We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great People”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Bend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Great People”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We came to Bend without much planning and a quick internet search pulled up the Mill Inn with an affordable price and a location close to things downtown.

Booking online was easy, after hours access was provided and everything was as promised - clean, comfortable and very inviting. There was a hot tub and fire pit area which I was disappointed not to have the chance to enjoy as we were only passing through.

Breakfast in the morning is definitely the highlight - as much awesome home cooked food as you can eat - some delicious biscuits/scones, quiche, bacon, fruits, cereals and even gluten free options if you ask a day or so ahead.

Zane, the proprietor was a really nice guy - gave us some tips of things to do around town and we had entertaining conversation with him through out breakfast as he came around checking if things were to our satisfaction. during the conversation I also found he is a MTB guide and I am looking forward to coming back with some friends and having him take us out on the trails around Bend.

oh and the last thing - the cool little coffee shop across the road makes fantastic coffee with beans from Stumptown roasters in Portland.

Room Tip: The Mt Bachelor Room is on the front near the road, but was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinMeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    50
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
126
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I decided at the last minute to go to Bend for a quick getaway (we live on the coast). After reading online reviews, we settled on the Mill Inn BNB.

We were blown away! The location was perfect (we walked to McMenamins) and a couple minute drive to the Riverbend park where you can Stand Up Paddle in the Deschutes River.

The bnb itself was wonderful. The decorations were quirky meets classy. Every room and breakfast table had a chandelier.

The jacuzzi out on the back patio was hot and ready to go. We were worried we would have to compete with other couples, but had the whole patio to ourselves for quite a while.

The breakfast was to DIE for. So much delicious. We felt like we were eating like royalty. The breakfast room (most of the downstairs) is set up with lots of smaller tables so you don't have to sit with people you don't know (if you don't want to).

When we made our reservations (only a couple of days before our trip), we indicated that we had some food allergies. They made both gluten free and dairy free quiche options, as well as dairy free scones. We had plenty to eat, and they didn't make it weird at all. (if you have food allergies, you know what I mean by weird). When we checked out, they gave us more coffee in to-go cups and a little bag to take scones as well.

We plan to return to Bend for getaways in the future, and will definitely stay at the Mill Inn bnb.

Our only negative was that we normally sleep on a comforpedic (memory foam) mattress, and the mattress in our room here was an older style spring mattress...which made our sleep sub par. If they updated their mattresses, it would be unbeatable!

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Francisco Room (room 7). I recommend staying in one of the rooms that has it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellymcguffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
966 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We needed something central and fun as we looked around Bend for rental housing (pretty non existent!). This place fit the bill, really central to the Old Mill District and downtown with good access and good parking.

Décor was whimsical and fun. Great bed and pillows. And the breakfast was truly amazing. David is the do everything manager/cook and so on. And he offers about three kinds of amazing quiche plus eggs made to your order, fresh fruit, great coffee and tea and on and on. They said it was a 7-course breakfast and it was at least that. Hard to move after that!

He and the owner were also great founts of information on the area as we explored. Nice little fire going out back at night. Quiet even in the middle of a couple of busy streets.

Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just stayed in Bend at the Mill Inn for 3 nights, as we explored the town. We were very pleasantly surprised and felt that this place was a great value for the price, even considering our two little cons.

Pros -

David, the manager, is a fantastic cook. Breakfast every morning is an amazing spread, and even though we were the only people in the whole place on Tuesday night, Wednesday morning we woke up to the same awesome buffet. Quiches, burritos, ham, bacon, eggs to order, the most delicious belgian waffle that was perfectly crispy, scones, toasts, breads, greek yogurt and granola, fruit, etc. AMAZE-balls. Oh, and really good coffee.

Rooms are small but very nicely appointed, and very clean. Bathrooms are tastefully tiled in white and just really cute, with memory foam mats and fluffy white towels. Even the shared bathroom in the hallway is really nice - we are squeamish about sharing but honestly after seeing it in person, we would do that next time, since it's a little cheaper and the bathrooms are just so clean and luxurious!

The owner, Zane, and the manager, David, are both helpful and accommodating. We thought we'd have to stay an extra day and Zane blocked it off for us just in case. David helped out with recommendations on places to eat around town, neighborhoods, etc. The morning we left, they offered to pack us food for the road, and got us to-go cups for coffee.

LOCATION - you can't beat the location. You can walk to the Old Mill District, Mirror Pond and Drake Park, and the whole downtown area, which has a good mix of cheap places and high-end places to eat and shop at. The road the Mill Inn is located on is the one that takes you straight to Mt. Bachelor, only a 15-20 minute drive.

Amenities - basement with foozball, laundry, and a hang out area, and a backyard with a hot tub, fire pit, and hang out "tent" area. FREE WIFI!

Cons -

You can totally hear your neighbors, so on a crowded weekend be prepared to party.

My BF and I are used to sleeping on a memory foam mattress, so we annoyed each other with our tossing and turning on the regular spring mattress.

Room Tip: I would call and ask for the rooms at the front of the Inn for the quietest spot, or the River Wild...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy5926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The owner and caretaker were very humble and friendly. Making sure all was taken care off and anything requested was granted. Food allergies not a problem here. They will make a wonderful breakfast according to your dietary needs and its delicious. This bed and breakfast is a perfect walking distance into downtown.i enjoyed my stay here very much. Its very cozy and comfortable a historic house with a modern zing!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland,or
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

What a great find! Upon arrival you let yourself in to the building via a door code provided to you. Your room key is in your room. Just make yourself at home. We walked to the corner grocery and got a bottle of wine and some cheese, sat at a lovely antique table in the dining room and enjoyed the quiet ambiance. At 3pm we were the only ones there. This boutique hotel is cute, clean and well appointed., In your room and in the bathrooms, you will find everything you would expect in a 5 star hotel. Lovely antiques and decorations throughout. Nice patios with gas fireplaces and a clean hot tub with privacy. Breakfast to die for! Amazing gourmet quiches, Belgian waffles, fruits, homemade local jams, fresh baked cranberry scones all handmade by one of the owners and chef David. He and Zane were very attentive and informative. For a unique and relaxing B&B, this is the place..

Room Tip: Two rooms on the south side may be noisier from street. Suites with bathrooms were very nice. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a place to retreat. We had a wonderful time. The owners were friendly, welcoming, and made us feel at home. We would love to come back soon! #10 The King Room was perfect. It had a private bathroom and was close to the spa!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.4 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
0.3 mi away
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
0.6 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mill Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 642 NW Colorado Ave, Bend, OR 97703-3218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Inn is a 10-room boutique hotel perfectly located within easy walking and driving distance to all that Bend has to offer. Each room is artfully designed and can sleep up to two people, or families and groups of up to 20 can book all rooms for an intimate and memorable stay. We serve up a gourmet breakfast each morning for an amazing start to the day, and provide a spa on the back deck for a relaxing finish. We offer our guests - whether tourists or business travellers - a truly unique experience to enjoy while visiting Bend. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Bend
Mill Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing