We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really wanted to like this place”
Review of Bridal Veil Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridal Veil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridal Veil Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Bridal Veil B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We are no strangers to "rustic" inns, so we were eager for a nice authentic Columbia Gorge stay. However, the dirty dishes in the kitchen, the mildew smell and the less-than-clean coffee/tea supplies in the room really put us off. The owners didn't give us much information when we arrived (they just escorted us to the cottage and left), but they were way too friendly during breakfast, dominating the conversation. They never asked if I would prefer something else to drink (I drink decaf coffee) - so I just sat there with an empty cup while they talked about themselves. Our whole stay was very disappointing, especially when we expected it to be one of the highlights of the trip. My only compliment would be the skylights in the cottage - very pretty.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 235traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

The lodge is in a great location right off the historic old highway, close to the Oneonta Gorge and the Multnomah Falls, perfect for exploring the area. We stayed in one of the two cottages which were lovely and peaceful. We especially loved the big skylight and waking up to looking out at the forest. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable and told us great stories of the history of the lodge and the families that lived there as well as good tips on where to go in the area. The healthy home-made breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylver_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Bridal Veil Lodge is a really nice find in the falls area on the old Columbia River Highway near the Columbia River in northern Oregon. The rooms were old, because the property is old. But the room that we stayed in - the Upper Cottage - was quite accommodating. We loved staying here. The breakfast was great and our hosts were very knowledgeable about the history of the Inn and were glad to share that with their guests. We definitely recommend a stop here on your trip to the Columbia River area. And enjoy the falls as well.

Joe Faimali & Donita Decker

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I have stayed there a couple of times and loved it! We stayed in the upper cottage the first time and enjoyed listening to the rain on the skylight.The last time we stayed in the East Room, a lovely appointed room with huge, comfortable bed and small, but adequate and clean bathroom. Breakfast was good and enjoyed the company of the innkeepers and other guests. Enjoyed looking at all the antiques. Fabulous, fabulous location. Beautiful waterfalls and hiking trails. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Cottages are rustic - give you a feel of living deep in the woods. Rooms in the lodge are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

They didn't even know we were coming. We had called twice and they said make your reservations on line; so we did and they still didn't know we were coming. Some other things: a. a large barking dog. b. a strange young man with a sandwich. c. We didn't look at the room in the lodge but the cabins were not acceptable. Small. Maybe if we were younger. We continued into Troutdale and stayed at the Holiday Inn.
With apologies to the other reviewers our expectations were not met. Just way too "rustic". I think they may have had some rain damage.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridalVeilLodge, Owner at Bridal Veil Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Our Bed and Breakfast is a family run business and a point of pride for all our family members. We feel blessed to bring guests into our home and treat them as we would our own loved ones. There are many hotels in the area, we are not a hotel, we are a historically preserved home full of pictures and stories about family who lived here since the 1900's.

Our whole family takes part in caring for our home, and the 38-acre property our home and Bed and Breakfast sit on. Again, we are not a hotel, we have no full time reception desk, so you may find us outside working, be greeted by a family member, or our old dog on occasion. The "strange young man" you met is my mildly developmentally disabled son, who was proudly helping his dad with the landscaping, as his mother I am very proud of him (sandwich or no sandwich).

We were indeed expecting your arrival, however if guests show up at a time before check in and at a very different time than the arrival time noted, we may be caught, such as we were this day, taking advantage of a break in the rain to get some outside chores finished.

We were, and always are, happy to adjust immediately to accommodate our guests. I am sorry you did not choose to stay with us and find the experience that so many of our guests enjoy and review positively.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I stay at a B&B on almost every vacation. We've been spoiled by "fancy" B&Bs so I'll admit that our expectations may be too high. The Bridal Veil Lodge is in a GREAT location. You can hike or drive to several waterfalls and there are lots of attractions and restaurants just a short drive away. We stayed in May which I believe is just the start of the busy season in this area so I think some of our issues were the result of less than usual visitors to the B&B. I should note that the room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the B&B seems to fit well into its surroundings.

It was cold and raining when we arrived. We booked the lower cottage, which is not connected to the main house, and were shown to our room by one of the owners. At most B&Bs we get a brief overview of the property and are shown where everything is in the room. This did not happen here. The owner indicated that we should call the main house if we had any questions, but there is no phone in the room, and we were not provided with the phone number to call from our mobile phones.

Our room was very cold when we arrived and it took a few minutes to figure out how to turn on the heater. There is a sign on the mirror indicating that the thermostat is behind the mirror, but it's actually on another wall. Also the room did not have extra toilet paper (only a half roll), facial tissue, coffee supplies (only one creamer for two guests), or cups (just two small single use paper cups near the sink).

We could not locate any maps or literature on the surrounding area in our room. We eventually found a basket of magazines and maps under the coffee table, but all of the information was several (5 or more) years old. There are no books, magazines, TV, or games to keep you occupied at night, and we could not get a Wi-Fi signal in our room. Some of these activities may be in the main house, but nothing was offered to us. Breakfast was ok.

I wouldn't rule out giving this B&B another try several years down the road, but I'll be more prepared next time in case nothing has changed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanook4530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridalVeilLodge, Owner at Bridal Veil Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Bridal Veil Lodge. Good reviews are always pleasing to us, however, well stated points such as the ones you have made allow us to look at how a single bad day on our part effects our guests while they stay with us. We take this very seriously and use the feedback to immediately address the changes that we can make to give our guests a consistently more enjoyable stay. Changes will be made immediately to assure that our accommodations such as coffee creamer and cups and tissue will not be overlooked in this manner again.
We usually have a routine of showing guests around the cottage letting our guests know where the heater controls are, and into the house letting guest know where we keep board games, a portable movie player, along with movies to watch. Some other games and movies will be left in the cottage rooms as well from now on.
Our front room has a television and we love to have our guests come into the main house and make themselves at home. We have decided to make sure that proper hospitality does not fall through the cracks again. We are also going to put some newer reading materials in the rooms and supply the cottages with some local trail maps and waterfall locations. We will be making some laminated sheets with important numbers and information about entertainment and restaurant accommodations in our surrounding area.
We would surely like another chance to show you the loving hospitality we are known for. I would like to send you an e-mail with compensation and encouragement to visit us again. Thank you again for your honest feedback, it matters.
Sincerely,
Diane Hoffman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This place was a little more on the rustic side, but that's what I was expecting from the other reviews. We stayed in the main house, so there was a little bit of noise from other people, but not much, I slept just fine. The breakfast was tasty and the other guests were nice to visit with. The location was really great after a day of checking out waterfalls and the dam, and we were able to just go right down the road to Multnomah Lodge for dinner. The drive back in to Portland the next day was very quick. It was unfortunate that they were working on the old historic highway while we were there so we didn't get take it all the way out there, had to detour to I-84, but it wasn't really a problem. Follow the directions on their website and you won't get lost.

Room Tip: We stayed in the west room in the main house, this is the only room without a connected bathroom, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aphillips8077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridal Veil
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
10.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
16.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
64 reviews
11.2 mi away
Skamania Lodge
Skamania Lodge
#1 of 4 in Stevenson
2,527 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridal Veil Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridal Veil Lodge

Address: 46650 E Historic Columbia River Highway, Bridal Veil, OR 97019-9695
Region: United States > Oregon > Bridal Veil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bridal Veil
Price Range: £61 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridal Veil Lodge located in waterfall alley in the Columbia River Gorge. Framed by acres of forest and nestled among the most dramatic waterfalls in historic Bridal Veil, Oregon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridal Veil Hotel Bridal Veil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing