We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chetco River Inn was wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chetco River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chetco River Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston
1 review
“Chetco River Inn was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

During our family vacation to the Northwest we spent two nights at the Chetco River Inn at the Cottage. We had a wonderful time. Our children loved Mollie & Max (the owners' Scottish Terriers) and enjoyed exploring the property (rock beach by river, lavender garden, flowers, humming birds). Sandra and Clay were gracious hosts and the food was fantastic. The loft king size bed was perfect and the kids enjoyed having separate twin beds downstairs. Driving to the property we stopped for deer and a bear cub! We had a great time and left very relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed at the lovely bed and breakfast for 2 nights with our two children, aged 4 and 6. It was our first time taking the children to a B and B and we were a little nervous but we could not have been made to feel more welcome by the owners, in so many ways, from putting an extra bed in our room, to providing hot chocolate and marshmallows to roast on the fire pit (lit every night for guests) and trips for the children to feed the hens.

Our children felt so at home and really didn't want to say goodbye to the Inn's West Highland terriers Molly and Max who followed them everywhere.

The breakfasts were truly delicious and again the children were accommodated. Check to see if dinner is available. We didn't eat dinner but the guests who did raved about the food.

The rooms are beautifully furnished, the beds are extremely comfortable and the huge barn style sitting room was great for relaxing in once the children were asleep. There are games and books galore to borrow.

The Inn is situated right beside the Chetco River kayaks for guests to use. There is also excellent fishing in season.

Several of the guests we met lived quite locally but came to the Inn for a restful get away. All the guests were very friendly and it was very interesting getting to know them a little during our stay.

We thoroughly recommend the Chetco River Inn and hope we can visit again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ScotLagunaNiguel_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orford, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

We have just experienced a fantastic getaway at Chetco River Inn. I highly recommend other travelers share the adventure.

The setting on the Chetco River is so gorgeous and relaxing. The peace and quiet and serenity of the river made us feel like it had been created just for us.

Our host and hostess made us feel so comfortable and at home. The service and gourmet meals were outstanding with all the extra touches that make memories to cherish.

We hope to return to Chetco River Inn in the future and hope to see you there!

Linda, Port Orford, Oregon

  • Liked — Location on the river
  • Disliked — No cell phone service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OregonHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

We spent a wonderful 2 days here. No computers, no phones, no television, just a wonderful view of the river, lots of books to read, rocking chairs on the porch, wonderful food, congenial hosts, interesting fellow guests, and lots to do and see (if you can tear yourself away from that porch) in the area, and comfortable beds. We would also consider it for a family vacation as there is a cabin as well as 5 rooms in the main building. Kayaks were also available to use on the river. This place has such authenticity and charm, in stark contrast to most standard hotels. I even liked it better than the luxury hotel we stayed at on the coast. I highly recommend it and would go again without hesitation.

  • Liked — The view, the food, having dessert around the fire with other guests, the uniqueness of the place
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything we did not like
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattletraveler691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2008

I think other reviews call this place The Chetco River Inn and Lavendar Bee Farm, but it hasn't been called that in a really long time.

This was the most wonderful travel experience I have ever had. When I can't sleep at night or am getting dental work done and need to think of a wonderful place, this is where I think of.

You see, it is located within the state park area, 18 miles from the freeway in Brookings. It was so quiet - all you hear is the river and the birds. This place is in the woods, on the river. The inn faces the beautiful Chetco River. There is also a lavendar garden here - starts blooming in June.

Sandra and her husband are the most gracious hosts. If you schedule it in advance, she cooks dinner for you. The dinner was really delicious, and so was the breakfast.

We chose the room on the first floor because my husband does not like to walk upstairs. The ambiance/comfort of a room/inn is very important to me, and this room was very nice.

There is a fireplace in the huge living room area on the main floor, and they lit a fire for us upon request. They also asked if we would like the firepit out front, facing the river lit, but we said no. There were several rocking chairs on the porch area out front.

The place is really woodsy and different. I thought it would be hard to find this place since Frommer's said so, but it was really easy to find with their directions.

I want so much to stay here again, but my husband wants to visit places we have never been before we go back to parts of California we have already seen.

  • Liked — ambiance of the location, the inn, and excellent service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2004, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2005

We just took a nine-day trip around oregon that included staying at some of the most famous hotels in the state. I'm not really a B&B sorta guy, but i'm sick of Best Westerns, and that Whaleshead Resort thing looked like a nightmare, so I reluctantly made a reservation here based on their website and the two reviews that had been posted here.

The road to this place is, well, an adventure in itself. We stopped at the state park (about halfway between hwy 101 and the inn) for a little picnic, where we skipped stones in the warm water and caught baby frogs. Once you get a mile or two away from the ocean, the weather always seems to clear up and the temperature always seems to go up 10 or 15 degrees, which is always a plus when you're on vacation. Shortly after you pass the park, the road turns into a one-lane paved road with turnouts, as is usual when you get off the beaten path in Oregon. There's a small flat stretch of road where you have to drive through a rural neighborhood of trailers and rusted-out buses that will remind you of the theme song to the movie Deliverance. After that, there's a half-mile or so of well-maintained gravel before you hit the driveway. Another quarter-mile down that shady lane, and you're at the Chetco River Inn.

Upon checking in, Sandra (the owner) was very friendly. She let us have our pick of available rooms, showed us where the wine glasses were stored, introduced us to the scotty dogs, and basically made us feel like we had the run of the place. She was accommodating without being, um, nosy i guess, for lack of a better term. She made us feel very comfortable.

We frolicked by the river with the dogs for a bit, picked some lavender, hung out with the chickens, took a small hike (there's something like 40 acres to explore here), then were surprised to find that Sandra had put out some hors d' oerves, er, hors d' eorves, um, hor d 'erves---SNACKS for us on the front porch. We met a great 40-year-old couple from Maryland, and drank some wine in rocking chairs in the setting sun.

After that: dinner. I was told the menu was cornish game hen, but they were like no game hen I've ever seen. They were more like small turkeys, they were so big and juicy. And the salad had the best vinagrette i've ever tasted. I would've been pretty happy at that point, but there was more. Sandra started us a fire outside in the fire pit and brought out some homemade ice-cream and cake for dessert. Between my fiancee and I, and that couple from back east, i think we went through 5 bottles of wine that night, talking about everything from post-cold war politics to Joseph Conrad to library sciences. It was a perfect ending to a perfect day.

The feather bed was ridiculously comfortable. The whole room was great. Little things like a mini Tom's of Maine tube of toothpaste were a nice touch. There were even robes in the closet. I could've slept for a week, but the smell of breakfast woke us up. Home fries, homemade sausage, german pancake, fresh coffee.

My only complaint is that i wasn't forced to stay the rest of my life there. I'll so be back, it's not even funny.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oregone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2005

A rocking chair on a sunny deck. A hammock in the glade. Gourmet cuisine. Pillow-top king-size beds with luxury linens. Untrammeled natural beauty. A river to swim or fish in. Congenial hosts. Reasonable prices. It doesn't get any better than the Chetco River Inn. This one is a gem, a true 3-meal lodge on the edge of an Oregon wilderness. Much lovelier than their website suggests. But they're booked solid for steelhead season, two years in advance. September and October are good months to visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank Lucero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
12.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
11.9 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
20.8 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
12.3 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
12.2 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetco River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetco River Inn

Property: The Chetco River Inn
Address: 21202 High Prairie Rd, Brookings, OR 97415-8200
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inns' 36 very secluded acres on the banks of the Chetco River is surrounded by the Siskiyou National Forest. The Chetco River Inn caters to both nature lovers and anglers, and makes for a great getaway. Whether you chose to rent the 5 Bedroom Suite Main Mouse, or the 2 Bedroom Rockhouse cottage on our vineyard, our private location is absolutely ideal for family or work vacations, weddings, reunions, workshops, retreats or for those seeking outdoor activities. Enjoy bird watching, fishing, hiking, mountain biking, swimming, kayaking, rafting, or simply floating down river. People wishing to explore the Oregon coast can easily drive to Brookings, Harris, or Whaleshead Beach. The nearby Kalmiopsis Wilderness offers upspoiled trails for hours of hiking and mountain biking. You simply can't imagine a more appropriate spot than The Chetco River Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chetco River Hotel Brookings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing