We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Risky place to stop”

Crissey Field State Park
Ranked #9 of 20 things to do in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Risky place to stop”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stopped at the visitor welcome center to pick up the local brochure at about 4:20 pm . I went in to find the centre closed so i walked back to the parking lot. In a span of less than 2 minutes my car's passenger side window was broken & my travel hand bag was stolen. There was no cell reception so i was handicapped till the time some other travellers showed up and i could borrow their cell to call 911. because it was so secluded no one saw anything and who knows where the thieves would have scooted off to. Id say be very careful when you stop anywhere !!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sehaj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    2
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pacific Northwest at it's BEST”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Living in Brookings we have several options for long walks on the beach. This is one of the best! Pristine sands, big waves and gorgeous sunsets!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful view, informative & helpful staff, lovely beach walk, even gift shopping but not commerical junk”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Perfect location for walking along beach - lovely. I can walk here while husband visits w/ staff, gets info, sits down when he needs to and he can enjoy view while I enjoy walking on beach.
Lots of helpful information at center, helpful staff. Beautiful building, great location, sunny beach walk, BATHROOOMS very, very clean and nice, plus clean water to drink and fill up your water bottles. Everything you need is here - info, walk, beach. Go to Blue Water Cafe in Brookings/Harbor, Oregon for delicious fish or any kind of food for breakfast, lunch, dinner and at Blue Water Cafe & Lounge they will modify to fit your health/dietary needs/restrictions.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank coastfanfrommedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great info stop”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Although it's a considerable walk to the actual beach, it's worth stopping at the information center. Beautiful building and lots of brochures as well as history and artifacts. The people manning this information booth are informed and very helpful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karex72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“a dream of a place”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

What a wonderful place. The beach is the best along that Brookings corridor. Beautiful driftwood, gorgeous surf. We shall visit it many times over the next several months.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crissey Field State Park also viewed

Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Crissey Field State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing