We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baldy's Barbeque

Baldy's Barbeque
Ranked #31 of 444 Restaurants in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Real deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

True BBQ. The meal was incredible as was the service. Had the pulled pork,corn pudding. It was to die for

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    86
    32
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by our motel employee. Since my family loves BBQ we decided to give it a try. Everyone came away very satisfied. My husband is picky and he was unsure about whether to go with the ribs or a pulled beef sandwich. He was happy he got the ribs. They were tender and the BBQ was delicious. He was happy which is unusual. Normally he has regrets. I have a gluten allergy and they accommodated that too. They had a nice menu made up with a great list and listened to what I ordered correctly. The prices were decent and we would try again on future trips.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Second visit...disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Decided on a second visit to Baldy's to see for ourselves it they had improved since our first time to ten years ago. Met at the door by a friendly server, clean surroundings and plenty on the menu to please everyone. Arrived early for dinner, however; by the time we left we could hardly talk above the noisy customers. Ordered two entrees between us, Brisket & Half Rack of Ribs. We enjoyed 2 sides each, a very tiny square of cornbread, small cup of coleslaw and 1 slice of garlic bread.The chipote potato salad needed serious additions of salt & salad dressing. Both meat entrees were hardly enough to call a serving, however; they were very tender and delicious as advertised.The ribs came to about 3 oz of total meat, certainly not worth $14.00. Brisket was a bit better in value, but really????

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deepwaterblue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I was warned....kinda”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

A friend told me he thought it was over-rated. Decide to try it anyway. He was right. Food was mediocre at best and for the prices they charge it was a big disappointment. I have a feeling their advertising budget is what gets them a Best Of Bend rating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN4FORE4719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ Ribs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a Baseball Tournament this weekend. We found Baldy's on here and decided to give it a try. This is amazing BBQ restaurant! Staff is friendly and attentive. The food was outstanding, we had the ribs which we tender and juicy. I ordered a side of Mac and Cheese and it is a must try, they make it from scratch once you order it. Overall this is a 5 star family friendly restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baldy's Barbeque also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Baldy's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing