We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugarloaf Mt. Motel
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Kane, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were warmly greeted at check in and told the outdoor pool was 80°. Although our room was on the 3rd. floor and there was only one elevator, we had no long waits. We did have to go through an inside hallway to the outside to access our room...a little odd. The room was clean and comfortable; nice having a fridge and microwave. The bathroom door closed close to the toilet, something I have seen before. In-room coffee not as good as what was served in lobby, which also offered hot chocolate, cider and cappuccino. Breakfast was the same every day, a lot of carbs and sugar (muffins, bread, waffles, cereal, canned fruit). Only protein was hard cooked eggs, but that worked for me. Crowded on the weekend, and only one person replenishing items at breakfast. Nice pool. We never heard any noise in our room, however the rooms on each side were not occupied. Would most definitely stay there again! It sits back from the road, so a little tricky to get in/out and see from the road before you pass it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaMia203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    57
    37
    30
    26
See reviews for
50
56
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed overnight on the way to a camping trip. Great staff, clean room and bathroom. Room good size and Wi Fi and breakfast included. Thanks to the front desk and manager allowing me check out late to use my room for my conference call. Would stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldwatcher365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A friend and I were attending a Rocky Mountain Photography Workshop in Bend and decided to drive over the day before to photograph Smith Rock State Park outside of Terrebonne. My friend found Sugarloaf Mt. on the internet at a great price (about half as much as the designated conference hotel) so we decided to stay there.

When we checked in the receptionist was very friendly and when we got to our room we found it very spacious and clean. The next morning we went down to the breakfast room and found it very spacious and there were a variety of breakfast choices. My friend made herself a waffle and I had a biscuit with sausage gravy, yogurt, fresh fruit and juice. There were also a variety of cereals available as well as rolls, muffins, bagels and toast.

There is also a service station adjacent to the motel so you can top off your tank before going on your way.

My only criticism would be that our room, despite the fact that it had two beds, only had one bath towel, although I'm sure the front desk would give you another if you asked. The premium channel guides (HBO, etc) were also three months out of date and the vending machine was almost empty. But, to be honest, we were so tired we didn't have time to watch much TV anyway and we ate a large dinner at Black Bear Diner so weren't really hungry for snacks either.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mharrsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here on a Friday evening in between meetings/conferences/family obligations. Staff is very friendly, even giving me an extended late check out because I had to wait for a ride coming in the early afternoon.

The room was clean, quiet and large. At one time it must have been a 2 queen, but had been "down-sized" to a single queen, with a rocking/recliner and small table with 2 chairs. Lighting was a bit awkward to read in bed due to the old arrangement of lights mounted on the wall still, but with the recliner, it was no big deal. Fridge and microwave were average size and very clean. Loved looking out my East facing window at the huge tree blowing in the breeze.
The breakfast had hot handmade waffles, hot & cold cereal, fruit and the usual juices/coffee.

Trying to find dinner was a bit challenging without a car. But if your not picky Burger King is just across the street, Sonic about a block away and a convenience store in the front parking lot.

Will definitely be returning next time I'm in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room or one in the back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ovfa1vp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burns, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Budget friendly with unexpected breakfast.
Booked the room through an internet booking site, which saved me $5 from rack rate.
Does not offer AAA discount. It it had, I would've booked through the motel.
Pets are allowed in certain rooms for an additional fee.
Pool is outdoors and seasonal. No jacuzzi.
More than adequate parking, even for oversize vehicles.
Grounds were clean.
Room entrance is from exterior of building.

We stayed in a lower level handicap room. The room was very spacious. Equipped with microwave and mini fridge.
Step into tub. Shower chair was provided. Multiple rails and grab bars in tub. Plenty of room to navigate bathroom if wheelchair bound.
Generous towel supply, and bath towels were large.
Small complementary shampoo.
Heating unit kept room comfortable and operated quietly.
In room coffee.
Basic cable channels.
Room was clean with no odd odors or stains.
Bed was firm.
Extra pillows.
Linens were above average quality.

Front desk clerks for both check in and check out were friendly.
Breakfast attendant was friendly and efficient.

Breakfast in lobby was good.
Offered biscuits, gravy, waffles, cold cereal, hard cooked eggs, peach slices, bagels, toast, orange juice, coffee, tea, and milk.
Generous and clean seating area.
Food was kept warm and refilled as needed.
Large screen tv in breakfast area.

Room tip:
Request room on back side. Front side has a lot of road noise. However, back side is closer to train track. I heard the train whistle once during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonMom-of-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Its kind of funny reading all the bad reviews since this was not our experience at all. Is it a 5 star resort? No. But it is most definitely worth the Price! Room was clean and smelled like Fresh Linens, Breakfast may not have been Organic but it was definitely better than your average continental breakfast that's for sure! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful as well. we will absolutely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

the rooms smell like that cheap sickening perfume that makes you puke. Bedding is cheap and worn out. But overall rest is ok. Could be a decent place if they went organic. Dont pay more than 60. Didnt have breakfast because I dont eat motel food.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bend hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.6 mi away
Bend Inn Suites
Bend Inn Suites
#29 of 44 in Bend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Bend
Econo Lodge Bend
#30 of 44 in Bend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#20 of 44 in Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#13 of 44 in Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bend Value Inn
Bend Value Inn
#41 of 44 in Bend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bend Riverside Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarloaf Mt. Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Mt. Motel

Property: Sugarloaf Mt. Motel
Address: 62980 N Highway 97, Bend, OR 97703-5734
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugarloaf Mt. Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugarloaf Mt. Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarloaf Mt. Hotel Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing