed the next day. Friends encouraged us to leave right away, that afternoon, even though we had already paid for the night at Mill Inn. David insisted that he reimburse us for that night’s stay (eventually, I bargained him up, insisting that I pay for at least half of the night’s bill). He then went into the kitchen and quickly baked a large batch of raspberry scones for us to take with us, in case we got hungry or even stranded on the road.

The best deal at the Mill Inn is the “backpacker room” in the basement. Originally intended as a hostel-type of room with single beds that are rented at very low rates to separate individuals, David pushed the beds together to make it a double for my wife and me, and our daughter—at no extra expense—slept on the sofa-bed.

The location is very convenient—not noisy, but close to downtown Bend, where there is a variety of creative breweries, and the Deschutes River, which is a wonderful place to go tubing in the summer.

I thoroughly recommend Mill Inn.

Room Tip: Ask about the Backpacker Suite in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.4 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
0.9 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#14 of 44 in Bend
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
0.4 mi away
Lara House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 642 NW Colorado Ave, Bend, OR 97703-3218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bend
Price Range: £44 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Inn is a 10-room boutique hotel perfectly located within easy walking and driving distance to all that Bend has to offer. Each room is artfully designed and can sleep up to two people, or families and groups of up to 20 can book all rooms for an intimate and memorable stay. We serve up a gourmet breakfast each morning for an amazing start to the day, and provide a spa on the back deck for a relaxing finish. We offer our guests - whether tourists or business travellers - a truly unique experience to enjoy while visiting Bend. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Bend
Mill Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing