We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfasts are perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flying Gull Restaurant & Lounge - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Seating
Description: zipcode: 97415 Telephone (541) 469-5700
SAN JOSE
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Breakfasts are perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our group ate breakfast in two shifts, early and late. We ordered practically everything on the menu, and received consummate service and perfectly prepared tasty meals. The short wait for food was welcomed by our kids and adults alike. This is the quintessential short order breakfast place even down to the architecture. I gladly gave the waitress a generous tip, as she far exceeded standards for efficiency and attentiveness. What a great breakfast experience to begin our day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zckzack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    8
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK place for a quick dinner.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Food is OK but no more. Place is clean and servers are very nice. Loved the stuffed potatoes and their specials are generous and usually pretty good. Simple food....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hope you have time to be ignored”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

One of the all time worst service experiences ever. Waited 10 minutes for coffee. 15 minutes for water. Took 50 minutes to get a runny poached egg 1/2 an English muffin and a couple pieces of bacon. Had I been paying for the breakfast I would have left. The service was horrid thru the whole restaurant. A family came in and put the kids in one booth patents in another. The kids finally got water. Took another 10 minutes for parents to get water and coffee. Inefficient management is my guess for this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JANET H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon, United States
1 review
“good morning brookings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

i dont eat there in the evenings, but breakfast and lunch are very good and the help is very
freindly and down to earth.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie Bishop M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Health Department has closed it down at least once”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

The food is just OK. At least once, the health department has closed this place down to have a good cleaning. Outside in the back, are the staff smoking. They usually look like they need a good cleaning also. I won't go there, and wouldn't advise anyone to eat there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ieatoutlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Gull Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
Brookings, Oregon Coast
Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing