We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Hate To Write This Review....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

...because I don't want others to know about this gem. Selfish, I know, but I loved this place. If you like unusual, quirky, not overly luxurious but certainly homey and comfortable then this is your place. It is an old school that has been charmingly refurbished into a great hotel. There is a movie theater, several bars and restaurants, some outdoor patios with big fire pits and all for an extremely reasonable price. Stay here. You will be glad you did. If you need huge, marble bathrooms with tons of counter space and perfectly appointed surroundings this isn't for you. If you love campy, shabby chic, clean and fun - you'll love it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank atlantakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights and had had a great time. The room was spacious and cozy at the same time. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful when asked for suggestions about the town.this place is great for a weekend getaway; soaking pool, theater, great food/beer, and shuffleboard! The location is great as it is close to everything in Bend, making it easy to explore the town. I would certainly recommended this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thestache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Like other McMenamins Hotels, the Old St. Francis School integrates art, atmosphere, history, and whimsy into each room and throughout the property. Our room was a spacious yet cozy king suite which had the surprising addition of not one, but two claw-foot soaking tubs in the over-sized bathroom. The furnishings were lovely without being ostentatious. The hostess greeted us warmly and upgraded us to the double-tub room, even though we arrived early. Service at this hotel is excellent, from the housekeepers to the wait-staff in the restaurant and pubs. And what a nice selection of colorful pubs! We didn't visit the theater this time, but did enjoy the mosaic soaking pool, especially after a day of skiing. What a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Unfortunately I didn't have enough time here to really experience everything the hotel had to offer but I am determined to return and stay again. The rooms were great and the only minor complaint I can come up with was that it was a little dark. Given how much the hotel has going on it was surprisingly quiet, although I was at the far end of the hall which may have helped.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing service, great room! Only real complaint was there weren't enough hooks in the room to hang items in the room! Really great location as well!! Great restaurants surround area! Definitely will return for the same room next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Really fun place. Great for younger people who are there just for the good time. Maybe not the best place if you want a good nights sleep or privacy.

The room was really pretty. I can't complain about that at all. But it was chilly and our heater was really noisy.

We tried to use the soaking pool, but there were some younger people that weren't guest that stayed really late and were having a little too much fun in there. ;)

The food was very standard McMenamins. Good, but nothing to write home about.

We did enjoy watching a movie in the theater. It was nice to sit on the couches and eat

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabr1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

If you're looking for an out-of-the-ordinary hotel experience in Bend it's hard to beat McMenamins Old St. Francis School -- where the former classrooms have been turned into quaint bedrooms for guests. Also on the premises are a restaurant, brew pub, theater, and a delightful soaking pool with tile work you have to see to believe. We held my wife's 50th birthday party in one of the meeting rooms, and McMenamins catering was top-notch. When friends visit Bend and ask for a hotel recommendation, McMenamins is at the top of my list.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,208 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pine Ridge Inn
Pine Ridge Inn
#5 of 44 in Bend
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#12 of 44 in Bend
481 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tetherow Lodging
Tetherow Lodging
#4 of 44 in Bend
574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Old St. Francis School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Old St. Francis School

Address: 700 NW Bond St, Bend, OR 97703-2702
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#9 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range: £106 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Old St. Francis School 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your McMenamins Old St. Francis School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Old St. Francis School Hotel Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing