We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Bend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Attractive lobby, spacious rooms, convenient location, highly affordable with friendly staff. With such a generic name, I expected something with that "discount" feel, but it was anything but!
The rooms are amazingly spacious, and with your room rate you get a surprisingly extensive and tasty breakfast.
Located in the Old Mill District, the hotel is very convenient to the restaurants, shopping and entertainment of the Old Mill and a short drive to downtown bend.
Though we were not here to ski, the hotel is clearly equipped to handle skiers and their equipment.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caligal831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

Maybe it's because we'd just come from the well run and comfortable Embassy Suites downtown in Portland, but I was really disappointed with this hotel, especially after all the great reviews.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom kitchen suite. Maybe that was the problem. When we entered the room, it was super cold, so I turned up the a/c to 72 degrees. The living room area was large, but dark, cavernous and unwelcoming.

The bathroom was not conducive at all to any privacy for a group of adults even though it was a 2 bedroom suite. There is only 1 toilet/shower area, and 2 sinks. 1 of them is in the master bedroom, but 1 is right out in the middle of the living area, across from the kitchen, so if you want privacy, you're out of luck. The doors to the toilet and bathtub area are wooden sliding doors, and are very hard to open and close. The a/c vent was right over the bathroom sink area that opens to the kitchen and it leaked like crazy.

When I asked for extra towels because we'd used them to sop up the floors from the leak -- water was all over the sink and kitchen area-- I was told housekeeping would come right away. They never did. Maintenance also never showed up to check on the leak which I reported right away.

The bedrooms in the 2 room suite are extremely cramped. Think Motel 6. The walls were really thin, no privacy for a group, which might be ok for a family with small children, but not for adults. The living room and kitchen take up most of the suite. It seems like the bedrooms and the bathroom were afterthoughts. Internet did not work at all. Room seemed musty, maybe because of the leak we dealt with.

We'd planned on 2 nights at this well reviewed hotel, but we were so uncomfortable that the following morning we asked to change from the suite into 2 separate hotel rooms, but the hotel was sold out, so that wasn't an option. The lady at the front desk was not at all sympathetic to us, bordered on being rude, as if she didn't believe what we told her.

We left and spent the next night at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott, which is not as aesthetically pleasing and more modest upon first glance, but it's much more functional and comfortable, very clean, and front desk is professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I have stayed at this hotel many times, both alone and with my husband. Each time, our room has been fresh, clean and extremely comfortable. The complimentary brunch is delicious and the staff are always courteous and eager to please. Rhianna is the lovely young lady who checks us in at the front desk each time and she is a delight. Ameritel Inn in Bend is a wonderful place for couples or for families. If you stay there,
you will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregontravelOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We just returned from 3 nights at Ameritel. It had been a hard decision for us between this and the Oxford, but we finally decided to go with Ameritel based on the significant price difference and the fact that breakfast was included. We were definitely not disappointed! Like many other reviewers stated, this hotel deserves WAY more than 2.5 stars...I'd say it's a strong 3.5. I hope they are able to have this changed at some point, as had I not read the extensive reviews I probably would have never looking into it as an option. The location is perfect (many great shops and restaurants, as well as the Deschutes river right at the hotel, plus it takes only a couple of minutes to drive into downtown Bend), the room was probably the cleanest hotel room I have ever stayed in (absolutely SPOTLESS!), the staff was wonderful, the breakfast was more than ample (not just a continental...it was a full buffet, saving us about $20-30 a day had we had to go elsewhere), and the afternoon cookies were AMAZING!! Though there is not a restaurant on site, you can have food delivered to your room from some of the restaurants right in the Old Mill District (which is even better than hotel room service, when you think about it!). We are so glad we chose this hotel, and we will stay there again in a heartbeat next time we are in Bend. Thank you, Ameritel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christiewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Our stay didn't start off to well as we got to our room and realize it was not what we had reserved. We got a queen and a sofa rather than two queens. I went back to the lobby to inquire as to why and they told me that they over-booked the "2 Queen" rooms, but the sofa made out into a bed. I thought, well fine, that will be acceptable. Once I returned to the room, I opened the curtains to take in the beauty of the city only to find the view blocked by the lobby awning roof....nice.

Now the good. The Hotel was very clean, rooms spacious, the 24 hour pool access was great, lobby staff was very nice. Being next to the Mill district made is a nice and convenient location to shop and eat.. The breakfast in the morning was nice and really liked the fact that there was ample tables to accomodate everyone eating breakfast at the time. Most hotels you go to, everyone is fighting over 8 or 10 tables.

I would stay here again. I would say one of my best motel stays had it not been for the view I got.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

It was our first time in Bend. I heard about the Old Mill District from a friend, and we were right there...shopping, food, and ice cream. Fun town with lots to do, and the location was perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandDfromIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We spent two nights in Bend to see a concert and tour Bend. I just loved our hotel and was sad to leave. We had a view right over the part and where our concert was and right in old town Bend. You will love the clean, huge rooms and the bed was to die for.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcadamialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
0.9 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Springhill Suites by Marriott Bend
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#12 of 44 in Bend
485 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tetherow Lodging
Tetherow Lodging
#4 of 44 in Bend
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bend

Address: 425 SW Bluff Dr, Bend, OR 97702-1367 (Formerly Ameritel Inn Bend)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#2 Family Hotel in Bend
#2 Business Hotel in Bend
#3 Green Hotel in Bend
Price Range: £88 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bend 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bend is a business-friendly hotel located in Bend, close to Old Mill District, Les Schwab Amphitheater, and Deschutes Brewery. Free WiFi and parking. Nearby points of interest also include Tower Theater and Drake Park. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a fitness facility. This 3-star property has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas. This Bend property has 191 square meters of event space consisting of conference/meeting rooms. Room service is available. The hotel offers a made-to-order breakfast. Guest parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include ski storage, laundry facilities, and express check-out. 96 air-conditioned guestrooms at Hilton Garden Inn Bend feature complimentary weekday newspapers and windows that open. Accommodations offer city, river, or mountain views. Beds come with signature bedding. Accommodations include refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms feature shower/tub combinations and hair dryers. Wired high-speed and wireless Internet access is complimentary. In addition to desks, guestrooms offer free local calls (restrictions may apply). Televisions have premium cable channels. Rooms also include blackout drapes/curtains, electronic check-out, and irons/ironing boards. Guests may request hypo-allergenic bedding, extra towels/bedding, and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritel Inn Bend Hotel Bend
Ameritel Hotel Bend
Bend Ameritel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing