We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting along the rushing Deschutes River”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Oswego OR
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting along the rushing Deschutes River”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Make sure to book one of the riverfront rooms that line both sides of the river -- the setting is simply gorgeous, with the river rushing by just outside your back patio. We'd recommend the second floor, so you can leave the sliding door open and listen to the river. So pleasant.

Although some parts of the property are due for an update, our room was very nicely appointed, clean and large.

We'd describe food and beverage offerings are passable, but there are plenty of options in nearby downtown Bend. The one caveat I would have is that the wireless service was weak -- which the hotel is aware of -- so if you need to be well-connected, you might want to make sure you're in an area of the property that gets a good signal.

Room Tip: Second-floor riverfront would be our recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayZee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
It's with great pleasure that we welcome you to our Riverhouse Hotel, and we thank you for taking the time to reach out with this feedback for us. As you noted, there's little comparison to the natural beauty of our property, and we're thrilled that it helped to make your visit an enjoyable and relaxing one. We're continually evaluating and performing upgrades to our site, and we certainly hope that you'll reach out the next time you're in Bend; we'd love to share even more of our services and evolution with you. All our best wishes until then, and thanks again for reaching out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    255
    109
    71
    41
See reviews for
216
330
26
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My fiancee, 8 month old son and I stayed at the Riverhouse Hotel, we were so impressed by the quietness of our room. My son is a light sleeper and any place that is new he is easily startled. The room had a living room and a separate bedroom. My son was able to sleep through the night and the fiancee was able to watch his late night movies. I was impressed with the quality of shampoo/conditioner, smells heavenly and calming.

The breakfast in the morning is worth the walk over to restaurant. The only thing that wasn't up to my standards was the bite size fruit, but I hear during the summer the fruit is more abundant.

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the river is worth the extra bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanngarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
We're so happy to have been able to afford you and your family a relaxing escape at our Riverhouse Hotel, and we thank you for this exceptional feedback of the visit. We strive to offer the very best in scenic, relaxing accommodations, so it's a thrill to hear we accomplished this so successfully with you. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon and to share even more of our incomparable offerings--as well as the freshest fruits of the season--and we hope that you'll reach out to the team again the next time you're in the area. All our best until then, and many thanks for this lovely feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at The Riverhouse as a member of the Ohio ski club group that stayed a the Riverhouse back on March 1-6. I just wanted to follow up and state how wonderful I thought the Riverhouse was. Rooms were great, clean and spacious. There is also a Convention Center on the premise which is modern and very attractive. However, I would especially like to compliment three of staff members who were our shuttle drivers to Bend during our stay. They are Blake, Natasha, and Mitch. Each was exceptional in their friendliness, and it showed how much they enjoyed working at the Riverhouse. Any company would be lucky to have one such individual, but to have 3 such wonderful people is truly amazing. If the rest of the staff at the Riverhouse is like Blake, Natasha, and Mitch, then the Riverhouse is truly a fortunately employer, and a wonderful place for any guest. I travel a lot, and though I generally don't get to meet hotel staff, I just wanted to express how amazed I was at how friendly and helpful these three people are. Thanks Riverhouse!.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swdke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We're exceedingly proud of our dedicated team, so it brings us great joy to hear your laud their praises here. It's an absolute pleasure to be able to share the charm and hospitality of our site with you, and we're so happy to hear that the team was able to make such a positive impression on your visit. We'll be sure to pass the praises along on your behalf, and we hope that you'll reach out to us again soon to share in many more memories with us. All our best until then, and many thanks again for this kind and thoughtful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much for providing excellent accommodations for our two basketball teams yet again this year. The location and accommodations work perfect for our two teams.

We enjoyed the great team breakfast and even took advantage of a team dinner which turned out to be perfect for our group.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
It's a pleasure to have hosted you and the teams, Tiffany, and we look forward to welcoming you back year after year. Please reach out in the interim if there's anything we can do to make your returning visits more enjoyable, or if you simply need an escape all your own. It's a pleasure to host you, and we can't wait to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here with the family for spring break and enjoyed our accomodations. We loved the setting, being next to the river and the gentle soothing sound of water next to our room. Very pleasant, clean and well-maintained room. Love the size of the room and bathroom, and the amenities. Kids loved the indoor pool. The buffet breakfast is much better fare than others but can be pretty predictable after a few days.. but that's not why we chose the place. I Would recommend and would likely come back and stay again next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakbay_maharlika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
It's such a pleasure to have been able to share the relaxing comforts of our site with you, and we're so happy to hear that the river and our natural environment were so memorable to your stay. We're exceedingly proud of our site and the committed hospitality of our team, and we hope to share more of them both with you in your travels ahead. All out best until then, and thanks again for this kind feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is very convenient if you are attending a convention at the Convention center.
Other than that, it doesn't stand out for anything special.
Due to the fact that the structure is huge, everything else falls into the "mass production" category.
Breakfast is ok, do not expect to make your own waffles though, or a selection of fresh pastries.
Just eggs, Sysco quality sausages and so on.
Check out is at noon. No matter if you attending the convention or not, you have to figure out a way to check out early, or leave the convention for check out....I'm a member of a world leading chain and they let me have a late check out if I'm going for business...just saying..
The structure is clean, even if a little "tired".

Room Tip: The rooms on the low 300 building are the closest (across the street) to the Convention Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlingdearest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
While we're glad to have welcomed you, we're sorry to hear that our offerings fell short of your expectation. We take great pride in our property and its surrounding views, and our team is happy to go to all lengths to ensure our guests' satisfaction. We'd welcome the opportunity to host you again should you return to the area. All our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms are clean comfortable and adequate for your stay. Staff and management excellent . Great location. Great. Shuttle to town . Very friendly bar . We felt welcome with every contact with folks who ran the resort

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank capecodsteve100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverhouseHotelMgr, Manager at Riverhouse on the Deschutes, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We're so happy to hear that our inviting team set the standard for your visit and that their outgoing hospitality set the benchmark during your stay. We're as proud of our site as we are of our team, and we certainly hope that you'll reach out in the future to share in even more of them both. All our best until then, and thanks again for this thoughtful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bend hotels
4.8 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 44 in Bend
529 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
1.6 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
1.6 mi away
Bend Three Sisters Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse on the Deschutes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Property: Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Address: 3075 N. Business 97, Bend, OR 97703-7511 (Formerly The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverhouse on the Deschutes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Deschutes River runs through the property and has recently completed $10 million dollar renovation in 2016. Our spacious guest rooms and suites have river or property views. A great location with just minutes from downtown Bend. Relax in our indoor and outdoor pools and hot tub or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service. Indulge at Currents, our restaurant featuring unique Pacific Northwest cuisine and outdoor patio overlooking the Deschutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverhouse on the Deschutes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Hotel Bend
Riverhouse Resort Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing