We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Bend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
loughborough
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Be careful”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

After looking at the website we were expecting unusual, but what we weren't expecting was a very dirty kitchen. We went into the kitchen (it says you can ) looking for the hot water tap by the sink what we saw upset us so much we decided not to risk eating breakfast there. It was such a pity because previous tripadvisor reviews all talk about the amazing breakfasts. What a pity because the rest of the hotel was immaculate, so check the kitchen out!!.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    52
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
129
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed for one night in June 2012 and were simply blown away but just how lovely the innkeeper was. Not only did he cook the most amazing breakfast, he also insisted we take lots of it away for a picknick later that day. We hadn't come across anyone so service-oriented, flexible and friendly in a long while.

Having told him that I am a very light sleeper, he even put us into a quieter room specially. I am not sure what the noise levels would have been like if the inn had been fully occupied, but as it was, we slept really well.

A great experience all round - thank you for having us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hierslein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I've stayed here twice. There is no staff, really. You're kind of on your own, which I really like. It's a B and B, so you can get to know the other guests, if you like. The breakfast is great, but what really put's the whole experience over the top are the home made Belgian waffles. The service is a bit informal, but again, that is, in this case, a really nice, relaxing addition. If I could change anything, it would be to sound proof the rooms a little better. You can hear the other guest talking out in the breakfast room. Otherwise, this is a perfect little place and I will stay here again.

Room Tip: get one with a bathroom if you are past a certain age.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euro13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This was an odd little place. It is centrally located but there was not very good communication. If we hadn't run into the gal who cleans the rooms, we would not have gotten in at all. There was a door code, and she is the one who gave it to us. The breakfast was really very good, and the room was nice, but still could use some help.

Room Tip: near to downtown, but a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dd2chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I spent one night in the "Historic Cottage." We had the expectation that it was located on the property, but found out (once there) that it was actually located five blocks away in what would be generously described as a "marginal" neighborhood. We expected a Victorian or Craftsman style bungalow, but were met with a T1-11 sided chattel house.

To be fair, the yard was meticulously landscaped and the house was freshly painted. The sitting room and bedroom were tiny, but the bathroom was quite nice. However, the queen bed bounced and squeaked terribly.

The most disturbing concern was security. The front and back doors had single pane glass which could easily be broken, giving direct access to the deadbolt, allowing the door to be quickly opened. The rear porch light was also not functional, which created increased anxiety. My wife was so disturbed by this, considering the neighborhood, that we actually moved furniture in front of both doors. Needless to say, she did not sleep well.

We were hopeful that the breakfast would at least make up for our disappointing night and drove over to the main house anticipating a great meal. Unfortunately, what we found was again bothersome. The buffet lacked both dishes and food. We went to the kitchen to find out what was going on and were informed that " I've been here since 7:30 and the boss did not show up. I'm doing the best I can." Which was probably true, however, that type of service is not what we expect when paying $130.00 for one night. We were told by another guest the she and her daughter had been waiting for more than an hour and still had not received food.


We left the Mill Inn and found breakfast at "Sidelines" in old town.

All in all, a very disappointing experience and one we will not repeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, New York
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Comfortable room, fabulous breakfast and a down-to-earth, very accommodating innkeeper made our stay special. Even though it is at a busy intersection, road noise wasn't a problem as we were given Room 9 in the back away from the road. Great value! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We loved the themed rooms. The whole atmosphere is relaxing and provided for a very good stay. We plan to stay here every time we are in Bend. The breakfast was different than what we make at home and was very good - though they'll make a more traditional dish if you ask. Kind of want to go back just for the sake of staying here.

Room Tip: There seems to be only one room on the first floor and there are a few steps to get to it. So if st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.4 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,148 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
0.6 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
0.7 mi away
Bend Three Sisters Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mill Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 642 NW Colorado Ave, Bend, OR 97703-3218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Inn is a 10-room boutique hotel perfectly located within easy walking and driving distance to all that Bend has to offer. Each room is artfully designed and can sleep up to two people, or families and groups of up to 20 can book all rooms for an intimate and memorable stay. We serve up a gourmet breakfast each morning for an amazing start to the day, and provide a spa on the back deck for a relaxing finish. We offer our guests - whether tourists or business travellers - a truly unique experience to enjoy while visiting Bend. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill Inn b&b
Mill Hotel Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing