We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are looking for some fun, in an eclectic hotel, this is the place. Extremely unique and comfortable at the same time. Sign up for the passport program for even more entertainment. The service was excellent... Enjoy!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Have stayed in a couple of McMenamins before and the Old st. francis school did not disappoint. Fun and ecclectic. it is so cool to be in a space with so much of a past that is refurbished for so much future. Saw some good live music, caught a movie, drank good beer and enjoyed good pub food. So much fun. Great base for any Bend excursion. Friendly staff, great coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawnbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a great stay at this unique hotel while visiting Mt Bachelor for some spring skiing…which was fantastic by the way! We were able to walk to many cool restaurants and shops downtown, and take off on a fantastic bike ride right from the door! The rooms are large and comfortable. I love all the different outdoor spaces to enjoy a drink, the fire and great conversations with friends!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel/resturant/movie theater. Went for a weekend getaway with the boyfriend and we had an amazing time. The hotel was not too large and great sized rooms. The restaurant was delish and we got a complimentary entrée and craft beer with our reservation to the hotel. We stayed in the King suite and it was great. The location is top notch also. Would definitely go back again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZombieDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

If you have not stayed at a McMenamin's, you are in for a treat. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The entire property is thoughtfully decorated to the smallest detail. It has an eat-in (and drink-in) movie theater showing the recent movies. It has 3 pubs and an entertainment theater with live music. It delivers fresh ground coffee to your room each morning. And it is right in downtown Bend. The wait staff were all pleasant and helpful. If I had a complaint, it was that my dinner in the pub was mediocre.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

What a fun surprise this was. We found the service to be very good. The food very good from the pizza for dinner to the wonderful breakfasts. The baked goods..breads, muffins, enormous cinnamon rolls were excellent. The room was quite large and a bit funky in the decor which added to the fun. The mattresses were a bit dated and as was mentioned by others, the pillows were not very good..my neck was pretty uncomfortable. It is very quiet. The soaking pool was beautifully done and there is plenty of room. They supply robes for you to wear while walking to and from your room to get there. There is also a theater with a large screen and just down the hall is a seperate small bar to replenish your drinks while watching the movie. The seating in the theater is unlike any movie theater. There are well worn chairs and loveseats with tables and you can bring your dinner and udrinks in there to enjoy while watching the movie. The decor is fun and very different.

Location was good and was easy to get to from the highway. Just a couple of blocks from the Deschutes pub downtown and within walking distance, if you enjoy a bit of a walk, to both the Deschutes brewery and the old mill area. I wouldnt walk it at night.

Overall...fun. funky, clean, good food and homemade beer in their small brewery downstairs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostaRicaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

If you are in Bend, you must stay here.

Rooms are comfortable and clean; great cable for TV. Hotel and restaurant staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Restaurant food was delicious.

This property is definitely more geared towards adults with pubs, theater, and warm soaking pool, but I found it great for myself and young traveler.

The other family's experience was unfortunate, but my experience was different. I asked staff if pool was ok for my 3yr old at check in and was advised until 7pm.

Best for parents to ask at check in as the soaking pool is offered to the public and is meant to be meditative without kids jumping everywhere. It is understandable the hotel would have restricted hours for kids to make everyone happy.

I will always try to stay here when in Bend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCMC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
1.3 mi away
Pine Ridge Inn
Pine Ridge Inn
#5 of 44 in Bend
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
3.3 mi away
Tetherow Lodging
Tetherow Lodging
#4 of 44 in Bend
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Old St. Francis School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Old St. Francis School

Address: 700 NW Bond St, Bend, OR 97703-2702
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#9 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range: £101 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Old St. Francis School 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your McMenamins Old St. Francis School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Old St. Francis School Hotel Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing