We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Comfortable!”
Review of Bridal Veil Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridal Veil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridal Veil Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Bridal Veil B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and Comfortable!”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I stayed at the lodge after my sister's wedding and loved my stay. It was clean, quaint, and the breakfast was delicious!

Room Tip: The East room has its own bed and a very comfortable bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    11
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had a cottage room with a glorious skylight. It was so nice to wake up to the green on the trees above us. The lodge is super cool, especially as it's been in the same family for years and has lots of family treasures. The breakfast was perfect and from scratch. Keep in mind that there isn't a tv in the room; that's not what the draw to this place is. We were very pleased to come here and will do so again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorien_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The lodge is on the old historical Columbia Gorge highway and has some great antiques from the 1920's. We stayed in the West Room which was well appointed and comfortable. The bed was nice and we slept well. However, the place missed a warmth required for a B&B of this type. Using a toilet down the hall is not my favorite way to spend a night and when the floor boards creaked and groaned it made me even more reluctant to get up and use the bathroom.
The breakfast was nice, but it could use something more than just fruit, eggs and store bought muffins. Try waffles, scones, juice or a yogurt and fruit parfait. For the price of the lodging, the breakfast needs to be upgraded.

A wood stove would be a nice touch to the living room. How about board games from that period of a collection of movies from that time (The Sting, Chinatown, etc.)?

We enjoyed the stay, but I would encourage the owners to please pay attention to the finer details.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibcybermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridalVeilLodge, Owner at Bridal Veil Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
We are so sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay ! We only have one guest room that does not have a bath in the room. It's always best to book early so you can get the room that you want.

Once again, I apologize because you did not find breakfast satisfactory. The breakfast that we served that morning was a very popular selection - A frittata made with fresh eggs from our own chickens, fresh broccoli and fresh mushrooms. We served a 1/2 grapefruit that morning. 90% of the time we do serve yogurt with seasonal fresh fruit and granola. When we have guests staying multiple nights( as we did then)we like to vary what they are served and so we serve a fruit selection instead of the yogurt some mornings. Sometimes we bake banana bread or cornbread or muffins. Sometimes we do buy from a bakery. We always ask our guests if they want juice. A few of our other breakfast selections are: cheese filled crepes with fresh berries and whipped cream -- vegetable hash with asparagus, onions, mushrooms, potato,fresh herbs, drizzled with mustard sauce and topped with poached eggs -- dutch babies (like german pancakes) with baked apples and sour cream -- waffles with syrup made from local blueberries . Many of our breakfasts are also served with a side of bacon or sausage. We cater to special dietary needs as well.

Thank you for your feedback about the games. We have a couple antique games displayed (my grandmother's), but they are fragile and missing pieces, so can't really be used. For the information of prospective guests, we do have backgammon, chinese checkers, cards, scrabble, and dice.

Out DVD library is small ( 40+) and we are gradually adding to it. Some that are a bit on the vintage side, that you may have missed (or maybe another guest had them) are Chicago, Sting, HG Wells, Pot of Gold and Made for Each Other (with Jimmy Stuart), and Fiddler on the Roof.

We hope that you will try us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I were on a ten-day road trip to Portland. I knew how beautiful the Columbia River Gorge area was from a previous trip, so when looking to book lodging, I knew that's where we wanted to be – away from the city in this beautiful area near the many falls. We were not disappointed! Our two-night stay in the lodge was wonderful. Our host Janet was delightful from the minute I made the reservation, taking our breakfast request over the phone and giving us easy driving directions. Although they have individual cottages, we decided to stay in the lodge itself and were not disappointed. It is a charming 2-story building that has been in the family from the time it was built. Decorated with Americana and family heirlooms it was super clean, cozy, and comfortable. Our room was large with a private bathroom, but the other rooms in the lodge and shared bath were just as lovely. We had the best sleep of our entire trip in the comfortable queen bed and enjoyed a DVD movie in our room - bring your own, or plenty to choose from in the downstairs movie library. With a little business to do, I was thrilled that they had free wi-fi with a speedy connection.

Breakfast on both days was wonderful, with plenty of food. We were treated to the history of the house and area by Roland, and enjoyed meeting the other guests who were traveling from all over the country.

This has to be one of the most beautiful settings in all of Oregon with Bridal Veil Falls directly across the street and just a short walk away. The quiet and peacefulness of the area was exactly what we were looking for. Thank you for a delightful stay. We will definitely come back to the lodge again.

Room Tip: Don't shy away from staying inside the lodge – it's wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2trvlthwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

When my husband and I discovered we had an evening off together, coupled with a sudden urge to get out of town, we knew exactly where we would go. We had visited Bridal Veil Lodge once before when we were out for a hike at Latourell Falls, but they did not have any vacancies at the time. Lucky for us, they had two rooms available this time, and we couldn't have been more pleased. The drive from Portland out to Bridal Veil along the Historic Columbia River Highway was beautiful and serene, with everything aglow and enriched by previous night's rain. On the way we stopped at a quaint old general store with an ancient but working gas pump to pick up a 22 oz Ninkasi Believer and a pint of blueberries, fresh from the farm. Within 45 minutes of leaving our house in southeast, we had arrived at the lodge. Roland was there to meet us, and he cordially escorted us up to our room. I was worried that the building (built in 1926) would smell musty from the weekend of rain, but it was warm, dry, and clear. Our room had windows along every wall, its own bathroom, a darling purple loveseat for lounging, and a magnificent rustic wooden bed with a memory foam mattress that made our sleep wonderful. A little TV and a wi-fi network added to the amenities. We were glad to find that we could walk right out the front door and into the state park whose trails wound around the cliffs overlooking the Columbia River Gorge and down to Bridal Veil Falls. The short but heart-pumping hike was beautiful every step of the way. When we returned we raced to the mini-fridge in our room and downed the tuna salad and the Believer. Very soon after we launched into dinner. Roland had kindly allowed us the use of the kitchen and the dining room, so we warmed up some soup, cut up some bread and cheese, added some caesar salad, and poured the wine. Roland filled us in on the history of the place, and we finished off the evening with a moonlit stroll and a little reading. The next morning we chowed down on a delicious frittata made with mushrooms, spinach, and eggs retrieved from their own hens that morning. What a lovely getaway!

Room Tip: Some rooms have showers, and some have baths. There are two rooms in the lodge itself and two in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed in one of the cabins for our wedding night after getting married that evening in nearby Cascade Locks. They were very accommodating of letting us check in late at night (which we had prearranged when we booked our stay).

The cabin was very clean and cozy, had a gorgeous view out of the skylights and a very cute window seat. It was very quiet, peaceful and relaxing.

In the morning, we discovered that they had even saved us breakfast and served it later than the regular time because they knew we would want to sleep in as newlyweds.

The lodge, where breakfast is served, has a great historic feeling to it that made you feel like you were part of the family. We were even told that the plates we were eating off were from the original homestead in the 1920's. And breakfast was delicious!

We had friendly conversations with another couple who was there for a weekend getaway from Portland. The hostess was very friendly and told us about the history of the lodge, upon our request. She also mentioned how fun it was to inherit the family Bed and Breakfast, and that most travelers making their way through the Columbia Gorge are always in a great mood. We certainly agreed.

It will be the perfect escape for future anniversary trips and a romantic memory to say that we spent our wedding night at Bridal Veil Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelittlestraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton Wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Good location. About 1hr 15 to Mt. Hood, 10 mins to Multnomah Falls and less to several hiking trails. The breakfast is good as it the company. Roland does a great job keeping it simple.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridal Veil
15.3 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkersville Inn & Suites
16.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
16.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridal Veil Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridal Veil Lodge

Property: Bridal Veil Lodge
Address: 46650 E Historic Columbia River Highway, Bridal Veil, OR 97019-9695
Region: United States > Oregon > Bridal Veil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bridal Veil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridal Veil Lodge located in waterfall alley in the Columbia River Gorge. Framed by acres of forest and nestled among the most dramatic waterfalls in historic Bridal Veil, Oregon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridal Veil Hotel Bridal Veil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing