We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Top Notch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chetco River Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Top Notch”
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. The property is beautiful, right on the Chetco River. There is a secluded beach, many lounge chairs set up riverfront, and the hosts bring you ice tea. If you are looking for a serene getaway I don't think you could find anything nicer. We stayed at the inn and also in the cottage. Both are wonderful. If you are looking for a little more privacy, try the cottage which is self contained and separated from the main inn. The hosts are very nice people and go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. The food is delicious and both Sandra and Clay are great cooks. We had homemade bread with every wonderful dinner, fantastic gourmet breakfasts, delicious desserts. The Inn does not serve alcohol, but you are welcome to bring your own to the dinner table. There are fabulous hikes very nearby, redwoods, Vulcan Lake, swimming, hiking, relaxing (summertime). It is very reasonable for everything that you get. Two cute little scotty dogs will keep you company on the beach!
Go - you will LOVE it!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldieloxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

I have been to this Bed and Breakfast four times and it has become a haven for me and my two children. I am a single parent and it is often difficult to find a vacation spot where I feel safe and comfortable. Sandra and Clay treat me like family and my kids can't wait to get there each year. They are so good with kids and seem to enjoy watching the kids catch frogs, trutles and newts. My kids love to kayak and swim in the swimming hole. This is a very relaxing vacation for all of us. The food is outstanding and the hosts are always considerate and make foods the kids will enjoy. Each night we sit by the fire pit and enjoy smores and great conversations. We have also met people from all of the United States there and always feel comfortable and at home. This has become a tradition for our family and I hope that other people will enjoy this escape as much as we do.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturegallaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2009

During our family vacation to the Northwest we spent two nights at the Chetco River Inn at the Cottage. We had a wonderful time. Our children loved Mollie & Max (the owners' Scottish Terriers) and enjoyed exploring the property (rock beach by river, lavender garden, flowers, humming birds). Sandra and Clay were gracious hosts and the food was fantastic. The loft king size bed was perfect and the kids enjoyed having separate twin beds downstairs. Driving to the property we stopped for deer and a bear cub! We had a great time and left very relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed at the lovely bed and breakfast for 2 nights with our two children, aged 4 and 6. It was our first time taking the children to a B and B and we were a little nervous but we could not have been made to feel more welcome by the owners, in so many ways, from putting an extra bed in our room, to providing hot chocolate and marshmallows to roast on the fire pit (lit every night for guests) and trips for the children to feed the hens.

Our children felt so at home and really didn't want to say goodbye to the Inn's West Highland terriers Molly and Max who followed them everywhere.

The breakfasts were truly delicious and again the children were accommodated. Check to see if dinner is available. We didn't eat dinner but the guests who did raved about the food.

The rooms are beautifully furnished, the beds are extremely comfortable and the huge barn style sitting room was great for relaxing in once the children were asleep. There are games and books galore to borrow.

The Inn is situated right beside the Chetco River kayaks for guests to use. There is also excellent fishing in season.

Several of the guests we met lived quite locally but came to the Inn for a restful get away. All the guests were very friendly and it was very interesting getting to know them a little during our stay.

We thoroughly recommend the Chetco River Inn and hope we can visit again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ScotLagunaNiguel_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orford, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We have just experienced a fantastic getaway at Chetco River Inn. I highly recommend other travelers share the adventure.

The setting on the Chetco River is so gorgeous and relaxing. The peace and quiet and serenity of the river made us feel like it had been created just for us.

Our host and hostess made us feel so comfortable and at home. The service and gourmet meals were outstanding with all the extra touches that make memories to cherish.

We hope to return to Chetco River Inn in the future and hope to see you there!

Linda, Port Orford, Oregon

  • Liked — Location on the river
  • Disliked — No cell phone service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OregonHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We spent a wonderful 2 days here. No computers, no phones, no television, just a wonderful view of the river, lots of books to read, rocking chairs on the porch, wonderful food, congenial hosts, interesting fellow guests, and lots to do and see (if you can tear yourself away from that porch) in the area, and comfortable beds. We would also consider it for a family vacation as there is a cabin as well as 5 rooms in the main building. Kayaks were also available to use on the river. This place has such authenticity and charm, in stark contrast to most standard hotels. I even liked it better than the luxury hotel we stayed at on the coast. I highly recommend it and would go again without hesitation.

  • Liked — The view, the food, having dessert around the fire with other guests, the uniqueness of the place
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything we did not like
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattletraveler691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2008

I think other reviews call this place The Chetco River Inn and Lavendar Bee Farm, but it hasn't been called that in a really long time.

This was the most wonderful travel experience I have ever had. When I can't sleep at night or am getting dental work done and need to think of a wonderful place, this is where I think of.

You see, it is located within the state park area, 18 miles from the freeway in Brookings. It was so quiet - all you hear is the river and the birds. This place is in the woods, on the river. The inn faces the beautiful Chetco River. There is also a lavendar garden here - starts blooming in June.

Sandra and her husband are the most gracious hosts. If you schedule it in advance, she cooks dinner for you. The dinner was really delicious, and so was the breakfast.

We chose the room on the first floor because my husband does not like to walk upstairs. The ambiance/comfort of a room/inn is very important to me, and this room was very nice.

There is a fireplace in the huge living room area on the main floor, and they lit a fire for us upon request. They also asked if we would like the firepit out front, facing the river lit, but we said no. There were several rocking chairs on the porch area out front.

The place is really woodsy and different. I thought it would be hard to find this place since Frommer's said so, but it was really easy to find with their directions.

I want so much to stay here again, but my husband wants to visit places we have never been before we go back to parts of California we have already seen.

  • Liked — ambiance of the location, the inn, and excellent service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
12.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
11.9 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
363 reviews
20.8 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
682 reviews
12.2 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
70 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mt. Emily Ranch
Mt. Emily Ranch
#1 of 4 in Brookings
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetco River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetco River Inn

Property: The Chetco River Inn
Address: 21202 High Prairie Rd, Brookings, OR 97415-8200
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inns' 36 very secluded acres on the banks of the Chetco River is surrounded by the Siskiyou National Forest. The Chetco River Inn caters to both nature lovers and anglers, and makes for a great getaway. Whether you chose to rent the 5 Bedroom Suite Main Mouse, or the 2 Bedroom Rockhouse cottage on our vineyard, our private location is absolutely ideal for family or work vacations, weddings, reunions, workshops, retreats or for those seeking outdoor activities. Enjoy bird watching, fishing, hiking, mountain biking, swimming, kayaking, rafting, or simply floating down river. People wishing to explore the Oregon coast can easily drive to Brookings, Harris, or Whaleshead Beach. The nearby Kalmiopsis Wilderness offers upspoiled trails for hours of hiking and mountain biking. You simply can't imagine a more appropriate spot than The Chetco River Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chetco River Hotel Brookings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing