We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming cabin, great location!”

Review of Trail Cabin 008

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Black Butte Ranch, Central Oregon, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chris G
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, but not worth the price”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This is a little cabin that is a fine size for a couple or family with a small child, but the bed is hard and the linens are cheap. The kitchen is very small, appliances are older and utensils are enough for basic meals. The gas fireplace and hot tub are work ok but are older style and not as appealing. TVs are small. No outside trashcan available. It was clean though. Not a bad place, but not worth the $250/night we were charged.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Price for Value
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2013
Thank you for your feedback Chris, and sorry you didn't find Trail Cabin 008 to be a good value at $250 per night (New Year's holiday package rate); including 2 free lift tickets to HooDoo Ski Area, two free movie tickets to the Sisters Movie House, a free Take and Bake Pizza from the Lodge Restaurant, free wi fi service, and private hot tub. TC 8 is one bedroom plus loft cabin, and you are correct it is best suited to a couple or small family with one or two kids. Next time I'm sure we can find a bigger place for you and the family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaMacAtta...
Camas, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Trail Cabin 8 was great, but Black Butte Ranch needs improvement!!”
Reviewed 29 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I’m going to break this into 2 parts, as we had a very different experience with both…
TC 008:
Excellent reno of this small cabin. The kitchen is small w/ apt. size appliances w/ most of the items that we needed & we enjoyed the BBQ. The furniture was comfortable & we loved the extra details (like several hooks to hang your things, drawers for clothing & shelves for bathroom items). The 2nd bath has a stackable W/D that came in handy and a very small shower that would work best for kids. It’s obvious that this cabin’s price, reflects the cute style & updated amenities. They’ve provided good photos on the website, the only thing that you can’t see is how close the other trail cabins are to each other (which seemed much closer than other houses that we’ve rented at the ranch). Also, the bike path was far away & this cabin is quite a ways from the pools. There’s a shortcut to Paulina pool. But, you have to ride or walk behind some houses & across a fairway of the golf course.
The Ranch:
We rented this cabin because it was “non- pet friendly” cabin with an amazing deck. Unfortunately our deck use was limited due to the close neighbors on the left, who had their 2 big dogs running loose! One morning we opened the drapes to see their male dog urinating on our patio furniture! There’s supposed to be a leash rule @ BBR, that was being ignored! Secondly, we were very surprised & upset to have to listen to major construction down the street from us (on Glacier Lily). The loud hammering, sawing, etc.. started early in the morning, making it hard to enjoy our rental...especially the outside deck. It’s understandable that owner’s need to have work done on their home(s). However, it would make more sense not to do it during peak season, when guests are paying top dollar! Because this is a resort…we read in the literature that BBR supposedly has VERY strict construction hours and yet again, people were disobeying the rules! Our 3rd issue was with the riding stables. Besides the beautiful golf courses here…horseback riding is one of the big reasons most families come to BBR (otherwise, why not just call it “Black Butte Resort”, instead of Ranch?) There is a fairly new “private” owner of the stables… who apparently makes up his own rules as he goes along! The stable's website is very misleading & it’s vague on scheduled times, restrictions, etc. We had a hard time reaching anyone by phone or email. Once we went down to the stables, we learned that they had some unordinary restrictions, which seemed especially odd to us (we own horses & have ridden for years). It seemed that the stable owner discriminates against some riders, & even worse, we saw him totally mis-treating his horses! Very SAD but I'll leave those details out of this! We all ended up going riding at another resort that was professional, accommodating & a wonderful experience. Lastly, my family has been vacationing at BBR for 3 decades & it is a VERY special place to us. Therefore, we took valuable time from our stay to go in & sit down in the BBR Customer Service Manager’s office. After just a few minutes of talking, we learned that she was merely a college student with a summer job there. With a “deer in the headlights look” on her face… She dismissed our concerns & she stated that BBR is a community, not a resort. Maybe, they should change their name & advertising then!?! The Manager did not offer us anything other than how she would use our negative experiences as a “teaching tool” for her staff. BBR just isn’t the same place that we once knew. It’s too bad because they just opened up the beautifully, renovated Glaze Meadow Golf Course after spending tons of money! Our negative experiences led us to golf & spend our time at other resorts in the area, during our stay. Honestly, BBR really needs to use their resources to focus on the simple things like customer service, up-holding policies, competent staff and keeping guests satisfied…because happy guests will continue to bring their families back to BBR for vacation!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort inside the home
Liked least: Construction noise, loose dogs next door, & horrible customer service @ BBR
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marylhurst
Reviewed 13 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WA
Reviewed 19 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OR
Reviewed 12 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stayton
Reviewed 14 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$210
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Talk to the Manager
18556110961
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing