We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gross keep driving and don't stop!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terwilliger Hot Springs

Terwilliger Hot Springs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Water emanates from a natural rock formation to fill these six hot springs pools, with temperatures of about 105 degrees.
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gross keep driving and don't stop!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I were very excited to check out this hot spring but it was ruined by a bunch of naked, smelly, disgusting hippies and pot heads. We were so thankful we didn't bring our children with us on this trip! After talking with locals we heard this is a real problem area for drug users and idiots to party.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank SKar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“3rd visit this month!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

I love this place - super awesome rain forest setting. Crystal clear pools of steamy warm water. Although I am ashamed to admit it, part of me kinda likes soaking in the nude outside. This is the ultimate Oregon experience. I love to come camping up here and stay for a few days - enjoying the trails, fishing or paddling the McKenzie River and finishing the day here at the springs.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“New & improved!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

This place is much better now that they're charging $6 to enter. It's cleaner and less crowded now than I remember it years ago. Cougar / Terwilliger used to be kind of sketchy with trash and partying. Now, at least on the July Friday we went, it was very clean and there were only half a dozen people. About half the folks went nude while the rest wore swimsuits. As long as they don't mind a little nudity, it's safe to bring your relatives!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gates Of The Arctic National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We went on a weekday in the afternoon and there weren't a lot of people. There is a fee and a small hike/walk up to the hotsprings but it's totally worth it. They clean the hotsprings every Friday so if you really care about super clean springs, just go on the Friday :P They were pretty clean when we went though. Gorgeous hot spring.

Give it a try - even though there's a fee, keep in mind that usually places that have fees means that the hotspring is regulated and cleaned. The other hot springs may be free but eh, it might be icky.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank InfiniteSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Hot Spring near Eugene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hot spring is in the beautiful Willamette National Forest. I enjoyed the tiered soaking pools and the natural setting. Popular place!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank EmilyJoan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terwilliger Hot Springs also viewed

Been to Terwilliger Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing