We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful river view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Lodge and Grill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Lodge and Grill
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boardman
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful river view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2007

Very beautiful view of the Columbia River from the restaurant! The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The beds were the most comfortable ones I have slept on in a hotel in a long time. While eating a late, leisurely breakfast, we noticed all the walking and bike trails around the hotel and down towards the marina. We will definitely take our bikes next time! The only down-side to this hotel was the noise factor. We had people staying above us and we heard them walking around until the wee hours. I don't think they were being overly loud, just the building construction. Next time, we'll ask for an upstairs room and there definitely will be a next time.

  • Liked — The beds were very comfortable and the VIEW!
  • Disliked — The service in the restaurant.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank M.A.55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    49
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
38
45
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oregon city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2007

This is a great find- not far from the freeway-about 1/2mile, but feels like you are miles away. The hotel location right along the Columbia River is way nice-with walking paths, beach and pool right next the the river. Rooms are clean and comfortable.
The restraruant is a little spendy for what you get, but considering the only other option in town(a great little burger joint)
they kind of have a monopoly on food thats not fried.
The only downside that I can think of is that the cleaner(I guess thats what it is) that they use has a strong scent. It smells 'clean'- but just really strong.
I've been there a few times now, and there are hardly any people here, which is unfortunate since it is a great little hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chinookgrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2007

An out of the way oasis in Eastern Oregon yet easily accessible. Has a gorgeous tranquil setting right on the Columbia River. Beautiful beach just outside the door. Attractive lodge decor, comfortable room with all the amenities, excellent food and service, will look forward to a return visit.

  • Liked — attractive, great location, good value, great food and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2007

I have stayed here three times now and I am still amazed that such a relatively nice hotel exist in the middle of nowhere (no offense to Boardman residents). It is relatively new, clean, nice lobby, nice staff, small but adequate gym (with nice touches like free bottled water) and a jogging path along the river. Ask for a river view room. The only disappointment is the restaurant, with its view of the Columbia River, is just average. Still, the hotel is a rare find for not much more than many motel 6's.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank bhoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
197 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2006

The River Inn and Grill is a lodge-style facility located on the banks of the Columbia River in Boardman, OR. It is a little hard to find, next to an industrial park, but once you are there it is quiet and attractive. Just head toward the river from the Boardman exit on I-84. Follow the signs for the marina but head to the right after you cross the railroad bridge.

The rooms have high ceilings, are large, and have a complete set of furniture: couch, desk, table and chairs. The beds are very comfortable, with lots of pillows. Ironing board and iron are provided. Rooms are spotless and the amenities are of high quality. Half the rooms have a view of the river. There is an outdoor pool and spa, and a sauna, as well as a fitness room with elliptical machine, treadmill, bike, and free weights. There is a walking trail along the river right outside the hotel. There is free wireless Internet access in the rooms, as well as a free computer and printer available for guest use.

Breakfast is not included. A breakfast buffet is available. The restaurant is nothing special, but food is good and portions are large. There is limited bar service with beer and wine only.

For the quality, this is a good deal at about $80 per night. Parking is free.

  • Liked — High quality rooms at a reasonable price
  • Disliked — Restaurant is only average.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spokane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2006

had to find a place when returning from UO in eugene. heading to spokane. stopped in boardman where I had reserved a room, based on this site. it was the BEST. I'll absolutely stay there again. great view of the columbia. it was july 4th and they were going to have fireworks over the river. would have loved to stay but wanted to get home. very nice restaurant, extremely clean room. thought the place must be brand new to be so clean but it's been there several years. good food, good service. nice staff.
was able to find a lower rate by shopping.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boardman
19.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Hermiston
Oxford Suites Hermiston
#1 of 7 in Hermiston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
18.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Hermiston
20.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hermiston Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Tillicum Inn
Tillicum Inn
#1 of 3 in Umatilla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
19.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn - Hermiston
Oak Tree Inn - Hermiston
#3 of 7 in Hermiston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
20.0 mi away
Quality Inn Umatilla
Quality Inn Umatilla
#2 of 3 in Umatilla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Lodge and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Lodge and Grill

Property: River Lodge and Grill
Address: 6 Marine Dr., Boardman, OR 97818 (Formerly Riverfront Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Boardman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boardman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — River Lodge and Grill 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your River Lodge and Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Lodge And Grill Hotel Boardman
River Hotel And Grill
River Hotel Boardman
River Lodge And Grill Boardman, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing