We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridal Veil Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridal Veil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridal Veil Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Bridal Veil B&B and Inns
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here in May 2012. What a beautiful place! So quiet and comfortable. No TVs or phones, which if just how I like it. The breakfast was great and the owners were so nice. They knew the history of the lodge and area. It was fun talking to them.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms are more private than main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    11
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

My girlfriend chose this b&b to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. Bridal Veil Lodge exceeded all our expectations. It was remote & yet easy to get to from Portland International Airport (PDX). We were in one of the cottages located just off the lodge. The back side of the cottage was comprised almost completely of windows & so the view from our bed was nothing short of "breathtaking". From the moment we checked in, we were made to feel immediate "at home". The proprietors Roland & Diane were very friendly and accommodating (maybe we just got lucky, but we were served cinnamon buns fresh out of the oven & they were scrumptious!). The cottage was small, but intimate. No TV in our room, & thank GOD, as it was a pleasant surprise. Instead we talked and listened to music on a boom box provided for us. In the morning, we all gathered in the lodge for breakfast (that was plentiful & delicious) & ate family style. This gave us the opportunity to converse with the other guests & learn more about where to visit & what to see. It was a unique experience and alot of fun. After breakfast, we remained to talk with the owners Roland & Diane & given the tour of the living area. What a treat. It was like going back in time. I was thrilled to witness all of the artifacts & memorabilia, followed by an explanation of what it was we were seeing. It's a little like staying @ one of the Smithsonian museums in some ways. So in my humble opinion, this is 1 of those incredible combinations of quaint, comfortable and informative. I would recommend this to anyone who wants more than a cheap hotel to stay in. It will not only add to your travel experience, but in many ways become an integral part of it. Feel free to refer to our photos to further support my review. HAPPY TRAVELS TO ALL!

Room Tip: go for the cottage if you are want the privacy and are willing to pay more. I think it's well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLBSanPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Nestled in the lush forest of the Columbia River Gorge, the Bridal Veil Lodge Bed & Breakfast was a romantic and relaxing getaway for our city-tired selves. We took in the breathtaking views of the river and sheer basalt cliffs before returning to our quaint cabin for a relaxing sit on the porch. As twilight crept into the gorge, the sky changed colors and we watched two bats swoop and dance as they caught their supper. The air smelled sweet and the peacefulness of the place seemed to seep all the way into our bones. We slept better than we had in weeks.

In the morning, we visited the historic lodge and were served a delicious and hearty breakfast. The proprietors were friendly and knowledgeable, sharing some of the fascinating stories of the place. Many of the furnishings and photos in the lodge were original to the 1926 building, giving the feeling of a visit to another era. After our breakfast, we took a short hike up to see the Bridal Veil Falls, which were beautiful.

We would recommend Bridal Veil Lodge Bed & Breakfast to our friends and anyone who wants to spend a little time in one of the most beautiful places in Oregon. We hope to return there sometime soon.

Margaret and Brenden C

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MCC157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This was exactly the type of setting we wanted for our belated 1st Anniversary. We flew into Portland, rented a car and we were at the falls areas in very little time! GPS does not work to find the place. More than one traveler we talked to said the same thing about this area in general. :) The directions on the website were right on the money. You have to look closely to find it nestled behind the row of bushes.
The boom-box & CD's of relaxing music was nice. No TV or distractions... I like that. The cell reception was fine here too. (I have Verizon service) I could hear the people in the attached cottage, back to back with us, but it was just low voice talking. We left the radio/music on to cover their voices and it was fine.
It has a Rustic Delightful Storybook feel about the place. Our cottage was just right for our night stay. We sat on the little deck and enjoyed the lush green forest and birds singing. It was almost like sleeping in a rain forest... with all the great windows.
The breakfast was nice, simple and tasty. Their home has great antiques and they have some great stories that go with them, if you ask. Diane & Roland, were warm and welcoming and it was such a pleasure to get to visit with them for a while before we headed right across the street, for the 10 min walk to Bridal Veil Falls. There are many falls and interesting sites right in the area..... great location and nice people.... cannot ask more than that! Loved it!

Room Tip: We loved our little cottage....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ima T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

This was a wonderful place to stay. The hosts were gracious, the breakfasts delightful, and the rooms were everything we hoped they would be. We wanted a rustic experience on our weeklong trip to Northwest Oregon and this was the perfect place. The drive down the Historic Columbia River Highway, that led to the lodge set the tone. We walked across to Bridal Veil Falls and were within short distance of all the others. After a long day of hiking we were able to come back and nestle into our cabin with no distractions and quiet we were wanting for this part of the trip.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So.Cal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We found this place through trip advisor and are so happy we gave it a chance. The accommodations were very cozy the staff super friendly & breakfast delicious!! My only suggestion is that they update the radios in the rooms to something that will allow iPod hook up since music is the only entertainment & most people don't leave home without their iPod. But that is a minor thing and we really enjoyed our time in Bridal Veil Lodge (B&B) and plan to come back and stay again. Our time there was cut short by a day because of work and they were very understanding and accommodating to our reservation change request.

Highly reccomend this place to those that want an out of town B&B experience!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennKurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Ca
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed in adjoining rooms in the cottage, which were very cozy and good sized. The carved wooden beds were made up with really nice flannel sheets and warm blankets. The bathroom was small but nicely done, with the washstand in the bedroom area - handy actually. There were built in window seats and large skylights, so the rooms had great natural light even though they were in a forest setting. The main house used to be an historic roadside restaurant. It is furnished with antiques and has a welcoming character. Breakfast was generous and really tasty. Our hosts were friendly and very informative, sharing lots of information about the local history and nearby hikes and waterfalls.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlb91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridal Veil
15.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
10.9 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
11.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
9.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkersville Inn & Suites
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridal Veil Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridal Veil Lodge

Property: Bridal Veil Lodge
Address: 46650 E Historic Columbia River Highway, Bridal Veil, OR 97019-9695
Region: United States > Oregon > Bridal Veil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bridal Veil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridal Veil Lodge located in waterfall alley in the Columbia River Gorge. Framed by acres of forest and nestled among the most dramatic waterfalls in historic Bridal Veil, Oregon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridal Veil Hotel Bridal Veil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing