We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional Stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed for 4 nights as a homebase for trips to Crater Lake and The Painted Hills.. Fantastic location, excellent housekeeping staff, super friendly desk staff in lobby, room was totally quiet even on the weekend, 24/7 access to pool/spa/exercise room, 24/7 cookies/coffee/lemon water, not overly solicitous, fantastic!. Location cannot be beat, room overlooking the Deschutes River, tons of shops and restaurants and movies to walk to in minutes. Hotel is new so super clean, bed is really comfortable. I have two minor things I felt were lacking: 1- a makeup mirror and 2-an onscreen tv guide. Otherwise everything is superb!

Room Tip: Get a balcony room overlooking the river on a high floor,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyJudeOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bend, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Im am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Bend and how much our staff made you feel welcome. I look forward to your return as our guest once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    206
    55
    22
    8
See reviews for
211
326
31
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Sadly, after many years of repeat pilgrimage to this hotel in Bend, I find myself looking for a new "go-to" hotel when in the area. Not because the hotel has become bad, or gone down hill...it hasn't. But rather, due to its new pricing under the new franchise name of HGI.

It's not that the new pricing is out-of-the-world ridiculous....I've spent much more in certain cities across the US, and internationally. But everything is relative. And relative to the previous pricing (just last year, and all of the previous years) under the old franchise name of Ameritell Inn, I find the 45% price increase a tad on the high side. Not to mention a tad on the high side for an HGI.....by more than double.

And this becomes especially true when you consider that (1) it is the same property it was a year ago under the previous name....nice then, nice now, but NOT 45% nicer. (2) same hotel owner, which for some reason adds to my annoyance of the price increase and makes me use the phrase 'gouge'. (3) internet access is now an added on fee, whereas it used to be complimentary. (4) Breakfast now an added on fee, whereas it used to be complimentary.

So there you have it. Huge price increase, along with the removal of several complimentary items that really added to the previous franchise's value. No Mas HGI of Bend, No Mas.

You know, sometimes making a change, in the name of "principal", is stupid. Perhaps I'll regret my decision to no longer come here. On the other hand, maybe standing up for what I believe in, and taking action against price gouging, is a good thing. Especially when there happens to be another hotel establishment in Bend (I won't list the name here, so as not to have my review prohibited) that is newer, rated 4 star, a national award winner, offers free internet, and happens to actually boast a lower price tag. Hmmm....yeah, I think I'll be OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reddyrider2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We usually stay at the Hilton Garden Inn when visiting Bend. We stayed for 3 nights this time (May 2013). Everything was fine as usual except for the cleaning staff. We walked out of our room (early morning) on our second day there....saw a cleaning maid and asked her to clean our room since we were on our way out for a few hours. Came back at 4:30pm and the room was still not cleaned or serviced. Come to find out, the maid did not understand my instructions that it was O.K. to clean our room (she was of spanish decent). Apparently she did not understand plain ENGLISH!!!!

We had dinner at the hotel each night and the chef is excellent. His name if Mitch....make sure he is working during your visit...he will cook you an excellent meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elbjun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bend, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for your positive comments and feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Bend. We love to hear when everything was perfect as well as where and what areas we can improve upon from our guest’s perspective. I do apologize for the miscommunication and/or misunderstanding with our housekeeping staff, please always feel free to contact the front desk and they ensure your request is properly communicated. We pride ourselves in offering the highest level of comfort and service to each and every one of our guests and look forward to having you stay with us once again on your next trip to Beautiful Bend!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Called to reserve a room for my husband who has completed 2 tours of Iraq and was being sent to Bend for military training. I asked if they had a government rate and was told it was $199 per night! It seems that government employees get to pay more to stay. Seriously...this was one of the most expensive hotel rooms in Bend. Needless to say, we opted for a room at the Riverhouse -- government rate $89.00

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ponygirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bend, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
I would first like to personally thank your husband for all he has done and continues to do to serve our country and you as a military spouse. We do offer the Government rate on our standard rooms based on availability however the dates your husband needed we only had a few of our deluxe and suites available but unfortunately the government rate does not apply. I do apologize we did not have the availability for the dates you needed. On your next trip to Bend I would be honored to meet and thank your husband in person. Please feel free to contact myself personally in regards to booking a room with us here at the Hilton.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2013

From start to end, my stay at Hilton Garden Inn in Bend, OR was absolutely amazing!!! I arrived and walked into the beautiful lobby with the fire going and met Kelly at the front desk for check in. I cannot say enough great things about Kelly, she was extremely welcoming, professional, courteous and helpful. I inquired about an upgrade from the basic room and she gave me a room with a great view and balcony!!! We were chatting and I asked her about good places to eat, she recommended the restaurant in the hotel, and I told her I was thinking about going to the Deschutes Brewery pub because I liked there beer. She told me that it was nice but a little touristy and to try out Brother Jon's Alehouse. She told me they had amazing food and beer there. So I took her up on her recommendation, and I couldn't have been happier. The restaurant outdid any expectations, and I have to say that I had the best service ever by our waitress Johnny. Kelly definitely made my stay a memory for a lifetime and making me to want to come back soon!!!

When I came back from dinner and drinks I was greeted by Danielle who was very kind and sweet. She told me all about the pool and hot tub and how it was open all night!!!! I was thrilled to be able to go in the hot tub and have the heat soak into my back after the long day I had. After I was done she asked how everything was and gave me a water bottle. Her customer service was fantastic.

The room was incredible, very spacious and clean with a beautiful view. I slept like a rock and was never bothered by anything.

I woke up the next morning well rested and was getting dressed and had noticed that my shirt had some lint on it. So I called down to the front desk and spoke to Cindy, who kindly offered me the lint roller that was in the office downstairs. I went to retrieve the lint roller and was once again greeted with a warm welcoming smile and good morning with the lint roller sitting on the counter for me. I thanked her and went back upstairs to clean my shirt. I returned the lint roller upon check out and was surprised how extremely simple and quick it was. Cindy asked how everything was, and I told her absolutely fantastic!!!

I have to say it has been a long time since I have received such amazing customer service!!! The hotel stay made my visit one of a kind, and opened my eyes up to the great community of Bend, OR. The hotel was lovely, but the employees made it exceptional!!! I want to personally thank Kelly, Danielle, and Cindy for their outstanding service and they deserve to be recognized for it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bend, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for your positive review. It’s wonderful to hear that our staff had made you feel welcome and comfortable! We pride ourselves on having wonderful staff that is empowered to take care of our guests in whatever way necessary. We look forward to having you as our guest on your next trip to Beautiful Bend and providing you with outstanding service once again!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right next to the Old Mill district. It is all very clean and new. You can walk to shopping and restaurants. The lobby is nice and the room was very comfortable. We paid a little more for the river view. Wish we would have been there longer to enjoy. They also had a really neat looking indoor pool which was open 24 hours. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bend, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us and I'm happy to hear you had the chance to explore the area as well as take in the amazing views. Hope to see you on your next trip to Bend.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Amanda helped us store some stuff because we were there early and we didn't want to leave it in the car. She was great! Cookies were wonderful. Prices are not low for sure but we did have a free night so it made good economic sense for two nights. Convenient location, wonderful bed! Didn't eat there so can't comment but it looked very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bend, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your recent stay with us. I love to hear how much our guests enjoyed their stay and glad you enjoyed one of our fresh baked cookies. We look forward to having you stay with us once again on your next trip to Bend.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
0.9 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 44 in Bend
519 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
1.3 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bend

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Address: 425 SW Bluff Dr, Bend, OR 97702-1367 (Formerly Ameritel Inn Bend)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bend
#2 Business Hotel in Bend
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#3 Green Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bend 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bend is a business-friendly hotel located in Bend, close to Old Mill District, Les Schwab Amphitheater, and Deschutes Brewery. Free WiFi and parking. Nearby points of interest also include Tower Theater and Drake Park. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a fitness facility. This 3-star property has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas. This Bend property has 191 square meters of event space consisting of conference/meeting rooms. Room service is available. The hotel offers a made-to-order breakfast. Guest parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include ski storage, laundry facilities, and express check-out. 96 air-conditioned guestrooms at Hilton Garden Inn Bend feature complimentary weekday newspapers and windows that open. Accommodations offer city, river, or mountain views. Beds come with signature bedding. Accommodations include refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms feature shower/tub combinations and hair dryers. Wired high-speed and wireless Internet access is complimentary. In addition to desks, guestrooms offer free local calls (restrictions may apply). Televisions have premium cable channels. Rooms also include blackout drapes/curtains, electronic check-out, and irons/ironing boards. Guests may request hypo-allergenic bedding, extra towels/bedding, and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritel Inn Bend Hotel Bend
Ameritel Hotel Bend
Bend Ameritel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing