We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A visit to Bend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Bachelor Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Bachelor Village Resort
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Stroke City NI
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A visit to Bend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We recently completed a 5-night stay at Mount Bachelor Village as a base for cross-country skiing in the adjacent mountains. In our research, we sought a self-catering option and convenience both to the city of Bend and Mount Bachelor.
After our phone booking, I was surprised to note we got a 1-bed condo and not a 2-bed option I thought we had made. As there was no company with us, it was not an issue.
I liked the low key management of the place and the resort is very quiet despite the spring break numbers visiting. The parking lot seemed to fill up over the weekend but there was no noise or crowding. The facility features an outdoor pool and hot tub and has tennis courts for the warmer seasons. We were able to stroll to the shops/streets and a nearby brew-pub in Bend.
The entire complex was immaculately maintained and really tidy. Our condo had a spectacular balcony/deck with hot-tub and view over the beautiful Deschutes river.
The condo itself was well-furnished, warm and well-maintained. There is a daily service to keep the place fresh which was a nice addition. The unit and bed/bedding were first class. An additional plus was the presence of a washer-dryer and pleasant gas-operated fireplace for the evenings.

A couple of drawbacks:
1. The units we stayed at are subdivided with 8 per building. As a consequence, there is some noise transmission from neighbours overhead and next door - not an issue when they are respectful (as in this case).
2. Our unit had a link door to the condo next door. TV sounds and conversations can be heard. Ideal if you have family groups staying and secure no doubt: it is something that should be disclosed at booking for those not comfortable with this arrangement.
3. The deck and hot-tub area are not 'private'. All decks are overlooked by neighbouring units: again, not a big deal if you are ok with that.
4. the pricing places it at the higher end of the spectrum when I compare to Sunriver Resort where an entire 2-3 bed private house can be rented for equivalent money. The latter - where I have stayed many times - is remote from the city of Bend however, if the city is part of your plans.

In all, our experience at Mt Bachelor Village resort was a very positive one, notwithstanding the comments above.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ernestBT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    52
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
98
71
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Good reviews led me to believe this stay would be better, front desk staff was courteous and check in was good, but there are shortcomings with the unit.
Location:
Excellent, on the way to Mt Bachelor and about 1 1/2 miles from restaurants, shopping and recreational equipment rentals on 14th and a bit further to the extensive offerings of the Old Mill District where you'll find shops, food and movies. The first floor unit in Ski House 1 is around the corner from check in. In a wooded setting, the grounds are peaceful. The unit's deck looks out over steeply sloping woods and feels more like being on a second floor. From here its a quick drive or short walk on a trail to the Athletic Club of Bend. You get a free pass, but essentially you're paying for that and supposedly free WiFi with a daily resort fee.
Decor:
Arrived at night and the decor made a poor first impression. Southwest Ranch style, dim lights, blah walls, cheap curtains that don't fully cover the sliding door. This one bedroom with full kitchen had everything, but it clearly did not live up to more modern decor depicted on the website. It's a good floorplan with bedroom & bath removed from the living area, but there's no way to make the vanity area private-no door. There is a chest of drawers in the bedroom, but the two closets in the unit are loaded with vac, fans, and cleaning supplies not leaving much room for luggage or clothes.

Cleanliness:
Poor. The bathroom had toilet paper on the floor behind the toilet. A first in my travels and hard to ignore! This problem alone almost makes my rating lower. Noticeable dust on wall decor and flat surfaces and candy wrapper in the groove of the sliding door.

Comfort:
Good towels, bright white and nice weight. However, the bed is rock hard and the pillows uncomfortably flat. The comforter is tired. The living room sofa and chair are comfortable, but television needs an upgrade. The set is small and old, on cable, but not using HD. Once you watch HD, there's no going back, so make your guests happy with modernization. Second floor footsteps and plumbing are a distraction, but sleep time was quiet.
Security:
I don't often mention this, but it stood out to me. The security bar for the sliding door was broken and laying on the floor. Hard to understand how housekeeping wouldn't notice when they vacuum. The unit's door has a deadbolt, but no security chain or viewer.

I recommend that you ask a lot of questions and understand what your accommodations will be. I think there are probably better choices both on the property and in nearby hotels.

Room Tip: Check for newest unit available as they are not equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
424 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

This resort is a condo place. You can rent a condo or just the bedroom of a condo, like I did for a conference there. Conference and catering there are very good for smaller (lessthan100 people) groups. There are no elevators, and all of the buildings are 2 stories. Plugging in a Cpap was super easy. Desk space is limited and the space is set up more for vacation than work. My unit had a small refrigerator, but no microwave, which is rather odd. There is no on site restaurant and restaurants are not really within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed in a huge wooden house with a full kitchen with a large fridge the size of a room, washing machine and dryer, sitting room, ensuite bathroom, flat screen TV, washing machine and dryer, cotton sheets, wifi, telephone, maid service and even a kettle - unusual in America and much-missed by Brits!
The resort is just outside Bend, which used to be a milling town for logs. The weather was glorious and on the Saturday afternoon it looked like the whole town and their dog were floating down the river in anything from an inner tube or a lilo to a board. Many were tied on to each other and most people seemed to have a beer on the go. And less than 100 years ago, it was logs, logs and more logs. Great place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jospanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker City, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

I enjoy this property for the peace, quiet and access to the river.
You get a clean, comfortable room and some amenities (like a pool).
I am happy to forego a free breakfast for such a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkrcitytravlr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed two nights in September while visiting Bend. The room was pretty spacious but didn't have much in the way of furniture. Had one desk chair and built-in desk attached to the wall. Had a corner window seat which was big enough for two adults or three children, but not very comfortable for sitting for long periods. Only other place to sit was on the bed. The bed was pretty comfortable. Flat screen TV was small (about 17-19 inches), but had lots of cable channels. Remote did not have button or menu to turn on closed captioning for the hearing impaired, but after playing around with the buttons on the side of the TV we were able to turn them, only to have them running in the middle of the screen rather than at the bottom. Grounds were very nicely maintained and the pool looked nice, but we didn't use it. The place was very quiet and we never heard noise from any of the other units, which made us feel like we had the place to ourselves. Check in and check out were very simple and quick. No problem with parking very close to our room. The numbering system of the building was confusing, so had a difficult time find our room in the dark when we checked in. Very close to our favorite breakfast restaurant, the Original Pancake House, and the Deschutes River Trail and Riverbend Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljacobsc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I booked a room for a family trip on a Thursday at 5pm for a Saturday night stay and expected a confirmation email. The email did not arrive and I called the hotel at 9pm to follow-up

Brian ("with an 'i'" as he said) took my reservation at 5pm but by 9pm had changed his story and said the reservation was actually for the prior day. The room that was available was no longer there. I asked Brian to provide the room he had charged me for earlier but he would not saying "it wasn't available" and that "he was sorry but he couldn't do anything"

Bottom line - don't stay in this hotel. They don't place a high value on customer service and treat prospective guests very poorly.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Front Office Manager at Mount Bachelor Village Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Hello Dave,

I apologize for the reservation mistake that we made and the poor service you received in your subsequent interaction with us. Our goal is that each and every guest of ours has a memorable and positive experience whether its calling in for a reservation or staying at our resort. Obviously we fell short in deliverving our goal of top notch service to you. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you on Saturday evening and trust that you had a memorable time. Please feel free to call me at the resort if you have any questions or further concerns.

Best Regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
1.5 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Ridge Inn
Pine Ridge Inn
#8 of 43 in Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.9 mi away
WorldMark Bend - Seventh Mountain Resort
2.1 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Bachelor Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Bachelor Village Resort

Property: Mount Bachelor Village Resort
Address: 19717 Mount Bachelor Dr, Bend, OR 97702-1939
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bend
#4 Family Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Bachelor Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Rentals and Overnight Accommodations, Resort Destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Bachelor Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Bachelor Village Hotel Bend
Mount Bachelor Village Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing