We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Bend, Oregon
1 review
“Thanksgiving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Wall bed very uncomfortable & my husband & I could not share it. Had to have a roll-a-way brought in which made the room wall to wall beds. snot in the room much and appreciated the fact that dogs were allowed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Joann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
While we're happy to have had you as our guest, we're disheartened to hear of those shortcomings associated with your visit--we will most certainly address these with our hospitality team. We pride ourselve on presenting each of our guests with a memorable and unparalleled stay, and we hope that you'll reach out to us again to experience the refined attentiveness to detail that's more commonly associated with our name. It was a pleasure to have hosted you, we hope to see you again, and we wish you all our best in the new year ahead. Many thanks again for your stay and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    243
    97
    65
    41
See reviews for
201
307
21
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We went skiing as a family to Mt. Bachelor. We stayed 8 nights in a family suite.The hotel staff was very friendly and competent. Thanks to Anthony who picked us up in the shuttle and made sure our room was warm. Tyler does great job at the bar. Happy hour food was yummy and perfect after a day skiing. I love the location overlooking the River. Breakfast was tasty every morning. Our spacious room was cleaned well each day. Carpet, counters, and appliances are newer. The hot tub and pool were great. I would recommend the Riverhouse to friends.

Room Tip: Stay on the River side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
It's such a pleasure to have welcomed you to our Riverhouse Hotel, and we're happy to hear that the visit was a memorable one for you and your family. We take great pride in creating an exceptional experience all around, and we'll certainly pass the praises along to Anthony, Tyler and the rest of the team on your behalf. We hope that you'll reach out to us again with your future travel needs, and we wish you all our best in the new year ahead. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem, oregon
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I just don't get all these top reviews - maybe 20 years ago. Gosh, we had lousy service at the front desk. It was like 2 people couldn't be bothered to check us in. Our room was clean and there was a nice tv but the carpet, doors and tub were just dilapadated. I understand how expensive it would be to upgrade everything but wow at least do a little at a time. Breakfast was Ok - not the fantabulous meal folks raved about but certainly good and warm (not hot) but that's to be expected of buffets. We used the indoor pool & the dehumidifier is obviously broken or in need of service. It's sad to see such a nice place age & not be taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bexnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for the candid feedback and the opportunity to improve our operation. First, let me apologies for a less than great stay, which is always our goal, and as you mentioned, is the case for most of our guests. We do have Samsung TVs with HD content in each room, and we're glad that housekeeping met the standard. We replaced the carpet in each of our rooms this past summer, and continue to work to update the property. Our Breakfast is a buffet-style offering of eggs,sausage and/or bacon, waffles,and a hot cereal, fresh fruit, toast, along with many other items. It is always disappointing to not hit the mark for every guest. Please feel free to contact me directly for a future opportunity to return, so I can insure that the visit exceeds your expectations. Thanks again.

Rocky Adrianson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This was our first visit to Bend. We chose Riverhouse because of its location along the Deschutes River and its dog-friendly policy. I wasn't sure what to expect because of some negative reviews. Riverhouse turned out to be a wonderful place to stay. The rooms have recently been updated. Our room was clean and well appointed, and the bedding (which I'm particular about) was quite nice.The hot tub was excellent, though late at night, towels can be in short supply. The pool was great, too. The staff was helpful, and they treated our dog well. I wasn't particularly impressed by the service at the restaurant, where we went for drinks by the river, and the free breakfast was terrible, but those were the only sour notes. This will be the place we'll always stay when we visit Bend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HistProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
It's such a pleasure to welcome you to our Riverhouse Hotel, and we thank you for taking the time to lend such kind feedback of your stay. In spite of your restaurant service concerns--of which we've taken note--we're thrilled to hear that your visit was a memorable one, and we look forward to hosting you again in your travels to come. There's much charm and relaxation to be had with our guest-driven services and incomparable setting, and we look forward to sharing much more of both of these with you soon. Many thanks again for being our guest and for taking the time to offer us such a thoughtful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This place has been here a long time, but it's very well-kept and has a certain resort-like charm. We had a very nice room overlooking the river. The hotel's restaurant is good. This place will be my new favorite in Bend.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the river, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITravelandEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We're so happy to have been able to host your visit to Bend, and we're glad that our site and services lent to the enjoyment of your stay. We're certainly proud to share the beauty of our natural environment with our guests, and we hope that you'll return again and again to share in our many hospitable offerings. Thanks again for your time and kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

For an impromptu visit to the Bend and Sisters area, Riverhouse is a pleasant surprise for lodging and dining. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There are nice rooms on the riverfront. The restaurant is cozy with good food and service.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mgnart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
We're so happy to have been able to host your recent stay in Bend, and we thank you for taking the time to reach out with the experience of your stay. We take immense pride our our facilities and outgoing hospitality, and we're thrilled to hear you take note of this. We'd love to share even more of our offerings with you in visits ahead, and we encourage you to reach out to our team with any of your future booking needs. Many thanks again for being our guest and for lending such a kind voice to your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was our first time staying at the Riverhouse in Bend Oregon. Our home flooded and our wonderful insurance company SAFECO INSURANCE asked us where we would like to stay in Bend while our house was being repaired. I had heard a lot of great things about the Riverhouse, so I asked to stay there. Our insurance company immediately called CRS Housing to arrange the stay (who was also prompt and wonderful). We ended up staying for approximately 6 weeks due to home repairs. The people at the front desk were always courteous. The housekeeping personnel were honest, friendly, and very good at their job. The indoor pool and spa and outdoor pool and spa were great and pools were always warm!!! We had a great 2 room suite on the river which had an amazing view!! I can hear it as I am typing now from the bedroom (we check out at noon). I can tell you one of the highlights of our stay here was the beautiful and delicious huge breakfast buffet that is served every morning in the restaurant here called The Crossings. One particular person who I would like to mention, was a gentlemen named Ramon who worked there. He was always so courteous, friendly, and always greeted my family so wonderfully!! Thank you Ramon!! It was always so peaceful eating breakfast while looking and listening to the river.

Our stay was amazing and I am sad to be leaving today. This is my thank you to the Riverhouse for making our lives a little bit better during a very difficult time! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lib o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We're so happy to have lent our Riverhouse family to your own in in this time of need, and while we're sorry for the reasoning behind it, we're thankful to have had you as our guests. It's been an absolute pleasure to be able to share our site and services with you these past weeks, and we'll most certainly pass your praises along to the team for their outgoing hospitality. We hope to see more of you soon--under kinder circumstances, of course--and we encourage you to pop in for a visit or a dinner at your next convenience. Many thanks again for your stay and kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
4.9 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
3.1 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse on the Deschutes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Property: Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Address: 3075 N. Business 97, Bend, OR 97703-7511 (Formerly The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverhouse on the Deschutes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Deschutes River runs through the property and has recently completed $10 million dollar renovation in 2016. Our spacious guest rooms and suites have river or property views. A great location with just minutes from downtown Bend. Relax in our indoor and outdoor pools and hot tub or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service. Indulge at Currents, our restaurant featuring unique Pacific Northwest cuisine and outdoor patio overlooking the Deschutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Riverhouse on the Deschutes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Resort Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing