We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the lodge, disliked the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Lodge and Grill
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boardman
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Liked the lodge, disliked the breakfast”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The lodge is billed as upscale. The room was very nice and well appointed. Good view of the Columbia River. The restaurant was a major disappointment, however. And there are not many other options in the immediate area. The breakfast menu provided a continental breakfast for $8.95. Guests received a $2.00 coupon, if they thought to ask for it. We had not but went to the front desk and got them. Thus the continental breakfast was $6.95. Most motels provide a breakfast at least as good as this as part of the room cost. Not here. The selection of pasties was limited to a few pieces of stale bread, a sad looking english muffin, and several bagels that looked like they had seen better days. There was a waffle maker, so we each had a waffle. My wife had a yogurt which didn't taste very good and she looked at the container and it had expired nine days before. The coffee was okay. In short, this was the worst continental breakfast we have ever had. Basically a waffle and a cup of coffee for $6.95. We won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    53
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
48
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boardman, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The resturant has VERY slow service. The food is over priced for the quality. The view is great and you get plenty of time to enjoy it as you wait on your food! The staff is slow to take drink orders and bring drinks. The menu is limited. Drink refills or extra bread would have been nice but didn't happen.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRdesonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Washington
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Exhausted from a l-o-o-o-n-g drive, my husband and I pulled into Boardman, and worked our way to the River Lodge and Grill, grateful just to get out of the car. Boy, were we surprised when we saw a clean, attractive lodge, and even more so when the friendly front-desk clerk assured us that yes, they did have a vacancy at a very reasonable price.
Our room was spacious, spotlessly cleaned, and the mattress luxurious; the pool, spa, and workout room handy and clean; the dining room was well tended with a limited-but-adequate menu, and the view of the Columbia River and vineyards across was fabulous.
We were very happy to return in a few days to repeat the process!

Room Tip: Just ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rezgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This place is awesome, we can't say enough good things about it. Clean, spacious, well stocked rooms. Yummy food at the restaurant available till late. Sauna and gym, outdoor pool with toys for the kids and river access. Beautiful lobby and excellent staff. You could spend a week here and never have to go offsite. We will be back next year!

Room Tip: request a river view room, they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Really, that it is quiet is one of the best things to be said about the River Lodge. It is. And the restaurant's not bad. However, the desk staff is basically not interested in you or what you want. The "beach" is rocky and full of litter. The rooms are dark and need to be updated and, if you planned on a river view, insist on a second floor room. Otherwise, you'll find yourself, like we did, viewing nothing but all the folks in the pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jred922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madras, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We stayed at the River Lodge and Grill again last night. We had also stayed here at Christmas and really enjoyed the peace and quiet that time of year. I love this hotel and I think the best thing about it is its location right on the river. There is a lovely paved walkway along the river where I walked this morning. I saw a jackrabbit and maybe a coyote. The restaurant serves an excellent breakfast. I have never stayed here in the summer but it must be a great place to relax on the small beach. I talked to some of the staff and they said that this Lodge is very popular with quite a few corporate clients during the weeks but less busy on weekends. I am amazed that this place isn't busier on weekends because this would be a nice get-away for folks from Portland.
The staff are extremely helpful and freindly. The only thing about this Lodge that is a drawback is their pet rule. I kept thinking how I would like to bring my dog and do more hiking on the pathways. However, they do have a "No pet policy".

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We had to pull off the highway on the way to Idaho because of ice on the road. We asked a local man to suggest a place to stay...he suggested the River Lodge. It is off I-84 by about 5 minutes and was a great surprise! The hotel was lovely and clean and has a wonderful restaurant. The next day the roads were a lot safer and we left for Idaho. Very thankful for a very lovely place to stay for the night!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boardman
19.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Hermiston
Oxford Suites Hermiston
#1 of 7 in Hermiston
589 reviews
18.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Hermiston
20.9 mi away
Best Western Hermiston Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hermiston Downtown
20.0 mi away
Quality Inn Umatilla
Quality Inn Umatilla
#2 of 3 in Umatilla
44 reviews
19.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn - Hermiston
Oak Tree Inn - Hermiston
#3 of 7 in Hermiston
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Lodge and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Lodge and Grill

Property: River Lodge and Grill
Address: 6 Marine Dr. NE, Boardman, OR 97818 (Formerly Riverfront Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Boardman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boardman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — River Lodge and Grill 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As our name implies, the River Lodge and Grill has an on-site restaurant where you can enjoy incomparable cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Windows and an open lodge style dining room provide an incredible view of the flowing Columbia River and Washington State to the north. Enjoy breakfast as you watch barges and river cruise sternwheelers silently float by, or dinner and refreshments lit by a fiery sunset over the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Lodge and Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Lodge And Grill Hotel Boardman
River Hotel And Grill
River Hotel Boardman
River Lodge And Grill Boardman, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing